We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“easy place to gather, often with music.”
Review of The Zocalo Cafe and Gallery - CLOSED

The Zocalo Cafe and Gallery
Restaurant details
Courtenay, British Columbia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“easy place to gather, often with music.”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Coffee is only fair. The regular coffee is better than the espresso for some reason. Friendly place to meet friends and just hang out. Food is ok but reasonable.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tio d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    19
    12
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Family cozy restaurant”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

After our visit at Farmer's Market we stopped in for a coffee. Nice atmosphere for family and friends. Serves light lunches. Busy place. We had coffee and fresh lemon muffin.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank IslandPrairieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cool cafe”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I love the Zocalo - it has delicious food & drinks, good prices, and a nice atmosphere. The food is really some of the best value, particularly on the weekends. There are often cool events happening here, too. I only wish it were open later from Sun.-Wed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JennyOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We enjoyed some time here while we were hanging out downtown on our vacation. There was live music, and comfortable seating. It was light and bright with lots of windows. The service and coffe were good, but I would probably go back mostly for the atmosphere.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DeannaVann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Coffee House Jazz”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We joined friends for a visit to the Zocalo Cafe to enjoy coffee and jazz last Friday. The trio (female vocalist, guitar, & double bass) was very good. Hot apple cider a tad sweet but others thoroughly enjoyed their coffee and herbal tea. I'd highly recommend a stop here, especially on Friday evenings from fall till spring (which, as I understand, are jazz nights).

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank outboundticket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Zocalo Cafe and Gallery also viewed

 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing