We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kootenay Country Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Model A Inn(Cranbrook)
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travellers Motel(Cranbrook)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lazy Bear Lodge(Cranbrook)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Almo Court Motel(Cranbrook)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
14
13
11
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
13
11
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleana great place to stayfree wifilaundromatplugspet
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2012

First Cranbrook is a great location to stop any month of the year. Kootenay Country Inn is easy to find & quick to get to, with lots of parking. The city amenities are very close & convenient. There is lots of nature to explore arround the city. The rooms were very comfortable & quiet. The staff was very friendly from checkin to checkout, and even helped with tips as to where to eat and what surroundings to enjoy. Surprisingly my usually critical family, had only positive comments.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KootenayCountryInn, Owner at Kootenay Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

Thanks very much for the great review Tom, we are very happy you and your party enjoyed their stay at KCI. Much appreciate the kind words and hope to see you all again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

In July 2012 we enjoyed a 2 night stay at Kootenay Country Inn. Although a little older decor, this quaint motel was clean, beds were great, and we had a comfortable and quiet sleep. We appreciated the fridge and cooktop and that they offer dog-friendly rooms. The owners are friendly and helpful. I would recommend Kootenay Country Inn as an affordable and pleasant Cranbrook stop-over.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KootenayCountryInn, Owner at Kootenay Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Thanks very much Marion, we here at Kootenay Country Inn appreciate your comments and hope you will come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The rooms were clean but quite small. We had a better price because of a hospital visit. It was quite noisy where we were situated. Not just from traffic but people that were sitting outside. The office closes at 10:30 so couldn't lodge a complaint. The fellow that checked us in was more than helpful to us. He was the reason the stay was memorable.

Room Tip: Get one away from the highway!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rusty52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KootenayCountryInn, Owner at Kootenay Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2012

Thanks for your positive review. We really appreciate the feedback. We do understand that the night you stayed the hotel and the town was quite busy with the Bob Dylan Concert, and we did notice that a fair number of the guests were taking advantage of the warm evening to sit out on our balcony to watch the mountains and talk. We did note that none of the guests stayed too late talking and all was quiet as everyone went to sleep.
There is a sign taped to the inside of the front door of every room which gives an internal phone number for emergencies, and we consider bothersome noise from sources that we can control, as one of those that guests should report as and when it happens.
So please, when you stay at the Kootenay Country Inn by all means use this method of informing the night duty person, and we will do our best to resolve the situation. Thanks again! and Kudos to our staff member who did his job very well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We were a little concerned when we first walked in as the lobby serves as a laundromat and library / storage room. But we got our key and went to the room. After checking for bed bugs (there were none, thankfully) my husband sat on the bed and it tipped up and he almost fell off. The desk was falling apart and it looks like no upgrades had been done in decades. On top of it, the hot tub we were so looking forward to using was filled with junk and the room was again used as storage. Luckily the managers ok'd our money back and we went next door and stayed at the lovely Best Western. My advice - spend the extra $20 a night and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KootenayCountryInn, Owner at Kootenay Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

I thank you for the review. However we were surprised by your comments on the condition, layout and amenities of our hotel when so many guests compliment us on our manner of greeting, our cleanliness and our amenities which are superior to most motels in our price range and age of the facility. For instance, the drawer on the desk was not broken it was just wrenched off its rail by your enthusiasm and it was easy to replace and worked perfectly for us and for all the guests in that room afterwards.

We have no control on how guests use the furniture during their stay. We hope that guests use it responsibly and not cause themselves any injury to or damage the amenities in any way.

We would like to thank you for pointing out to all the travellers out there that we do indeed have a public coin op laundromat in the building for the convenience of our guests and the local populace, and that all of them appreciate that they don’t have to search for or travel far to get their travel worn clothes into clean and wearable condition. Even the fact that we do have drop off service and that our guests can go about their business or pleasure and we will do their laundry for them gets great responses.

We also have introduced a $1 book store where all our books are sold for a maximum of $1 each and that we have childrens books for 50c and from time to time we have specials on various authors at 5 books for a $1. Many of our guests and laundromat customers find it very convenient to relax and curl up in the lobby or in their room with a good book at such cheap prices.

We are quite at a loss to understand that since you booked with Expedia which makes NO Mention of any hot tub, why on earth you would be disappointed when you found out that indeed there wasn’t one. You also would have seen that we do indeed have a laundromat, because it is listed on the amenities and that there is a picture of it.

As we have said before to other reviewers, we are a facility in transition, we make no false promises as to the age of the facility and the fact that we do have a lot of work to do to keep our guests as comfortable and as relaxed as can be during their stay. We are doing are utmost best with the resources we have and that is all of our staff, management and the owners to eventually achieve that goal.

The fact that we fell short of our goal in your case does not reflect badly on all the other great reviews we have had and the many return guests we are continuing to satisfy as we head into our third year of operation. We certainly understand that you would have enjoyed your stay at your other choice, we have done so many times at other locations, but the price point is very different (in the $120-$450 range) instead of $70-$110 and the atmosphere is different too.

ThankYou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

If you expect what the picture indicates on the web page, realize that it is a great creative photo. I didn't expect much but was shocked when I actually arrived (and not positively.) The motel looks like it hasn't been touched since the 1950's. Room overlooks the mountains, yeah, in the far distance across the main drag and most of the town in between. Bathtub/shower had a layer of scum on it. TV was from the 1980's. Decor was from the 1950's. The mattresses were from the 1980's. I'd give it a 0.5 star rating at the most. For +$100 USD a night I expect more than this. Office staff were friendly but that is not what I pay for. Main drag out the front door has heavy trucker traffic all night. AC/heater unit probaby dates from the 1960's, and had severve scorch markings.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikerdude76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KootenayCountryInn, Owner at Kootenay Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2012

Thanks very much for your review. We make no bones about the age of our hotel it was built starting in the sixties and it has gone through a number of changes and additions over the years. We took it over in October 2010 and we have done a number of things to make our guests stay more comfortable not all have been visible to the public or to the guest, and we certainly have lots more jobs to do. Our pictures on the website especially the night shot and our office photos reflect accurately our image.

By the way ALL of the hotels in Cranbrook proper are on the strip and suffer equally from the traffic and noise of a major Cross Canada artery. The road is why Cranbrook is here and is the reason for the hotels being here as a very useful stopping place on East-West and North South routes.

All our rooms are clean, and we are constantly looking at ways to improve the amenities in the rooms within the budget we have. We have started replacing carpets and we have replaced all the bedding and we are replacing beds on an ongoing basis as well as painting and renovating rooms.

We do have separate heaters and a/c units and the heaters are gas fired. The a/c units are through wall units and again we are seriously looking at replacing all of these with modern units as soon as practicable.

You must have been in the hotel on the weekend when 5000 Fastball players and their families descended on the town with little warning. You were very lucky to get any room that weekend anywhere, we had 8 calls and visits for each available room and so the guest had little choice for over 100 km radius. We were sending returning guests who had not reserved to Kimberly, Creston and Fernie, all of which were full by Friday afternoon.

We take pride in the welcome that we give our guests as a first step in creating an atmosphere of relaxation, comfort and as much quiet as the situation allows. We will not stop being this way, as we feel it is the basis of what the accommodation industry should be. If our amenities did not come up to your standard we apologize and hope that in the future as we improve things over time you might try us again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews