We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Course!”
Review of Shadow Mountain

Shadow Mountain
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Course!”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I played this course on July 12, 2013. The course layout is extremely scenic and very challenging. The most impressive aspect of Shadow Mountain was how well the course was maintained. The practice facility is possibly the best I have ever used.

The greens, fairways, and tee boxes were all perfectly manicured and maintained. The sand traps were well groomed and were reliable to hit out of.

The tee shots on 15 and 17 are a lot of fun.

The green fee is a bit high ($20 less would be better), but my father in law and mother qualified for a senior's rate that was excellent - that might be a weekday only promotion.

Pros
- Very challenging layout
- Immaculate condition
- Practice facility is incredible

Cons
- Unlimited range balls would have been nice - the warm up bucket (20 balls) is not enough for me
- Green fee is a bit high

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    15
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Played here this week. Course is for sale and they are charging full pop. Lots of bunkers not finished, just packed mud with plenty of weeds growing from them. Not for the average player - neat layout but very tough if you miss the fairways or greens. Not sure what their target market is here, but way too tough for vacationers or people looking to retire in the area. Other courses are better suited to this - Wildstone, St Eugene.....even the drink in the clubhouse after was lackluster - flat tonic water. Would not play here again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ribbit13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edmonton ab
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Back to Shadow Mountain.”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Well we took some friends to Shadow last weekend and we were so happy with the condition of the course the greens were perfect the course was awesome and the staff were very accommodating. The views from this course are amazing I would recommend it to be a must stop for any average to above average golfer it is a bit tougher course.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great new course”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Shadow Mountain is a new course with a great pace. We were first off the tee box and were not pushed from behind. This is a very challenging course with lots of elevation changes on a few of the holes. Great scenic holes made for a great day of golf. It is a bit narrower than some of the other courses with lots more sand and well placed water. Bring your A game here or suffer the consequences. The course was in great shape and we enjoyed our game immensely even though we had received many cautionary tales of the course. Come golf here and find out for yourself what a great course this is.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank EasyRider99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Golf”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Great fairly new course in the mountains, is well maintained with a great clubhouse and deck. Is on of the more challenging but still good for all levels of golfers

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gerald N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shadow Mountain also viewed

Cranbrook, Kootenay Rockies
Cranbrook, Kootenay Rockies
 
Cranbrook, Kootenay Rockies
Cranbrook, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Shadow Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing