We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Courtenay
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Really Nice Weekend”
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Spent 2 night at the Kingfisher. Check in staff were very nice and helpful. Room was a nicely renovated Orca ocean front room on the main floor. Nice heated bathroom floor, jetted tub was nice, separate bedroom with king bed was nice, view of the ocean is always excellent. Didn't get to us the Spa facilities as extremely busy. Pool, hot tub and steam rooms were nice. Restaurant was nice and not too overpriced for the food being served.

Room Tip: Get a room with an ocean view, closest to the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishboy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    326
    126
    52
    34
See reviews for
165
479
32
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

My husband and I come here once a year for a getaway. The food is excellent, the spa is VERY relaxing and the rooms in the building in front make you feel like you're right on the water. A walk on the beach - it doesn't get much better than this.

Room Tip: We like the rooms in the front with an unobstructed view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PC583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

I can't believe this place that was recommended to me by several people have someone on the phone with such a bad attitude, poor customer service and judgment. I tried to book a room which their website clearly indicates they have availability and just because I happen to have a promotional voucher I was told no rooms were available and if I wanted to stay I needed to pay more. No options were given and I was treated as if this voucher would make me a less valuable customer for the hotel. To me this voucher was a great opportunity to experience new places and clearly this place showed me that they do not value their customers. I don't understand why this resort offers these vouchers if they do not want to acknowledge the what they offered.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Edith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We bought a coupon through LivingSocial for $149 for 2 nights with dinner/spa coupons.
When we tried to book a room, we were told all the dates we tried were sold out for using the voucher. However, there are the same type of rooms available in the standard rate and we were told to upgrade by paying $75 per night.
We called several times and tried different dates but the answer was always the same.
We are wondering how many rooms are eligible for using the voucher at a time????
We also felt disguised by the reservation's clerk's pushy attitude.
First of all, if we were to spend $300, we wouldn't book this hotel. That's why we bought this coupon.
If the hotel cannot accommodate the customers in the certain period, they should extend the expiry date so all the customers with the voucher can enjoy the stay which is supposed to be the purpose instead of up-sell.
Now we don't even want to go there because the experience before booking has already made us exhausted and very unhappy.
I don't think they know what the hospitality business is.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha R, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Thank you for your feedback Max M. We do apologize that our Ocean View Rooms were sold out on the dates you were hoping to stay with us and that one of our reservation agents were not able to assist you. Your Living Social voucher does not expire and we would very much like to have you join us to be able to take advantage of this great deal! If you could contact our Guest Services Manager, Sarah Chase, directly at the Resort, she will be happy to assist you personally to find a date that will work for you. Please call us toll-free at 1-800-663-7929 and ask to speak with Sarah Chase. She is looking forward to receiving your call.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Kingfisher Resort soon!

All the best,
Natasha Richardson,
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Great place for a quiet getaway and not on the shopping centre trail. There is everything you need for a quick getaway

. The staff are very helpful and the food is good. We were there for a wedding a few years ago and everything was done well and there was plenty of on site conveniences for the guests between the festivities. When I went with my friend we just went for lunch and a good walk on the beach. It is a great spot for a quiet walk. The food is very good and they have a good selection. The only difficulty I would think of is you either have to take the ferry and drive there or fly and rent a car as its off the beaten path. But once you are there you really don't have to go anywhere else

Room Tip: We had a beautiful room down by the water when we were there for Patties wedding. It had a separate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Almost every thing was great. Staff was friendly and really tried to make everything perfect. My only complaint was that my group which was six women aged around 50 years went for a hot tub with a few with wine in plastic glasses. We were stopped at the door and it was all confiscated, even the girls with just water. All of a sudden I felt like a scorned child. We also had a noise complaint and were told to "keep it down" at 9: 20 PM in the hot tub! Disappointing for a place that's trying to be classy.

Room Tip: Book ahead to get a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha R, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback Lisa S. I am very sorry to hear that your group were made to feel like scored children when you came to enjoy our hot tub and outdoor pool. Our liquor license prohibits alcohol consumption in the spa and out door pool facilities, which is why you were not allowed to proceed with your beverages, however, I will follow up with the team in the spa to make sure we communicate our policies in a more appropriate manner. As well, the same courtesy should have been applied when your group was asked to consider other guests enjoying the facilities and adjust the noise volume. It can be challenging to balance every guests needs and our Kingfisher team is trained to address each guest concern both courteously and professionally, so please accept my apologies that your group did not have this experience.

We hope you and your group will join us again in the future and I feel confident we will exceed your expectations with our guest service. Thank you again for your feedback.

All the best,
Natasha Richardson
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay,B.C.
Level Contributor
115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We rode our bikes here for a quiet getaway. The weather was beautiful and we lounged around the pool. We got a great deal from Travel Zoo and felt we got good value for our money. We also had a nice meal in the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtripbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
4.8 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
778 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
56.6 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
102.8 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
56.1 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
33.1 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa

Property: Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Address: 4330 Island Hwy S, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 9R9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Courtenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort & Spa. Warm hospitality. Full service spa including the Pacific Mist Hydropath(R). Exceptional service. Be yourself. Be pampered. We'll take care of the rest... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingfisher Oceanside Hotel Courtenay
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort And Spa Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing