We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place We Stayed on our Entire Trip!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cranbrook
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Elizabeth Lake Lodge
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Cranbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Crowley, TX
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Best Place We Stayed on our Entire Trip!”
Reviewed 1 October 2008

I don't usually consider any stay "excellent" - but make an exception to the Elizabeth Lake Lodge. Very warm reception, but the best was the cleanliness, and the BEDS were absolutely the most comfortable I've ever slept in (the the extent that I intend to research where I can get one). There was wonderful attention to detail (I am not sure of the age of the lodge, but if the rooms have been recently renovated -- they were absolutely wonderful). A bonus was the scenery of the Elizabeth Lake (bird sanctuary). Very peaceful place to stay and I only wish we could have stayed longer than the one night. Would recommend this one highly! Don't be fooled by what you might think of the "location" -- this one was priced decently and you will not be disappointed.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — no "dislikes" at all!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXLuv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    514
    38
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
138
238
21
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, WA
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2008

This place is great, especaily for the price. The golf is kinda lame, and the road can be noisy. But once you get in the room you dont notice either. Very Impressed and will be back.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dannys58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2008

The rooms overlooking the lake are both spacious and very clean. The bed was extremely comfortable.The free WiFi is also a bonus.
George the host is extremely helpful with nothing being too much trouble. He recommended two great places to eat in and around Cranbrook, both of which were excellent (Allegra and The Old Bauernhaus)

  • Liked — Backs on to a nature reserve
  • Disliked — Poximity to main road
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WizardBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2008

We decided to try this place based on Tripadvisor reviews. Glad we went with the reviews because it totally met/exceeded our expectations. We booked directly with the owner. He was friendly and easy to communicate with. He was very flexible with our very late arrival time.

The room was beautiful! Very nicely decorated and comfortable. A huge bonus was the kitchenette. The refrigerator/freezer was big enough to hold our large ice pack and all the food from our large cooler. It was nice being able to have breakfast in our room (complete with stove, microwave, and toaster).

The kids enjoyed the 18 hole mini golf course. It was very well-maintained, creative, and challenging! We also had a nice walk along the lakeside.

We would definitely stay there again!

  • Liked — Beautiful room, close to lake & park, reasonably priced
  • Disliked — Right on the main road (although it wasn't a busy road)
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank OnTheRoadOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaughan,ontario
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2008

very modern hotel with italian warm up floors in the bath,large flat screen TV on the wall, & mini golf,. To do the shopping need to go with a car ,but when you go find store -beside Wallmart ,there is Canadian Superstore- the best prices & cheapest ,wished there were more of this stores for everybody.,instead of Safeways& Overwaities...And last but not,the least the beds will give you the best sleep .,,

  • Liked — everything
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank aarongantman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, WA
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2008

This is a "Canadian best-kept secret"! We pulled up to the motel and as we walked towards the office, the owner (George) came out to meet us and said "You must be the Schmidt's" - from the cleanliness of the rooms, the heated bathroom tile, the view, George's Cranbrook dining recommendations, all was 'spot on'. We chose to stay in Cranbrook as a 'half-way' point between our home in Spokane, WA and Banff. After several days in Banff, I was really looking forward to a bed at the Elizabeth Lake Lodge - we weren't disappointed on our return stay. Better book ahead as this secret gem will get out and you may have difficulty getting reservations. Oh, one other thing - most hotels/motels today offer some type of wireless internet. The ELL is no different - except it worked flawlessly in the two rooms we had the opportunity to stay in.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank W0AKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, FL
Level 6 Contributor
475 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2008

We just stayed one night in a cozy lake-front room and found nothing to quibble about and a lot to praise, as follows: very comfortable beds with thick mattresses imported from England, free internet, heated bathroom tile floors, fluffy down or down-like comforters, competitive pricing ($98), flat screen TV, very clean room and bath, friendly helpful owners live on site, and although we did not use it a tiny kitchen complete with frig, sink, stove and microwave. PS a great place to dine is the nearby "Allegra." (I'll post a review under dining.)

  • Liked — Great care the owners made to make it a great value and keep it that way
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ohgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranbrook
6.0 mi away
St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Cranbrook
Days Inn Cranbrook
#3 of 17 in Cranbrook
260 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Cranbrook Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sandman Inn Cranbrook
Sandman Inn Cranbrook
#12 of 17 in Cranbrook
100 reviews
16.2 mi away
Trickle Creek Lodge
Trickle Creek Lodge
#2 of 4 in Kimberley
380 reviews
0.6 mi away
Prestige Rocky Mountain Resort and Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabeth Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth Lake Lodge

Property: Elizabeth Lake Lodge
Address: 590 Van Horne St S, Cranbrook, British Columbia V1C 4W7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Cranbrook
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Cranbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Canadian Alpine Lodge located at the south entrance to Cranbrook, adjacent to Elizabeth Lake Conservation area. Try our history of Kootenays mini golf course or enjoy a walk along the Marsh Trail. The lodge features the finest king and queen beds in Cranbrook. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Lake Hotel Cranbrook
Elizabeth Lake Cranbrook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing