We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a fun course”
Review of Shadow Mountain

Shadow Mountain
British Columbia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“This is a fun course”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Some holes where you tee off from high up, these are fun, and the course is in great condition. However the, course lacks character and has a built and not a designed feel. It's good for a fun day out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmA007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    17
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Wow what a course”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Played 2 rounds at Shadow Mountain and what a beautiful course. Amazing layout with several elevated tee boxes and extremely challenging. I would say not well suited to new golfers but if you go there knowing the course is going to eat you up and just enjoy the layout and scenery you will still enjoy yourself. If you go after 3pm they have reduced rates as well.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CanuckAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“It's a fair way to the fairway”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I have played Shadow Mountain before but I have never reviewed it. The course is outstanding with a first rate practice facility to get you ready for your game, which you should use as the minute you are on the course the challenges begin. Having heard that the course is up for sale, I was concerned that the conditioning would not be up to the standard of previous visits but I was pleasantly surprised. The clubhouse remains a temporary facilityhowever, with only limited services.
As a test of golf this is a gem, you need to bring your A game because you will be punished for straying too far from the fairway.The course boasts some seriously good holes with special mention going to the 4th (a tough uphill par three), 5th (a par 4 where hitting the green in two will make your day), 12th (a dogleg par 4 which will again test your nerves on approach), 15th (simply called "the drive" but with a tee some 300ft above the fairway) and 17th (a murderous par 5 again from a hugely elevated tee) which will keep true golfers focused and entertained. Personally I had my first good round on the course but previous disasters had not diminished my admiration for this gem.
Shadow Mountain is well worth playing although I advise you that this is not a beginners/hackers course. Mid level golfers will enjoy it's demands, good golfers will love it's challenge. It fails to receive 5* status due to the unfinished surroundings and very limited clubhouse facilities but let me be clear, as a golf course Shadow Mountain is first rate.
Here's hoping they find a buyer who can tidy up the facility and maintain it to the standard it deserves.
The title of my review refers to the 15th where it is "a fair way to the fairway" from your hugely elevated tee.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank martin_mcdowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Course!”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I played this course on July 12, 2013. The course layout is extremely scenic and very challenging. The most impressive aspect of Shadow Mountain was how well the course was maintained. The practice facility is possibly the best I have ever used.

The greens, fairways, and tee boxes were all perfectly manicured and maintained. The sand traps were well groomed and were reliable to hit out of.

The tee shots on 15 and 17 are a lot of fun.

The green fee is a bit high ($20 less would be better), but my father in law and mother qualified for a senior's rate that was excellent - that might be a weekday only promotion.

Pros
- Very challenging layout
- Immaculate condition
- Practice facility is incredible

Cons
- Unlimited range balls would have been nice - the warm up bucket (20 balls) is not enough for me
- Green fee is a bit high

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Played here this week. Course is for sale and they are charging full pop. Lots of bunkers not finished, just packed mud with plenty of weeds growing from them. Not for the average player - neat layout but very tough if you miss the fairways or greens. Not sure what their target market is here, but way too tough for vacationers or people looking to retire in the area. Other courses are better suited to this - Wildstone, St Eugene.....even the drink in the clubhouse after was lackluster - flat tonic water. Would not play here again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ribbit13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shadow Mountain also viewed

Cranbrook, Kootenay Rockies
Cranbrook, Kootenay Rockies
 
Cranbrook, Kootenay Rockies
Kimberley, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Shadow Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing