We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently excellent”

Saigon Noodle House
Ranked #36 of 140 Restaurants in Courtenay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
178 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Great place for lunch; I go at least once a month. Decor and surrounding is a bit run down but don't let that put you off. Friendly servers and excellent food; I nearly always have #2 and #13 medium! Value is very good but remember to take cash or have a debit card as credit is not accepted. Enjoy!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben-Josee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    22
    8
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
comox valley, bc
Level Contributor
90 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Go hungry!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

When we are hungry and needing something filling and quick we always end up here. The service is fast, the place crowded but not too loud. You get a little pot of green tea right away and your food about 10 min. later. The A3 is my favorite. The prices are low and they only take cash (smart!). It's not authentic nor is it the best Vietnamese food I've ever had, but I think it's just right the way it is.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EatWell2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Vietnamese Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

The location was great with easy free parking. Has a good menu selection and reasonable prices. Service is quick and friendly with a clean environment.
The seat space is a bit tight, so not a good place for private conversation and its strictly cash payments.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elliotte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River, British Columbia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Busy busy place, food came FAST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

We went in way after 1 PM expecting lunch rush to be done, and the place was jam packed. We sat, we ordered, and it the food came faster than McCafe and was cheaper than that junk they serve…not that I don't eat McCafe

Helpful?
Thank Welychko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay, Canada
1 review
“SAVE YOUR MONEY! November_2013”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We arrived just after 5pm to order some take-out and the restaurant was largely empty. We were told 20 mins for our food, so we decided to wait in the restaurant at a small table. During our wait we were asked rather rudely to move and wait down the hallway to the bathrooms as the restaurant was getting busy and tables filling up.(We spent $37) A single diner sat at our table and we served before us. Then the server came back and asked us to reconfirm our order, as they had clearly lost or misplaced it. Another large table that came in after us was also served their food. 25 minutes pass, and I finally get up to ask where our order is. They tell us it is only a couple minutes away, but don't apologize for their mixup or tardiness. We pay and leave.

If the food had been decent, it would have at least made up for our painful waiting and lack of service. We ordered 3 meals and a side of spring rolls and ALL of it was AWFUL. It looked as though they had just thrown leftovers from other meals into the containers. The vegetables were all wilted and overcooked, and the meat, what little there was, amounted to 3-4 small pieces per container. I'VE NEVER FELT MORE RIPPED OFF. To boot, it was the first time my mom had tried 'Vietnamese' food, but this didn't even QUALIFY AS BEING AUTHENTIC.
Given that we eat Vietnamese food quite regularly, we know the difference.

DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY. I would HIGHLY recommend Huong Lan in Nanaimo if you would like a REAL Vietnamese dining experience at the same price point, but it's fast, high quality and we ALWAYS take home leftovers.

Saigon couldn't have been a bigger disappointment.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saigon Noodle House also viewed

Courtenay, Comox Valley
 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 

Been to Saigon Noodle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing