We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Staff, Friendly environment, Clean”
Review of Model A Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Model A Inn
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Cranbrook
Grande Prairie, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful Staff, Friendly environment, Clean”
Reviewed 1 December 2011

I have stayed in several hotels in Cranbrook as i have family in the area and Model A has by far been the best with my price range, new owners have updated the hotel to standards much higher then the previous. The rooms were clean and comfortable, what exceeded my expectations however was the staff, it's not very often you find service like this. Location was perfect for me as Tim Hortons is right across the street and in a quiet area. I definatly will be returning to the Model A Inn the next time i'm in Cranbrook.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    23
    14
    3
    5
See reviews for
18
23
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

As mentioned in other reviews, the staff is quite friendly. Smart marketing as the updated and clean exterior sadly to do match the interior. Rooms are dated, worn out, and need some attention. Needed a better cleaning, and the mattress is firm.
left over food in the freezer portion of the fridge was a disappointment.
It must be tough to operate a motel but you really could do some more work on the inside to be sure.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere, or tour the suite before you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2011

The staff was really nice. The room was comfortable and the bed wasn't half bad. The room was clean and the bathroom was clean. They take pets and our dog was really pleased with the friendliness of the staff. He even got a pet and a hand shake. It was a good value especially compaired to the other hotels in town.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kootenays
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2011

After viewing rooms in several economic motels in the area I chose the Model A motel. The location is perfect very close to shopping resturants etc. My suite was large ,clean and comfortable the fridge and microwave in the room were great features. In view of how busy the motel appeared to be ,i was pleasently suprised at how quite my room was and i found the bed quite comfortable . The front desk staff were very accomodating and eagar to assist. I had a small problem with my internet connection , upon speaking with Randy @ the front desk it was resolved immediatley. Continental breakfast was offerd with my stay (selection of cereal breads fruit etc) I found the motel excellent value for my travel dollar and have no hesitation recomending it to friends ..

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank haggiz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

It is nice that they are pet friendly (they charge for pest though as many other places do). I agree with another person that said it looks presentable from the road, but when you get a room on the second floor and see the carpet runners outside of the room you have to wonder why they would not spend the few hundred dollars making that presentable ! The carpet leading to each room is worn right through showing the wood floor under neath it, very ugly !
You do get what you pay for..........

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2011goodbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hungrytraveller_9, General Manager at Model A Inn, responded to this review, 17 September 2011
Thank you for writing a review of our Motel! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. In response to your review, we have owned the motel for one year and have spent the first year performing long overdue maintenance items left by previous owners. This year we have replaced the roof, have plans on replaced the outdoor carpet upstairs (difficult to do when you are running close to full house), and are sprucing up the exterior as much as we can in between selling rooms, doing maintenance, doing laundry, etc, etc. Over the winter we will be moving inside the rooms, painting and replacing rugs (also maintenace that was long overdue and left undone by previous owners). As most people understand it takes time and lots of $$$ to totally renovate and our hopes are to have the exterior complete this year. Again, thank you for your sincere review, we appreciate your business. PS: Where do you find outdoor runner for a few hundred dollars - our quote was $6,000 - $8,000 including labour???? lol ;-) Cynthia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2011

This hotel was clean and presentable. The continental breakfast was good and well supplied. You get what you pay for in this hotel, it is not fancy, but it is comfortable and clean and definitely well priced. We came into town late without a reservation and they were hospitable. I would recommend it for a quick stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmo, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We received excellent help from Lorrie. Very informative and it was nice to have a motel that takes pets. Upon checkout, very smooth. Everyone was exceptional. Tip- put some hard boiled eggs on your continental breakfast. Have had them everywhere down at the coast but not in the east or west kootenays.
We will definetley stay there again.
Linda Denny

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rusty52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cranbrook hotels
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Cranbrook
Days Inn Cranbrook
#4 of 17 in Cranbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
3.9 mi away
St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino
0.7 mi away
Best Western Cranbrook Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lazy Bear Lodge
Lazy Bear Lodge
#6 of 17 in Cranbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travellers Motel
Travellers Motel
#8 of 17 in Cranbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Cranbrook
Super 8 Cranbrook
#7 of 17 in Cranbrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Model A Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Model A Inn

Property: Model A Inn
Address: 1908 Cranbrook St N, Cranbrook, British Columbia V1C 3T1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Cranbrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Cranbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Model A Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean Quiet Comfortable! Traditional Value, Modern Convenience and Freindly Old Fashioned Service! Call 1-250-489-4600Hospitality Room Breakfast included with your Stay.Jacuzzi Room Packages Kitchenettes and Extended Stay Suite Non-Smoking Pet Rooms. Wedding Rates Available (book 15+rooms, get Jacuzzi Suite Free for Bridal Couple)We Welcome Tour Buses & Groups,Families, Seniors and All Pets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Model A Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing