We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Low-cost, good motel”
Review of Lazy Bear Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lazy Bear Lodge
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Cranbrook
Great Lakes
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Low-cost, good motel”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

A fine little motel for those of us who prefer to avoid chains. It is two-story, with a small outdoor pool. The rooms are clean and the property is well-cared for. The staff are pleasant and accommodating. This place works well for a family who need a quick overnight in Cranbrook.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbrooktrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    34
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
23
28
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I stayed in the Lazy Bear Lodge in July of 2012, and I must say it was the worst hotel experience I have ever had. When we arrived we were greeted with a 5 dollar discount off the room price, VERY NICE! But when we got into the room however, we found the sheets were stained, the shower was mouldy, and best yet, there were hair clippings covering every item in the room. It looked like the previous guest had used an electric shaver and let all of the clippings stick to everything in the room. After this, it was clear the room was not cleaned. At about 11pm, an intoxicated prostitute began banging on the door, yelling "Travis!! Let me in!" We immediately called the front desk and received the explanation "Pimp boss gone now, I kick him out, he no come back!" This was reassuring at best. As I readied a fire extinguisher to strike whoever might kick down the door, my wife packed our articles to leave. There was a lot of yelling and screaming between the prostitute and the other guests. When she was gone, we left and went to the lobby to receive a refund. We were told "No refund" After a lot of arguing and effort, the manager was gracious enough to refund us about 30 dollars. We left for the super 8 shortly after. I would not suggest this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

My wife and I are expecting very soon (11 days over due). We checked in at the recommendation of our midwife and unexpectedly got admitted to the hospital the next morning. When I explained the situation to the front desk they charged me for the night even though I had tried to check out at 10:30am. I am very disappointded that the hospital and midwife would recommend a place offering them business and then the establishment would not be considerate because of a medical situation. I will obviously never stay there again and will be recommending that the midwife and hospital not provide them any more business either!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlangille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Owner at Lazy Bear Lodge, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Thanks first for taking time to write a review.But this review not talking the truth.

I am the owner of Lazy Bear Lodge.At the day you want to leave,the on site manager explained to you the cancellation policy ,you were not happy with that and left.So the manager called me right away.

Beacause you are refered from the hospital,I agree to refund all the money to you(no cancellation fee,no charge for extra night).The manager and I called you at the number 12508657200 the whole afternoon and the whole night to come to the front desk to get whole refund,but nobody answered the phone,and even we put a note on the room door.The next day you came to the font desk Lazy Bear Lodge,I refunded all the money(no charge for the night )which you want to you and you said thanks to me.

So I don't understand why you still post this review to the tripadvisor.Maybe some misunderstanding happened(maybe you write a review right after you talk to the manager).

That is totally unfair to Lazy Bear Lodge.I strongly recommend Tripadvisor send a email to Jlangille and ask him if any misunderstanding occured.

If something wrong happened,Tripadvisor,please cancel this review which is not the truth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I love this type of Motel. It's a bit 70's in it's style, but you can tell the owner(s) try hard to compete against the big chains in the area. I was on a fast trip thru, and just needed a place to lay my head for the night. Easy check in, nice clean and fairly big room, updated flat screen TV. Serverla restaurants within walking distance (although be careful, Cranbrook closes down earlier than bigger centres! The Domino's was closed at 10:30pm so I drove to BP down the road to get the pizza I was looking for. Liquor store right across the street and Denny's a block away. Hey for the price, and NOT sacrificing cleanliness, it's a hard place to beat!!

Room Tip: Ground floor units are right across from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FootlooseWithKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaslo, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

The reviews I read made me think this was at least above average, and was about 25% cheaper than other places. Not at all. The breakfast is in the reception area, and consists of a few supermarket muffins, coffee and I'm not sure whatelse cuz I went down the road to a breakfast cafe. There is no coffee in the rooms, the highway traffic is noticeable, and the bed squeeks, and is hard. I had second thoughts after checking in but the owner wanted payment upon check in, so my wife and I just made the best of it.

The owners have tried to update the place, but it's still along the lines of a 'no-tell' motel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mead, Washington, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We've stayed here half a dozen times over the years and have never had a less-than-excellent experience. An older facility but very clean and quiet. Manager is always friendly and accomodating. My favorite indoor place to stay in Canada.

Motor Cycle friendly and motorcycles often block access to the stairs to the top floor.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Myself and a friend were on a motorcycle trip travelling through Cranbrook B.C. We saw the sign "Bikers Welcome" so we stopped and got a room. The owner looked after us and also gave us a free beer, which was more than welcome given the warm day. We found the room simple but clean and comfortable. There was even a big screen T.V. Enjoyed the stay and will go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dderouin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cranbrook hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Cranbrook
Days Inn Cranbrook
#4 of 17 in Cranbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
4.6 mi away
St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino
0.3 mi away
Best Western Cranbrook Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandman Inn Cranbrook
Sandman Inn Cranbrook
#14 of 17 in Cranbrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
1.0 mi away
Model A Inn
Model A Inn
#10 of 17 in Cranbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travellers Motel
Travellers Motel
#8 of 17 in Cranbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Bear Lodge

Property: Lazy Bear Lodge
Address: 621 Cranbrook St N, Cranbrook, British Columbia V1C 3R8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Cranbrook
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Cranbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lazy Bear Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lazy Bear has a long history of 50 years serving local people and travelers. It earned a reputation of very friendly place as cozy as home. The new owners have renovated the motel with cozy carpet or shining wood floor. Local businesses (hospital, families, Harley Davidson Store) are always recommending Lazy Bear to their friends. We commit to the best services to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lazy Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing