We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't book it for the pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandman Inn Cranbrook
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Cranbrook
Reviewed 13 September 2012

My family spent a night at this hotel when we went through town on our summer vacation. The sign said there was a pool and that sounded great after a long day on the road with a four-year old. The hotel itself is just fine. It lives up to the standard you would expect from a Sandman. The pool is just dismal!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KattBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2012

Thanks you for your review and I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us with the exception of the swimming pool. There are areas of the pool that we are currently addressing and we trust this will result in greater guest satisfaction in regards to the pool. We would like to see you return to visit us.

Regards,
Dan Schellenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2012

This is one of my favorite hotels that I've been to.. As always, I had a very warm welcome from them as soon as I got to the hotel. I am impressed with their customer service, it's excellent. They do listen to what you say and accommodate the request if possible. The room was very clean and so is the lobby. Very convenient in terms of location, it's close to everything plus 24-hour Denny's on the same building. I will definitely stay at this hotel again and will recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kath_smile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Thank you for your review of our property. The staff and management are thrilled that you found our level of customer service to be of an excellent quality. We strive to provide service that exceeds guest expectations and appreciate your feedback. I also appreciate the comments regarding the cleanliness. We do hope that we will see you again, soon.

Regards,
Dan Schellenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

The location was very good and I really liked the park next door where I could excercise my dog. The room was very clean and the staff and management were very friendly and made me feel welcome. I will definitely stay there again when I come to Cranbrook. Plus they gave me a good rate as I used my entertainment book. I also liked that there was a restaurant right there and free Internet.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding our quality of service and cleanliness. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Also, we are definitely a pet friendly hotel and I am glad that your dog had the opportunity to exercise in the large green space conveniently located adjacent to the hotel. We hope that the next time you are in Cranbrook that you will stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

rooms were clean, pool clean(little dated), we had a kitchenette in our room which was nice. price was good (109+tax). location was good. has big fluffy pillow(i didn;t like). the service was great-the day we left our swim suits were wet and the hotel laundry dried them and brought back to our room which was really nice. no continental break fast but that was ok because the R&B grill was just down the street and breakfast was great and only 6.99. There is a Denny's food is good but service is a little slow.

Room Tip: note; there is no fitness centre, it was error on my part
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Thanks for your feedback. I am happy to hear that the staff were able to dry your wet swimsuits and deliver them to your room. I especially like to hear that the staff extended this type of service, as it means a lot to be the recipient of extra efforts. Excellent customer service is such an important part of a guest's stay, so thanks again. If you plan to visit Cranbrook in the future, we hope that you will include us in your stay.

Regards,
Dan Schellenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

When we arrived there was a bit of a problem with our reservation-I'd done it on line-and the very congenial gentleman could find no record of us! No worries, he took care of us and the problem was quickly solved. We were given a room that suited our needs nicely.
The three of us enjoyed a dip in the pool that needed a cleaning and upgrade but was otherwise fine and our stay was a pleasant one.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoularSister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2012

Thanks for your review. I am glad to hear that your reservation mix-up was handled so efficiently and that things worked out for you. I am glad you enjoyed a dip in the pool and we look forward to a return from you on your next trip to Cranbrook.

Regards,
Dan Schellenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

This hotel on the main street in Cranbrook is nothing to write home about but was clean and friendly . The building had seen slightly better days and has a railway track close to its rear. The front desk staff were welcoming, helpful and polite, which always helps.

My room was adequate and had everything I needed - a comfortable bed, good TV and a comfy chair, and free internet access.

There is a Dennys restaurant directly accessible from the hotel lobby. Service was quick and reasonably efficient but the food was nothing special.

Would I stay there again? Yes, as its shortcomings were more than compensated for by the fact that it was good value for money.

Room Tip: Try and get a room not affected by the railway line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wakeupjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2012

Thanks for your review. Cleanliness and friendliness are definitely an integral part of our service to the guest. We are located near the railway tracks, so asking for a room further from the tracks will lessen the sound of the train. Also, I am glad your stay was comfortable. See you next time.

Regards,
Dan Schellenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

The room was small but they managed to fit all the usual amenities into it. They had a refrigerator microwave, coffee machine and an easy chair. The bed was a single queen. They couldn’t have fit a King in there.
It wasn’t so small that you would feel claustrophobic or that you didn’t bump into things or each other.
Overall a fine place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chazr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2012

Thank you for your review on our property. We hope that you do come back and see us. The room you had is rather small; however, we do have larger rooms with a king bed and pull-out sofa. We would be happy to accommodate you in one of these larger units if you decide to stay with us, again.

Regards,
Dan Schellenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cranbrook hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Conference Centre - Cranbrook
0.5 mi away
Best Western Cranbrook Hotel
4.8 mi away
St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Heritage Inn Hotel & Convention Centre
1.6 mi away
Super 8 Cranbrook
Super 8 Cranbrook
#6 of 18 in Cranbrook
482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lazy Bear Lodge
Lazy Bear Lodge
#7 of 18 in Cranbrook
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Inn Cranbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Inn Cranbrook

Address: 405 Cranbrook St N, Cranbrook, British Columbia V1C 3R5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Cranbrook
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Cranbrook
Price Range: £64 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sandman Inn Cranbrook 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting more sunshine hours annually than any other city in BC, Cranbrook is surrounded by miles of lush forest and many glacier-fed lakes. Comfortable guest rooms, a relaxing indoor pool in addition to modern conveniences like high-speed Internet access, a business centre and on-site dining, make this Sandman property the perfect destination for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Inn Cranbrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing