We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Cranbrook Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Cranbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Ponoka, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disapointing”
Reviewed 22 May 2010

Upon checking in the staff was courtious,He assured us that it was the nicest of all best western hotels......wrong so wrong. The lobby was very nice, wich is probably why the higher cost for the quality of room. We stayed in a king room. The room was large the bathroom was tiny, The closet seemed like an afterthought sticking out into the room. At aproximatly 1am we decided to go to bed. The sheets did not apperar to have been changed they were wrinkeled and had a spot of fresh red blood on them. We called the front desk and the night cleark offered to change our room or change the sheets. we opted to change the sheets as e had basically moved in. The one and only night person for this large hotel came to change the sheets and did not bring enough linen, she said she had to take the stairs as she is the only staff there and had to go back down.
The bed slept as well as any oridinary hotel bed.
In the morning when checking out i mentioned to the desk cleark the sheet issue she assured me this never happens and she is very sorry. I asked if the would compensate us for the inconvienance, she stated that they had offered to change our room. Weather we changed rooms or sheets it was an inconvieniance. The gave us 15.00 off a room that cost 190.00. I have stayed at lower grade best western motels and they have reduced the rate 50 percent for food being left in the frigde. The manager was made aware of the sheet situation in front of us and offered no appology.
No continental breakfast at "the nicest best western"

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdtrip999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    127
    46
    28
    9
See reviews for
83
80
17
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2010

I ended up in Cranbrook for business. I asked around and this is the newest hotel in town so I decided to give it a try. The counter staff were very helpful and answered all my questions when I checked in (how to use the wireless internet, pool hours, etc). The rooms were very clean and comfortable. After I checked in, I had dinner at the restaurant (which also had great service) then decided to go for a swim. While swimming, the big three story corkscrew waterslide kept calling my name, so I thought I would give it a try. It was fast and totally enclosed all the way down. It was a thrill I wasn’t expecting and left me laughing. Staying here was a great experience and I am looking forward to taking my family there in the very near future!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Livingthelife123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 414 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2010

This hotel has nice rooms; I’ve stayed in them before. Recently I stayed in room #100, near their business center. The room was presented as an upgrade due to the extra large flat screen TV. Granted the TV was nice, the room was not. Here's my list of pros & cons:
*coffee maker located in the bathroom; seems unhygienic to me.
*extra hard bed with only one night table. Kind of makes me think this was never meant to be a guest room.
*no closet. Instead there’s a small armoire not suitable for hanging dress pants properly
*no place to store ironing board out of the way because there is no closet
*no clock/radio
*large leather sofa
*great lighting
*good internet access
*highway noise is a bit of an issue
*noise from people waiting for the elevator
*The noisy heater/air conditioner sounds like a locomotive when it turns on
*in room refrigerator
*good fitness centre (the elliptical machine was broken when I was there)
*large water slide for the kids
*just across the street from Mr Mike’s West Coast Grill, the best dinner spot in Cranbrook
Again, this is ONE room in a large hotel. Though I have not stayed in any other rooms here recently, I have several months ago and they were OK. The noisy HVAC and highway is an issue in all of the rooms.
In perspective, most of Cranbrook’s hotels are located on this noisy highway. Cranbrook has some highly rated B&B’s in quite downtown neighbourhoods off the highway.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maestro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta,
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2010

The hotel itself was nice, had clean clean rooms. However if you plan on visiting for the pool, you might want to book elsewhere. The pool was extremely cold, I would say 70 degrees perhaps. They could afford to turn up the heat on the pool to make it comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beavis_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
432 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

I could not believe that this hotel was built in the 2000's. It has very traditional floor plan, and the furniture and fixtures are 1980's. Everything is very dated.
Nice part was easy to find since it's on the main drag, but for the price they charge ( $180 for a standard room ) I find it not delivering, especially comparing to other chain hotels in B.C., such as Holiday Inn Express or Hampton Inn.
Reception staff was Ok, answered questions but I didn't detect any hint of enthusiasm.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tak3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

We found this hotel to be fairly new, clean, spacious, and reasonably priced. They have wireless internet and ample free parking. The only thing missing was a contenental breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccmte_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkton
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2008

Fairly new - loved the lobby decor, overall presentation and staff. Room was large with clean, newer furniture. Bathroom huge - excellent lighting. Everything worked well. Staff very accomodating.

  • Liked — Bright and cheerful decor
  • Disliked — Bistro - would prefer a restaurant closer
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koala229570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cranbrook hotels
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Cranbrook
Days Inn Cranbrook
#4 of 17 in Cranbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
4.4 mi away
St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino
0.5 mi away
Sandman Inn Cranbrook
Sandman Inn Cranbrook
#14 of 17 in Cranbrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Model A Inn
Model A Inn
#10 of 17 in Cranbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
1.4 mi away
Prestige Rocky Mountain Resort and Convention Centre
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Cranbrook
Super 8 Cranbrook
#7 of 17 in Cranbrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Cranbrook Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Cranbrook Hotel

Property: Best Western Cranbrook Hotel
Address: 1019 Cranbrook St N, Cranbrook, British Columbia V1C 3S4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Cranbrook
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Cranbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Cranbrook Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A combination of superior service and friendly hospitality, this hotel can accommodate the most discerning business or leisure traveller. Guest rooms feature deluxe furnishings, amenities and complimentary high speed internet. For an extended stay, select from 1 or 2 bedroom kitchenette suites. Onsite features include indoor pool with waterslide, fitness centre, outdoor patio, games room, Business Centre and café. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Cranbrook Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cranbrook
Cranbrook Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing