We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very, very good”

Locals Restaurant at the Old House
Ranked #1 of 140 Restaurants in Courtenay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$33
Cuisines: Seafood, Healthy, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, View, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Locals Restaurant in now located at the historic Old House along the river in the center of town. This 1937 Arts and Crafts era inspired homestead is the perfect location for the fine cuisine prepared by European trained chef, Ronald St. Pierre.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very, very good”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had a very nice dinner on patio at Locals on Saturday night. We enjoyed our amuse bouche of fresh oysters and the appetizers were terrific. We actually could have stopped there, given the generosity of the appetizer servings of the antipasto tray and the duck rolls. We chose oysters for our entree as well, one being charbroiled (wish I'd ordered that!) and the other in a curry sauce. Skipped desert. I appreciated that the wine list had lots of variety and managed to be very affordable. Not the best meal I've ever had, but it was very, very good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    638
    122
    48
    19
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
462 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Revisiting Locals”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Six family members celebrated my wife’s birthday at Locals. During Canadian visits since 1978, we’ve really enjoyed the ambience of this fine restaurant, originally titled The Old House. Despite ownership changes over the decades it has maintained its ambiance and excellence. Complimentary taste treats were a welcoming surprise. Our mains included my Halibut Lemon Quinoa, Stirling Silver Steak (10 oz), two Seafood Bouillabaises, Tannadice Farms Pulled Pork Tart, and Green Thai Curry Albacore*. Complimentary chocolate-dipped fresh cherries were an unexpected treat. Wines we enjoyed were a delightful Cab Sav, the 2010 Montes Alpha (perhaps just a little steep at C$60) and a 2012 Poplar Grove Chardonnay. Service was professional and attentive. Definitely a night to remember. * Be aware the albacore might be a little too rare for some... .

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ozcan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia S, Owner at Locals Restaurant at the Old House, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hello Ozcan,
We are SO pleased you enjoyed your celebration with us. We had great fun restoring this gracious old building to its former glory (well, at least the area we occupy). The remainder of the "grand dame" will be renovated this fall. The Old House is a popular landmark and has played a significant role in family celebrations over many years. We are thrilled with the setting, ambiance, food and service were are now able to provide in this lovely heritage building. Thank you for taking the time to post your review an I hope you enjoy the balance of your holiday.

Sincerely,
Tricia and Ronald St. Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5 Star on every level”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I have never been welcomed into a restaurant in such a warm and sincere way. Jodie (the hostess) truly set the tone for what turned out to be one of my best dining experiences to date.

The room itself is absolutely beautiful with huge wooden beams and exposed brick and rich wooden floors, feels super rustic and warm. We had a table by a window that looked out onto a grassy area...simply amazing.

Then we met our server Katie who was just wonderful and made the night really fun. She delivered exactly the right amount of attention and was very personable a genuine.

My girlfriend and I admittedly are pretty hard to please by most standards, we always seem to come away with something we feel justified in complaining about, but not this time. We had the mussels, a few orders of the raw Gem oysters, baked scallops and creme brulée 3 ways and everything, I mean everything was amazing. We would go back here in a heart beat and recommend to anyone looking for a nice evening out.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Really good food”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

This upperclass restaurant has amazing servers and the food is fantastic. We had dinner and brunch here and the 2 menus were full of sublime choices. The atmosphere is very cozy and the architecture is to die for.

Helpful?
1 Thank CampBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Fantastic food and Idilic setting”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Chef Ronald and Trish were terrific host to our friends and family during our weekend. The staff was attentive and gracious while chefs Ronald food was impeccable. Wine selection is truly lovely... Wish Vancouver was a little closer so I could make it my " local" restaurant. Thank you for the great times!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank nathaly v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Locals Restaurant at the Old House also viewed

Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 

Been to Locals Restaurant at the Old House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing