We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pool promotes hypothermia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Cranbrook Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Cranbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Alberta,
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pool promotes hypothermia”
Reviewed 16 February 2010

The hotel itself was nice, had clean clean rooms. However if you plan on visiting for the pool, you might want to book elsewhere. The pool was extremely cold, I would say 70 degrees perhaps. They could afford to turn up the heat on the pool to make it comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beavis_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    137
    52
    33
    10
See reviews for
97
105
20
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
432 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

I could not believe that this hotel was built in the 2000's. It has very traditional floor plan, and the furniture and fixtures are 1980's. Everything is very dated.
Nice part was easy to find since it's on the main drag, but for the price they charge ( $180 for a standard room ) I find it not delivering, especially comparing to other chain hotels in B.C., such as Holiday Inn Express or Hampton Inn.
Reception staff was Ok, answered questions but I didn't detect any hint of enthusiasm.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tak3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

We found this hotel to be fairly new, clean, spacious, and reasonably priced. They have wireless internet and ample free parking. The only thing missing was a contenental breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccmte_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkton
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2008

Fairly new - loved the lobby decor, overall presentation and staff. Room was large with clean, newer furniture. Bathroom huge - excellent lighting. Everything worked well. Staff very accomodating.

  • Liked — Bright and cheerful decor
  • Disliked — Bistro - would prefer a restaurant closer
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koala229570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, AB
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2008

My wife and I stayed here for one night on our way back to Calgary from Spokane, and this was the best hotel of our trip. The hotel looks new, and our room was large and clean. We would stay here again.

  • Liked — Rooms were large and very clean
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calgary_family61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kootenay National Park, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2007

Hi, everyone: I stayed at this motor inn for 3 nights, mid-August. While the hotel is clean and new, it is not much different from any other Best Western Motor Inn/Hotel. The so-called restaurant is an open-concept coffee shop- bistro with a very limited menu. However, the food and beverages are superb! Evenings found this little place full with local ball teams, hotel guests, and locals.

I was travelling alone and the room I was given was large, tastefully appointed, and had a queen-sized bed. The bedding seemed cheap. And I wondered about all of the extra, seemingly useless floor space in my room and the itty-bitty, teeny bathroom! The large tub (in the oh-so-typical tub-surround style) and the toilet are crammed into a little room that most people will find they must enter first, and then position themselves to close the door, only THEN to be able to use the facilities. Strange room design. (I must say, the new rooms and the FANTASTIC beds and linens at the Days Inn nearby are far superior to these accomodations.)

I always try to choose a hotel with a swimming pool or jacuzzi so I can relax after a long day of work or travel. While this motor inn advertizes a pool, they fail to mention that it is small and generally FULL of kids screaming, splashing and having a gay old time. And who can blame them... the pool has a water slide. However, any thought I had of winding down in the pool in the evening went out the window, quickly! Too bad.

Internet service is available. They have a computer near the Business Office that you can use, too. All of this costs money. $4.50 for 20 minutes time on-line. Really 'good' hotels offer free internet access.

Front Desk and Reception staff were very nice, helpful and checked in to see how your stay was progressing whenever they saw you pass by. I appreciated that customer care and attention.

Now, the big question: would I stay there, again? Yes, I would but it wouldn't be my first choice. I shall keep exploring!

  • Liked — great coffee and Ceasar Salads in the lobby
  • Disliked — No full service restaurant; no adult time scheduled for pool use (ex: late evening)
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank TrueCanucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2007

We were fortunate enough to stay at this hotel on the Friday night of the August long weekend. It was awesome and clean which makes a big difference. There are way too many sub-standard hotels on the trip from Medicine Hat to Penticton and this one is worth the stay and the money. My kids had a great time at the pool, our room was awesome, the beds were comfy and the small deli style restaurant in the hotel provides a great cup of coffee and offers healthy breakfasts. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and we will definitely stay there again.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank trippinmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranbrook
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Cranbrook
Days Inn Cranbrook
#3 of 17 in Cranbrook
260 reviews
4.4 mi away
St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino
0.5 mi away
Sandman Inn Cranbrook
Sandman Inn Cranbrook
#12 of 17 in Cranbrook
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Trickle Creek Lodge
Trickle Creek Lodge
#2 of 4 in Kimberley
380 reviews
1.4 mi away
Prestige Rocky Mountain Resort and Convention Centre
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Cranbrook
Super 8 Cranbrook
#7 of 17 in Cranbrook
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Cranbrook Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Cranbrook Hotel

Property: Best Western Cranbrook Hotel
Address: 1019 Cranbrook St N, Cranbrook, British Columbia V1C 3S4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Cranbrook
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Cranbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Cranbrook Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A combination of superior service and friendly hospitality, this hotel can accommodate the most discerning business or leisure traveller. Guest rooms feature deluxe furnishings, amenities and complimentary high speed internet. For an extended stay, select from 1 or 2 bedroom kitchenette suites. Onsite features include indoor pool with waterslide, fitness centre, outdoor patio, games room, Business Centre and café. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Cranbrook Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cranbrook
Cranbrook Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing