We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only Okay”

The Cottage Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 98 Restaurants in Cranbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Soups, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dunan, BC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Only Okay”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I know this place has many positive comments, but this was our experience:
The service was very slow. had to return coffee because there was lipstick on the cup.
I had the Texan breakfast with my eggs over easy. The eggs to me needed a little more time in the pan, there was still clear jelly on the tops of my eggs. The sausage was terrible. Just tasteless. The bacon and hash browns were good.
The other dish was steak and eggs and they were both cooked as ordered.
Don't go for quick service, it took forever for coffee refills and such.
However, the staff was very friendly. I probably would give this restaurant a second chance when I am back in the area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GingerBakerDunan_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    26
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cranbrook, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“beware the fish and chips...”
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We DO enjoy the great homemade bread , and other homemade things at The Cottage.
But beware of the fish and chips. We were v e r y surprized when our orders of fish & chips
arrived as neat little triangles - obviously from superstore bulk packs that have been re-fried
in oil. We can re-fry boxed frozen triangles at home. Because most things are wonderfully hand-attended - we thought the fish would be too. I think The Cottage owes it to customers to at least warn them that they are just refried Superstore-type traingles of fish. We were very disappointed that The Cottage didn't live up to their wonderfully - high standard in this area. Hope things change. .... or you know what happens....

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Eater332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernie, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Homemade goodness!”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We had lunch here a couple weeks ago, I had the turkey club. It was fantastic and HUGE! It does not come with a side dish but you really don't need one I took half my sandwich home anyway. I had the homemade lemonade and it was perfect not bitter yet not sweet either is was delicious. My husband had the homemade ice tea and he could barely drink it , it was sweeter than your average soda, not refreshing at all. The place was super busy but the food service was still quick. You get the feeling like you are at grandmas house with a bunch of strangers, but the food tasted like it was made with love.
Not my idea of a cozy cottage .....very old style and over crowded decor. but thats just me. The food was amazing though the next time I may just get it as take out and head to the park.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Avocet_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best homemade bread around!!!”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Good food in a neat little place downtown. Where locals like to have lunch. Homemade delicious food, try their cinnamon bun, you won't regret it!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ame847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast!!”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Get the full meal deal with bacon, eggs, hashbrowns and their FABulous bread..everything is home made and delicious. Cute English teahouse atmosphere.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Corie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cottage Restaurant also viewed

Cranbrook, Kootenay Rockies
Cranbrook, Kootenay Rockies
 
Cranbrook, Kootenay Rockies
 
Cranbrook, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to The Cottage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing