We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Cranbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Room is average for this price point but I had absolutly no issues with cleanliness or appointment. The real supprise at this resort was the restaurant. The staff is classically trained and interseted in their work. The ambiance and deccore was very classy and comfortable. the menu provided many options , everything I tried was intersesting and well prepaired. i would recommend this resort for business or a quite weekend with your partner. Definatly would stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay in the old part if you can. Worth the extra dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowgriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

501 - 507 of 800 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

One couldn't ask for a better location in terms of beauty and history. There are several parts of the hotel, and I had requested a quiet room months in advance. By the time I checked in, I was told I would be on the bottom floor, and it was the only available room. The noise factor from the parties was not appreciated. I have to say though, that the food in the lounge was tops, among the best I've ever had. Overall, I found the room to be average, the 'garden view' well, was a few bushes, a balcony, and a driveway....so it didn't meet my expectations. I had hoped to be in the historical section on the top floor, for the amount of money I was charged, as well as being on a top floor.

Room Tip: The hotel is set on beautiful grounds, you can ask for a 'good' room, but it doesn't mea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ann g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

As much as I enjoy stayting at St. Eugene Mission (this was not our first time). I have 2 issues both relate to the same issue. After our stay this past May 2014 I did fill out a coment card and follow up with an email and as of June 17 I have had not response from the either the Management at St. Eugene or the parent company. Customer services seems to stop once you are paid up and gone. The issue I was responding to was the practice of chargeing corkage when a customer brings wine into the dining room. The facts are BC does allow this practice but I was told by the beveerage manager that their liquopr licence did not allow this practice, which is not true. If it is the dining room policy not to allow this practice, fine, and if the wine list indicated a significant investment I would understand and accept the decision. But the wine list at St. Eugene provided only minimal choice with little relationship to the menu. Doubtful we will be back..

Room Tip: Don't expect much from the dining experience. The service rating reflects only the dinning room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WineGuy117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

When we arrived the only two check-in girls decided to have an impromptu training session despite the fact that there were 6 people waiting to check in. This is really surprising because it is a small hotel with only two check-in spots and I am sure that 6 people in line constitutes a real "rush" for them. Normally I would not care about this but they were just very inconsiderate of the situation and unable to read the frustration on the guests' faces. It was rude - plain and simple.

There is a difference between "historic" and "old". The hotel was walking a very fine line until I got to my room. The room felt updated and modern, although it definitely preserved its old world charm. The room amenities were excellent - very nice place to stay.

Dinner at the restaurant was quite good but there is a VERY limited wine list. There is a good selection of entry level BC wines, but they would really benefit from a reserve list. Even if they want to stick to their BC focus it would help to have some Oculus and Burrowing Owl selections.

The casino attached to the hotel is quiet and lifeless. The dealers are strict and non-talkative. Overall it was very stiff and probably the most boring casino that I have ever been in when it comes to table games.

Overall, St Eugene provides good value for the money. The building and setting are as beautiful as any place I have stayed at in the eastern kootenays. I am sorry that j did not get a chance to golf because I heard the course is nice. The staff needs to lighten up and realize that guests are there for an enjoyable time and they should be catered too, not looked down upon.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank MisterDonair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Very nice historical building nicely appointed and updated. Grounds are well kept. Meal in the dining room very good prime rib as good as you will get anywhere. Braised bison ribs tender and excellent flavor. Service very good even though we arrived late in the evening. Will definitely come again if in the area.
Dan

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank cooksd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed for one night. So glad we did. We got the summer special rate so a great deal. Our room was quite large with a king bed and a comfortable small seating area. We ate in the bar restaurant. Great food, exceptional service and reasonably priced. We passed on the main restaurant as being too expensive and formal for our needs. The historical resort is a former Native Canadian children's school which after being closed and sitting empty for over 30 years was renovated by the St Mary's band at a cost of $40 million. They turned it into a first class resort while maintaining the look and history of the original building. Congratulations to everyone involved in turning what no doubt was part of a very dark chapter in Canada's past into a success story

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jakobj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The resort was beautiful and we had a great time during our 3 day stay. We had 2 very good meals at the 19th Hole and Purcell Grill, however the 1 poor meal that we had was at Fisher Peak Lounge where my husband was served raw fish and my meal was heavily over seasoned. The waitress apologized, but to our dismay, we were still charged full price for the meal and no compensation was offered. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranbrook
4.7 mi away
Days Inn Cranbrook
Days Inn Cranbrook
#3 of 18 in Cranbrook
291 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Cranbrook Hotel
13.2 mi away
Trickle Creek Lodge
Trickle Creek Lodge
#2 of 5 in Kimberley
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Mountain Spirit Resort
Mountain Spirit Resort
#1 of 5 in Kimberley
243 reviews
4.5 mi away
Heritage Inn Hotel & Convention Centre
4.7 mi away
Sandman Inn Cranbrook
Sandman Inn Cranbrook
#14 of 18 in Cranbrook
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino

Address: 7777 Mission Rd, Cranbrook, British Columbia V1C 7E5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Cranbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Cranbrook
Price Range: £61 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Framed by the Rockies, the Purcells and the famous St Mary River, the St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino is a spectacular destination for getaways, vacations, conferences and retreats. The resort is located 10 minutes from Cranbrook, 5 minutes from the Cranbrook Airport and 20 minutes from the picturesque town of Kimberley. Within its historic walls and the connecting Lodge are beautifully appointed, modern guestrooms and conference facilities. Visit our Interpretive Centre operated by The Ktunaxa Nation Council to learn more about the building’s fascinating history, and the people, mythology and culture found only in this part of the world. St. Eugene offers a wealth of culinary experiences to please the palate and delight the senses. Onsite food and beverage choices include informal fine dining in the Purcell Grill overlooking the sun-drenched deck and golf course. For individuals looking for a more relaxed setting, unwind with tapas in the Fisher Peak Lounge, play a game of billiards or simply enjoy the 19th Hole Bar & Grill. Also on site is the Casino of the Rockies – decorated in a "Gold rush Boom town" theme with 224 slot machines, 10 table games and delicatessen style dining in Fred’s Saloon. In its inaugural year, our 18-hole, Les Furber-designed course was named "one of Canada’s top new courses" by Golf Digest Magazine. The pristine fairways and white sand bunkers wind their way through several different environments, creating a unique combination of links, forests and a spectacular view of the St. Mary River. Our fitness centre features a fully equipped gym, steam room, sauna, a heated pool and two hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Eugene Golf Hotel Cranbrook
St Eugene Hotel
St Eugene Cranbrook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing