We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Cranbrook Hotel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Cranbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I've stayed here a couple times, but probably wouldn't be returning if I were footing the bill. The rooms are a good size, clean, and nicely decorated (but furniture is arranged a bit poorly). It is one of the newest hotels in Cranbrook, so there isn't the issue of old age that's an issue in a lot of the other hotels in town. Rooms have been recently outfitted with very large flat screen TVs that are quite nice. Haven't had any notable problems with the internet during my stays. Staff were pleasant to deal with.

As for the cons - rooms don't include a microwave, which should be a pretty standard item, especially at this price point. Breakfast is not included. Noise from the hallways and floors above can be bothersome if the place is busy, particularly if you're close to the elevator.

There's nothing wrong, but for $120+ per night I'd expect something more. For instance an hour away at the Fernie Best Western I get a lower rate, but get a good free hot breakfast, a microwave, and nicer surroundings.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tch77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Cranbrook Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

We always appreciate comments from our guests. Our team is always looking for ways to improve our guest’s experience. The Lobby Café does offer breakfast options for those who do not wish to go out. We hope that your next visit will be more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2011

I recently took part in a charity fund raiser, which saw the group riding the length of the Rockie mountains on Harley Davidson motorcycles. Our bikes were hired from the HD dealer in Cranbrook, therefore an overnight stay was necessary, prior to our departure for the US border.

One of the things which stood out was how beautiful the location was, surpassed only by the picturesque scenery.

The hotel is located on the right side of the main road, heading in the direction for Vancouver. The building is of a simple and functional design, offering the right level of amenities as can be expected from a Best Western hotel. The rooms were clean and the staff were always very friendly. The internet connection was of a good standard. The breakfast was served in a small area, with the food being of a continental breakfast. The hotel is perfect for short/overnight stop-overs.

My only criticism is that the dining area closes by 2300hrs (including the bar) and there is very little else to do in the evening. That being said, Cranbrook is a small town and the local scenery & daytime views certainly compensate for the evening bordom.

I would definitely recommend a traveller to consider renting a Harley from the dealer 50m down the road, therein using the hotel as a base for daily trips.

Room Tip: All rooms to the rear of the building are quieter due to their positioning away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ram P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Checked in on a Saturday night, the room was fine, but a bit more money than it should have been.
Used the gym area and was very happy to see that the hotel allowed guests to adjust the temperature in the gym. Nice to be able to workout in a cool room. I returned their kindness by adjusting the temperature back to 20 degrees when I left the room.
Went downstairs for breakfast in the morning to find out that the restaurant wasn't going to be open until later in the morning. Quite a surprise, I checked the information in the room the night before and it clearly said breakfast from 6:30 AM seven days a week, no breakfast for us.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scooplady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Cranbrook Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2011

My apologies that the Lobby Café was not available for your breakfast needs. Feedback from our guests is very important and we are taking steps to prevent this type of situation from happening in the future. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I am happy you enjoyed your room and the Fitness Center.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We have stayed at this hotel before and had issues with the internet but I being naive thought that by now they would have that worked out....WRONG!! I also found a pile of long hair in the bathroom which was really gross. Also they have no breakfast included in the rate. I don't think I would recommend this hotel again. The value for the money is not there. A side point though...the front desk staff are nice.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Suzi_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Cranbrook Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

Thank you for your review. It is unfortunate that your room was not up to our normal standards. I have relayed your review to our staff. We are working with our internet provider to make sure that our guests are provided with consistent connectivity. We do welcome our guests to enjoy the Urban Taste Fusion Cafe in the lobby for breakfast, lunch, and dinner options. As always, our staff is always available to assist all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed one night for business travel. Hotel was very clean, feels very new and good amenities. Pool area would be great for kids and my room was a nice comfotable size. (One king plus chair). Comes with fridge in room with glass door so you can see if you left anything in there when you leave (as I have a habit of doing...), only thing I would like to have seen was a microwave. Bit expensive for Cranbrook in my opinion but every other place similar to the Best Western was the same price.

Overall I would stay again and I would bring my family with me if the opportunity arose.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelnut73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Cranbrook Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2011

It is very rewarding to know that you enjoyed your stay. Your compliments are very welcome. We will continue to do our best to meet all our guests’ needs. Thank you for letting us know how we have done. We look forward to welcoming you and your family in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

This property is not deserving of the Best Western name. We found the following defects:
No breakfast; yet they imply on their web site that they have a free breakfast as other Best Westerns. This is deceptive, unethical and fraudulent. We checked in at 6 p.m. and found this out at 9 p.m. My wife was tired so we stayed.
The old Tv did not work. Another customer complained when I checked in. We called the front desk and it was over an hour before the overworked clerk came to get it barely working.
The internet speed tested was 1 GB, then 5; but it was extremely slow. Things I downloaded at home in 25 seconds said 6 to 12 minutes.
I want a full refund for lack of service.
I have been a Best Western fan before this episode. I have a hunch any Best Western that does not serve breakfast is sub-standard in all services. They are merely taking advantage of the brand signature and misleading customers for personal gain.
I am writing this from a Super Eight motel in Castlegar that has a plasma TV, fast internet, clean rooms and breakfast. I passed up two Best Westerns that did not serve breakfast and will never stay at one that misuses the brand name.

Lew

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lewmarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Cranbrook Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

Thank you for your review. I apologize that you were unaware that our property does not offer Complimentary Continental Breakfast. We operate within the requirements of Best Western International by offering the options provided at the Urban Taste Fusion Café located off the lobby. It offers breakfast, lunch, and dinner options as we tell our guests on our website.

We are currently working closely with our internet provider to improve internet connectivity and speed. We understand that this is an important amenity for today’s travellers. I am very pleased to let you know that new flat screen TV’s are on their way to replace our current supply. It is unfortunate that you did not have a pleasant stay with us. We are always striving to meet our guests’ needs. I hope you will try us again on your next visit to Cranbrook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Our family recently stayed one night at the BW Cranbrook and, similar to previous stays at this same hotel, ti failed to disappoint. The staff were very friendly, coureous and knowledgable. The rooms were impeccable .... very clean and well maintained. The only place to stay in Cranbrook.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cold_Canuck27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Cranbrook Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

We really appreciate your review. I am always so happy to hear feedback from our regular guests such as yourself that we are making your stays enjoyable. Our goal is always to give our guests a comfortable stay with all the amenities they require.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranbrook
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Cranbrook
Days Inn Cranbrook
#3 of 18 in Cranbrook
290 reviews
4.4 mi away
St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino
0.5 mi away
Sandman Inn Cranbrook
Sandman Inn Cranbrook
#14 of 18 in Cranbrook
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Heritage Inn Hotel & Convention Centre
16.0 mi away
Trickle Creek Lodge
Trickle Creek Lodge
#2 of 5 in Kimberley
393 reviews
0.7 mi away
Model A Inn
Model A Inn
#12 of 18 in Cranbrook
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Cranbrook Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Cranbrook Hotel

Address: 1019 Cranbrook St N, Cranbrook, British Columbia V1C 3S4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Cranbrook
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Cranbrook
Price Range: £92 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Cranbrook Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A combination of superior service and friendly hospitality, this hotel can accommodate the most discerning business or leisure traveller. Guest rooms feature deluxe furnishings, amenities and complimentary high speed internet. For an extended stay, select from 1 or 2 bedroom kitchenette suites. Onsite features include indoor pool with waterslide, fitness centre, outdoor patio, games room, Business Centre and café. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Cranbrook Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cranbrook
Cranbrook Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing