We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice again but a few issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Cranbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
288 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Nice again but a few issues”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I had no hesitation in staying here again. No doubt one of the best options for accommodation in or near Cranbrook.

The upper floor room in the old school building had the same great view over the golf course and was beautifully furnished and comfortable.

Drinks in the bar and dinner in the restaurant were again very nice.

The main difference this time was an ordinary experience at check-in, check-out and some follow up. Without going into all the details, it was apparent that there were new staff about and they were struggling. At check-out on the weekend there was one person on the counter - "I've just started" - and when several people had problems with check-in there was no-one this lady could call to help so the delays and queue lengthened.

When I had to call back to housekeeping to chase up lost property, after an intial (lucky?) catching of some-one to talk to, it took a day and a half till I was able to have the same experience.

These are management issues - training and scheduling of staff. Having one inexperienced staff member on reception/check-out during the weekend (apparently) is just folly.

Room Tip: Top floor of original building has great views and the rooms are exceptionally well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    242
    65
    28
    14
See reviews for
128
321
16
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Driving through and decided tol go off the beaten track a little to find this unique and beautiful old native mission school converted to golf course, casino and hotel. A fabulous place with great food, good and friendly service. Beautiful surroundings; well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
213 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I stayed one night in an upgraded room in the refurbished school building. Gorgeous building with lovely beds and linens. Great windows opening to the golf course and the hot pools. the hotel is situated in a gorgeous valley near Cranbrook . Lovely dining although rather expensive and the attatched casino make this a great stop off spot when your in the Kootenays even if you dont golf. Will definetly stay again.

Room Tip: Stay in the old residential school it has so much ambience
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10000elle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marysville, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2012

My husband, my two sons and I were at our casino on March 10. I have severe COPD and suffered an acute attack just as we were leaving your casino. The attention, kindness and understanding was so appreciated. It is embarrassing for a person to be in distress but your staff were so kind and really helped to put me at ease until my breathing was under control. This was our first trip to your casino but it certainly won't be our last! We are already discussing having our next family gathering at St. Eugene. Thanks again for your kindness.
Carolyne R

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edson, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We got a great deal from groupon on two nights in a deluxe room at St. Eugene's. We stayed there as an early Valentine's day getaway during a visit in Cranbrook. We had eaten at the Purcell grill before- which has provided some of the best meals I have ever eaten- but had never stayed at the hotel. Staying here gave us the opportunity to explore the hotel further, which is decorated with a lot of historically interesting pictures and information all about the residential school and how it came to be the very elegant resort it now is.

St. Eugene's is only about a 5 minute drive outside of Cranbrook and is apparently quite near the airport, although there was no sight nor sound of airplanes around.

The deluxe room was one of the best rooms I have ever stayed in. The cathedral ceiling and large windows gave it such space (and it was already a good size room!). The room was decorated nicely- I especially loved the bathroom. The tile and wallpaper made it feel homey. Although February isn't the most beautiful time of year (or at least it wasn't when we were there) there is a seemingly unlimited view from these rooms. We couldn't have been happier with our stay here.

The only issue: the pillows. Not firm enough for our tastes. I think we're picky about pillows, though, so this isn't the sort of thing to affect my taste for the place.

Room Tip: Definitely recommend staying in the eluxe rooms in the heritage building. Some of the rooms in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Just love staying at this hotel. Rooms are so wonderfuly decorated and comfortable and the meals in the Purcell Grill are amazing - best for miles around! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herneayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trail, BC
Level Contributor
258 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We have stayed here a few times in the past few years and I have realized that I should let fellow travelers know of what is in my area if they are interested. I have stayed here on business outings in both the fall and Winter and enjoyed it. The Golf course is beautiful and the pool relaxing in the summer/ fall. And both time in the winter I had intended to x-country ski but there was no snow!! The rooms are nice and the beds very comfortable. Each room has a small fridge and coffee maker with real glasses and mugs. I have never stayed in the Mission side of the hotel but have heard the rooms are great as well. The Casino is a fair size and is nice if you like to gamble (I just seem to lose my money very quickly, so don't stay too long!!). The food is very good and they offer "different" things.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mexicanbound5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranbrook
4.4 mi away
Best Western Cranbrook Hotel
4.7 mi away
Days Inn Cranbrook
Days Inn Cranbrook
#4 of 17 in Cranbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
13.2 mi away
Trickle Creek Lodge
Trickle Creek Lodge
#2 of 4 in Kimberley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Mountain Spirit Resort
Mountain Spirit Resort
#1 of 4 in Kimberley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sandman Inn Cranbrook
Sandman Inn Cranbrook
#14 of 17 in Cranbrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
13.2 mi away
Polaris Lodge
Polaris Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kimberley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino

Property: St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino
Address: 7777 Mission Rd, Cranbrook, British Columbia V1C 7E5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Cranbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Cranbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Framed by the Rockies, the Purcells and the famous St Mary River, the St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino is a spectacular destination for getaways, vacations, conferences and retreats. The resort is located 10 minutes from Cranbrook, 5 minutes from the Cranbrook Airport and 20 minutes from the picturesque town of Kimberley. Within its historic walls and the connecting Lodge are beautifully appointed, modern guestrooms and conference facilities. Visit our Interpretive Centre operated by The Ktunaxa Nation Council to learn more about the building’s fascinating history, and the people, mythology and culture found only in this part of the world. St. Eugene offers a wealth of culinary experiences to please the palate and delight the senses. Onsite food and beverage choices include informal fine dining in the Purcell Grill overlooking the sun-drenched deck and golf course. For individuals looking for a more relaxed setting, unwind with tapas in the Fisher Peak Lounge, play a game of billiards or simply enjoy the 19th Hole Bar & Grill. Also on site is the Casino of the Rockies – decorated in a "Gold rush Boom town" theme with 224 slot machines, 10 table games and delicatessen style dining in Fred’s Saloon. In its inaugural year, our 18-hole, Les Furber-designed course was named "one of Canada’s top new courses" by Golf Digest Magazine. The pristine fairways and white sand bunkers wind their way through several different environments, creating a unique combination of links, forests and a spectacular view of the St. Mary River. Our fitness centre features a fully equipped gym, steam room, sauna, a heated pool and two hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Eugene Golf Hotel Cranbrook
St Eugene Hotel
St Eugene Cranbrook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing