We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple an good value for price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kootenay Country Inn
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Cranbrook
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simple an good value for price”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 4 nights and I'm happy I did so. I looked for a basic place to spend the night and for the price I paid I'm fully satisfied. The rooms are clean and the staff were super friendly. It's probably not the quietest place since the highway goes right by but this is normal in a motel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andre K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KootenayCountryInn, Owner at Kootenay Country Inn, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thanks Very Much for the Great Review of our modest motel here on the strip in Cranbrook. I could agree more. We are doing the best we can with what we have to upgrade as we go. You have a good journey home and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    13
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
15
11
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I have to agree with others about the noise from outside, it's true that just about every place in town is along the main drag and therefore they are all subject to the noise (I didn't have a train go by on my recent stay however) but the room I was in was SO loud from cars going by, I got up twice to see if somehow I had overlooked the window being open. Large gas fired furnace in the room kept having the door loudly pop open which just added to it's obtrusiveness as it already made loud banging noises every time it started and stopped. Room was very old, tiny old boxy tv, towels that should have been retired a while ago, outdated room guides with directions to the breakfast buffet that is included in the room even though they've obviously changed to a different place with an a la carte breakfast, etc. Did have a fridge and coffee maker though. Room was not particularly clean, tub had numerous hairs in it for example. The older chap that checked me in was friendly in a no-nonsense efficient kind of way, and they had obviously put much thought into things like internet access, with little cards with passwords (they ask you how many devices you'll need to be using) that log you into a system ensuring that you're access expires after 24 hours. Just wish they had spent that time double checking the cleanliness of the rooms. Would not recommend.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank budgetroamer49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KootenayCountryInn, Owner at Kootenay Country Inn, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
I am really sorry for the state you found your room in, We do heartily apologize, and we are taking steps to improve our housekeeping procedures. I am sure that if you came again you would notice a difference and perhaps try out another room in the summer. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cranbrook hotels

Christina Lake, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This motel should be avoided - very noisy and poorly maintained.
The rear little windows face a rail line, and the trains will wake you up early in the morning. The rooms are very close to the highway and not well sound insulated, so the constant traffic noise will keep you up as well. Bring earplugs!
The cinderblock stand in the room is an interesting touch.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank handypedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KootenayCountryInn, Owner at Kootenay Country Inn, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thanks very much for your review, we cannot quite understand why it took over 7 months to respond to your stay. Obviously we cannot mitigate anything that you suffered after so long.

We make no bones about the age of our building and are making inroads in improving the property as we go, little by little as cash flow permits.

By the way we do provide ear plugs for those with sensitive hearing for FREE at the front desk and those ARE mentioned in the in-room hotel guide. We are between the main road and the railway, just like most of the 16 hotels that are are located in Cranbrook so noise, especially in high summer is a factor for some peoples sleep patterns.

Yes the blocks were UGLY and we have removed our last cinder-block stand for the bar fridges we had last summer. We now have the larger floor mounted fridges in ALL of our non-kitchenette rooms.

thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

In a pinch as a very cheap place to stay for 1 night, maybe, but otherwise, pay the extra $30 and stay somewhere better! The doors and windows did not seal so there was always a draft and noise from the train behind and the highway in front. After showering and the room filled up with steam because of having no fan in the bathroom, the room really began to smell old and musty. Old tube style tv where the volume control didn't work on the remote. Other family member's room on the second floor ran dirty water from the taps for 15 minutes before it was usuable, old electric heater did not heat the room and the floor had a lot of give (would bounce) when walking on it-that has to be a safety issue. We had planned on staying 3 nights but checked out after the first night. Front desk staff were very nice though.

Room Tip: View the room first for smell and if it's winter season, check that the heater works!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PGBCr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KootenayCountryInn, Owner at Kootenay Country Inn, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you very much for the review. We really try to understand the concerns of our guests, and we do try to create a warm and friendly welcome for them. Unfortunately arriving late after a long and tiring drive under the very stressful concerns for a loved one did not enhance your opinion of our establishment.
In response to your complaint about the heat, we do know that ALL of your bedding was on the floor in the morning so you had to have got warm during the night.
The wooden floor we have upstairs is part of the character of this 60s era building and lends its charm to so many guests who don't appreciate cookie cutter motel chains.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

A very quaint, spacious room with extremely comfortable beds. Office staff were friendly and helpful. There's an onsite laundry mat so you can easily do your laundry if needed. We received breakfast vouchers for the Husky down the road and was pleasantly surprised that we could order whatever we wanted off the menu and use the vouchers like cash. What a treat after days of continental breakfasts. Would stay here again and recommend it to others as "the place to stay in Cranbrook"!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KootenayCountryInn, Owner at Kootenay Country Inn, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thanks very much for your great review! We do appreciate your business! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mead, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night. The "inn" was very old and the room was kind of pieced together (4 different upholstery fabrics and a mix of furniture pieces). When we called to make the reservation we were told we could not have a discount because they were completely booked for the night, however, the vacancy sign was "on" that evening. The room was quiet, the bed was comfortable, and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KootenayCountryInn, Owner at Kootenay Country Inn, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Hello Robin, thanks for your review and the kind remarks about the comfortable bed, the friendly staff and the quiet night you had. At the time you booked the room it was the last NON SMOKING room we had available that night, although we did still have three smoking rooms. That is why the Vacancy sign was still on. Just in case we could fill them as well. We hope it doesnt stop you from coming to stay with us the next time you come thru Cranbrook. Thanks again for your business. !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I just spent the night here after rolling into Cranbrook late in the day. I was happy with the $80/ night price- all included and was given a breakfast voucher for the Husky down the road. The bed was comfy and the room was clean and has a fridge and microwave. There are many restaurants and coffee shops close by and parking right outside the room doors. The building is a little dated but that would not stop me from staying here again. There is also a laundromat in the lobby of the motel. The motel is on the highway so expect some road noise.

Room Tip: Good stop-over motel. Bring your earplugs if road noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KootenayCountryInn, Owner at Kootenay Country Inn, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thanks very much for your kind remarks. We appreciate your business and hope you come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cranbrook hotels
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Cranbrook
Days Inn Cranbrook
#3 of 17 in Cranbrook
261 reviews
0.6 mi away
Model A Inn
Model A Inn
#10 of 17 in Cranbrook
68 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandman Inn Cranbrook
Sandman Inn Cranbrook
#12 of 17 in Cranbrook
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Cranbrook Hotel
4.3 mi away
St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino
0.4 mi away
Lazy Bear Lodge
Lazy Bear Lodge
#7 of 17 in Cranbrook
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kootenay Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kootenay Country Inn

Property: Kootenay Country Inn
Address: 1111 Cranbrook St N, Cranbrook, British Columbia V1C 3S4, Canada (Formerly Country Comfort Inn)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Cranbrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Cranbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kootenay Country Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kootenay Country Inn is located conveniently on the strip in Cranbrook, BC, next to East Side Marios and is close to 11 different restaurants, shopping and attractions. All rooms come complete with one or two queen size beds, with some rooms having hideabeds, as well as fridges, microwaves and Gourmet Keurig K-Cup coffee makers with Regular Coffee, Decaf and English Breakfast Tea available. In room Phones with free local and long distance calling to anywhere in North America, Cable TV and Free Wifi is provided to every room, just ask for your code at check in. We also have new Movie Channels and HBO. We have 10 kitchenette units which additionally have a sink and two electric hotplate stove top unit. We also have the public coin op laundromat accessible through the lobby with self serve coin operated washers and dryers or our great laundry drop off service. Guests enjoy our free sauna as well until 8pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Kootenay Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing