We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT somewhere you EVER want to STAY!”
Review of Model A Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Model A Inn
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Cranbrook
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“NOT somewhere you EVER want to STAY!”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Stopped here on our travels and it was terrible!!!!! Dirty old and out dated. The lady running this place was so rude as she talked about prostitutes(she used more foul words that they won't let me submit) in front of our young children. She also slammed other local businesses which we didn't get, why wouldn't you want to support the local economy. They have people who seem less savory living in some of the rooms one of which we are pretty sure had a " by the hour lady visitor!" We were so disgusted by the rooms and worrying about our vehicle that we couldn't sleep, so we woke the kids up really early to leave. We would have been better off sleeping in a vehicle with 3 kids. Stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CSSSSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hungrytraveller_9, Public Relations Manager at Model A Inn, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
First of all we would like to thank you for your taking time to post comments about your stay in our Hotel. The comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality and service at The Model A Inn.

One of the most important goals for us is the safety and security of all our guests. That is why here at our motel we count on an external surveillance/security camera that operates 24 hours day (like most hotels/motels for security reasons). We have reviewed the records and there is no evidence of any person with three children who stayed in our motel in September.

As for your comments about other guests of our motel, I am sure no one appreciates being thought of "less than savory" nor a "by the hour lady". In today's society comments like that are deemed very judgmental and may even be a cause for a lawsuit (to make these comments on a very public forum). Not everyone in this world enjoys affluence or has the means to indulge themselves in a luxurious lifestyle. We host many tradespeople who do not go to work in a suit and tie, but do wear work clothes to earn their living. We do not pass judgement on our guests, their lifestyle, personal appearance or attire.

We do business and have friendships with many local folks who own or work for local businesses. We eat, work and reside in our community. It is the place we chose to operate our business. The Model A Inn and representatives encourage our guests to eat, visit and purchase at local favorites. We display and advertise businesses from all over the Kootenays in our establishment. We will recommend our "competitors" if we feel we will not be able to satisfy potential guest expectations. We are a small limited service budget motel, a 'mom and pop' motel, not an executive franchise with all the bells and whistles who cater to the executive business class (ie Hilton, HIE, Ramada, etc). We continuously make improvements to our motel to increase guest satisfaction including new carpet, fresh paint, new pet rooms, new kitchenettes, re-doing bathrooms and entryways, etc.

We have reviewed your observations with all staff. Our staff in general and our hotel are well known to be very accommodating and service oriented with our guests.

Thank you for your time and comments.
With our warmest regards now and in the future,
God bless!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    24
    14
    3
    5
See reviews for
18
24
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Wa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We booked with Model A Motel in Cranbrook BC through bookit.com We never got our confirmation email, thought we didn't get the room so went on down to Bonners Ferry Casino. We were charged $117.66 for our room when we didn't know we had it. When calling them the manager did not care in the least about us. He whined that someone waited four hours for the room. NO ONE waits four hours for a room in a town with that many hotels!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lthomas1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hungrytraveller_9, Public Relations Manager at Model A Inn, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. It will certainly help us to keep us focused on customer satisfaction and fulfillment of booking standards.

We are very concerned to learn about your disappointing experience and are sorry to hear that we could not fulfill your expectations. Unforgettably, the reservation was made with Booking.com, not directly with us and we do not have access to cancel nor confirm any reservations made via that site. Please see the excerpt below from Booking.com regarding confirmations and cancellations of bookings (we meaning Booking.com, you meaning person who made the reservation):

HOW DO I KNOW MY RESERVATION IS CONFIRMED? As soon as you have completed the booking process the confirmation page appears. This page shows all of your reservation details, including the booking number and your PIN code, so you can access your confirmation online at ‘My Booking.com’. We also send you a confirmation email with all your booking information.
CAN I CANCEL OR CHANGE MY RESERVATION? Yes, it’s easy. You can cancel or change your booking via our self-service tool ‘My Booking.com’. Please, remember to check the hotel’s cancellation policy before making any changes to your booking. Non-refundable rooms and other special deals can have a different cancellation policy. Room specific cancellation information is included beside the room type under the ‘Conditions’ column. Your PIN code is the 4-digit number on your booking confirmation, which in combination with your booking number, allows you to login to ‘My Booking.com’. On ‘My Booking.com’ you can view, change or cancel your booking. Please keep your pin code confidential.

Furthermore we would like to express our appreciation for your concerns, and hope this exerpt makes it easier for guests to confirm or cancel any reservations made through Booking.com.

Best Regards & God bless you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Couldn't ask for a better place to stay thanks for the hospitality. Will definatly stay again. Clean rooms comfortable beds great staff very friendly, great location overall great experience. Really appreciate the hospitality and couldn't ask for anything better thank you very very much toasts parent lol

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hossua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I have been staying here on a 2 month business trip , room 124 , very nice , clean , spacious kitchen unit . Super comfy bed , fast wifi , lots of TV channels .
Basically a great place to kick back & relax after a hard days work !!
Thanks !!

Room Tip: Room 124 is located around the back ..... very quiet .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harrylaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radium Hot Springs, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I stayed during a recent trip and found the rooms to be clean and staff were friendly. The room I was in was comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbkJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borden-Carleton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

When we go to Cranbrook, we usually stay at the Model A. In the past, we've always received the AAA/CAA discount, but this time, we were told there was no discount for CAA members, even though they have the decal on the door.

We inquired the next morning with another front desk clerk, and were told that the new owners didn't register with CAA for discounts, that's why they don't offer it anymore.

That is disappointing, but it's still only $80 a night for a regular room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToryCordick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed for 10 days during low season (over Christmas). We were given an excellent rate.
Room was very clean and obviously recently renovated.
Owners at front desk are very helpful and friendly.

My only complaints would be that the room was cleaned only 3 times during the 10 night stay and that the pillows were nothing to write about. Carpets in the room were new and clean. (Owners are in the process of renovating.) Would love to see the quilts on the bed changed. Not that there was anything wrong, just that they are the old quilts that look the same in every hotel and it's a pet peeve with me.

We had a suite with two rooms. PERFECT for us. The rear room had a window that looked out onto the sunrise coming over the mountain.

We'll recommend Model A as an inexpensive, clean, motel in Cranbrook.

Bonus: Tim Horton's is right across the road!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cranbrook hotels
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Cranbrook
Days Inn Cranbrook
#3 of 17 in Cranbrook
227 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Cranbrook Hotel
3.9 mi away
St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sandman Inn Cranbrook
Sandman Inn Cranbrook
#13 of 17 in Cranbrook
95 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lazy Bear Lodge
Lazy Bear Lodge
#7 of 17 in Cranbrook
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travellers Motel
Travellers Motel
#8 of 17 in Cranbrook
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Model A Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Model A Inn

Property: Model A Inn
Address: 1908 Cranbrook St N, Cranbrook, British Columbia V1C 3T1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Cranbrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Cranbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Model A Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean Quiet Comfortable! Traditional Value, Modern Convenience and Freindly Old Fashioned Service! Call 1-250-489-4600Hospitality Room Breakfast included with your Stay.Jacuzzi Room Packages Kitchenettes and Extended Stay Suite Non-Smoking Pet Rooms. Wedding Rates Available (book 15+rooms, get Jacuzzi Suite Free for Bridal Couple)We Welcome Tour Buses & Groups,Families, Seniors and All Pets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotel.de so you can book your Model A Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing