We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprisingly good”
Review of Nomad Motel

Nomad Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nomad Motel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Cranbrook
Rocky Mountain House, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“surprisingly good”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We spent a night at the Nomad when we passed through Cranbrook this September. Yes it is an old motel, but the rooms are clean and are a good value. They have an outdoor pool and lots of benches and chairs outside the rooms. Parking is right outside your room, which is very nice. Lots of restaurants within walking distance. The room was well set up as a kitchenette. The bed was comfortable and it was really quite even with being located right off the high way. I was be quite happy to stay at the Nomad again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaW-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    18
    10
    5
    9
See reviews for
20
15
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coquitlam, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We only stayed one night as we were passing through. It was certainly good value. We got a 2 bedroom suite with a kitchenette for under $100 which was great as we were travelling with my 94 year old mother. It is a clean, well cared for facility and the owner operator - Luke was very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at this motel for one night while passing through to the States on our motorcycles. The rate was $70. We could park our bikes right outside the door and walk to restaurants along the strip. Surprisingly the bed was comfy and the room was quiet considering its right on the highway. Just a note - we stayed twice last year at the Best Western. We paid twice the price and got surly service and a noisy room on top of the train tracks. Bigger and newer is not always better!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MontyCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Right of the bat, I'd stay here again. While this isn't the prettiest motel, the room are large, clean and functional. The pool (not heated) is of good size and well maintained. This is a basic joint, but very functional. I have no complaints!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms_OffTheBeatenPath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My sister recommended the Nomad Motel as we would be passing through Cranbrook on our way to Nelson. She told me it was clean but basic.

I was pleasantly surprised! We paid $70 (walk-up rate) for the night, including breakfast (toast, muffins, fruit, coffee).

It was sparkling clean and very well cared for. Although the motel is obviously aging, there weren't any dings or scratches in the walls; no dust on the headboards; no trash in the parking lot, and so on.

The Nomad is directly on the highway, but the windows and doors are well insulated so we couldn't hear the highway noise while we slept.

Our room contained two queen beds, tv, VCR, fridge, microwave, desk and chair. The rooms are small, so there is no eating area inside the room, but each room has a bench or table and chairs directly outside. I could see this being a drawback on rainy nights, but the morning was beautiful so we ate our breakfast outside.

There is an outdoor swimming pool but we did not use it.

The owners were very friendly, making check-in a painless process at 11:30 pm. They were welcoming in the morning when I came for breakfast. Check-out was just a key-drop box so that was easy too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osoyoos, BC Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Very friendly owner but the motel needed a lot of upgrades. Towels very thin, quilt looked to be about 50 years old, chair in room in very bad shape. No charge for our dog and the room was inexpensive - so, to sum it all up, you get what you pay for!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cranbrook hotels

Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

We went on our first family road trip to Cranbrook and stayed at the Nomad. Travelling on a very strict budget, this motel was perfect. The room was clean, air conditioning was efficient, and the breakfast was satisfying. Having a pool and a playground right outside the door was nice. Absolutely no issues, excellent for people travelling modestly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Masticater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cranbrook hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Cranbrook
Days Inn Cranbrook
#3 of 17 in Cranbrook
244 reviews
4.5 mi away
St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino
0.1 mi away
Best Western Cranbrook Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sandman Inn Cranbrook
Sandman Inn Cranbrook
#14 of 17 in Cranbrook
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lazy Bear Lodge
Lazy Bear Lodge
#7 of 17 in Cranbrook
91 reviews
1.2 mi away
Almo Court Motel
Almo Court Motel
#9 of 17 in Cranbrook
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomad Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomad Motel

Property: Nomad Motel
Address: 910 Cranbrook St N, Cranbrook, British Columbia V1C 3S3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Cranbrook
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Cranbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomad Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Nomad Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomad Motel Cranbrook
Nomad Hotel Cranbrook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing