We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cranbrook
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Elizabeth Lake Lodge
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Cranbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Pocatello, ID
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed 22 August 2009

While traveling through BC, we decided that Cranbrook would be a good stopping point for the day. After driving all of the way through town looking at what the town had to offer in the way of hotels, we were using the Elizabeth Lake Lodge parking lot to turn around. At first glance it appeared that it would be a bit too "rich" for our travel plans. On a whim, we decided to check the price and found it was about $100CAD - about the same as some MUCH less desirable hotels/motels. The hosts were very friendly and accommodating with respect to parking our bikes on the pavement instead of the gravel parking lot, even supplying small pieces of wood to place under our kickstands. The rooms were very nicely furnished with natural wood furniture accents, a large screen TV, a great view and the entire room was spotlessly clean. After watching our hostess take off her shoes to enter the room when she escorted us up, I felt guilty about wearing my own shoes into the room. Overall, I feel that the accommodations were excellent and highly recommend this Inn to any who visit Cranbrook.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mortimerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    38
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
132
233
21
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

We were extremely lucky to stay one night at this extremely CLEAN, well thought out (we were in the wheelchair friendly room...) and fabulous view of the lake...
There is no doubt we will be back and can only hope we are greeted again by 'Sister Nurse' who personally walked us to our room and could not do enough for us...
And, no, she did not pay us to write this...
As Arnold would say, "we'll be back!"

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrGoWing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2009

Upon arrival we were a little skeptical as the hotel didn't look overly impressive at first. When we enter the office the owner greeted us by name and welcomed us to his lodge. He offered my wife a choice of Peruvian chocolates and then took us up to our room. He removed his shoes as he enter the room and pointed out the bed imported from London (it was wonderful) and asked if we needed any directions or recommendations for dinner. We asked where we could purchase wine and asked about the restraurant we were planning to eat at. He offered to call the restraurant to let them know we were coming and brought wine glasses that they had received as wedding presents for us to us. Extremely friendly, great room, very comfortable - awesome experience.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noremac58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2009

We only had one night here, it was the last night of a 10 day trip planned by our friends who live in Okotoks so we were used to one night stops. What a shame this was our only night here, it was delightful. Although it is right by the main road there's so little traffic - compared to what we're used to in the UK - that there is hardly any traffic noise. The lakeside setting was so peaceful and relaxing and the views to mountains really dramatic. The friendly reception we got was a tonic and the space and comfort of the rooms was a real treat. We'd had a very long drive that day so we really appreciated it. That bed was so comfortable it was very hard to get up! The mini golf was greatly appreciated by our friends' teenage son who declared it "Awesome!" If we ever pass Cranbrook way again we'll be sure to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisGG1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol,England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

This really is a great stop over. Yes at the front its noisy, but the superbly appointed rooms are clean,very comfortable,light and airy. The owners are helpful in every way. I commented that I hadn't had wine on the trip because I wouldn't drink from a plastic/styrene cup. Minutes later I was loaned crystal glasses and given some fine cheese to go with the wine (superb wine selection from a liquor store next to Walmart). Without doubt one of the best bargain stays in the North West. The kitchen also is more than sufficient to meet most needs

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

We stayed only one night after a long drive from Spokane, WA through Idaho. It was Canada Day, complete with fireworks, so the town was pretty dead. The motel has been redone to make it much more charming than a roadside motel would be. However, it is right on the main highway, and in spite of the "insulation", it was a bit noisy. The wetlands behind the hotel do make for a lovely view to wake up to in the morning though, and a nice place to walk (mind the mosquitos) and bird watch. No coffee or rolls though there was a tiny coffee maker in the room. Pretty basic.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mccolleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2009

I booked this hotel after reading all the good reviews on the web. I was still surprised by the excellent services and values I received upon arrival. The host, George, was very welcoming and the hotel was thoughtfully designed. The bathroom tiles were heated and the beds were extremely comfortable. The nearby lake/bird sanctuary was pleasant to look over the window or to have a casual stroll in the morning. It felt like living in a 4 star hotel with the price of 2 star. My entire family was totally satisfied with our stay at Elizabeth Lake Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgtWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranbrook
6.0 mi away
St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Cranbrook
Days Inn Cranbrook
#3 of 17 in Cranbrook
245 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Cranbrook Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Trickle Creek Lodge
Trickle Creek Lodge
#2 of 4 in Kimberley
370 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sandman Inn Cranbrook
Sandman Inn Cranbrook
#13 of 17 in Cranbrook
98 reviews
16.2 mi away
Mountain Spirit Resort
Mountain Spirit Resort
#1 of 4 in Kimberley
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabeth Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth Lake Lodge

Property: Elizabeth Lake Lodge
Address: 590 Van Horne St S, Cranbrook, British Columbia V1C 4W7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Cranbrook
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Cranbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Canadian Alpine Lodge located at the south entrance to Cranbrook, adjacent to Elizabeth Lake Conservation area. Try our history of Kootenays mini golf course or enjoy a walk along the Marsh Trail. The lodge features the finest king and queen beds in Cranbrook. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Lake Hotel Cranbrook
Elizabeth Lake Cranbrook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing