We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An easy island get-away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Courtenay
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An easy island get-away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Having been here many times ...both with girlfriends and family...I have found my stay at the Kingfisher to be overall a pleasant experience. There have been times where it has been less than satisfactory (i.e. dumpster container blocking our ocean view room, hydropath in disrepair) but other parts tend to make up for it. The restaurant is ALWAYS amazing and the highlight of any stay!

Room Tip: Not all rooms are the same and it is worth it to pay the extra to get one of the ocean-view rooms ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    306
    121
    51
    33
See reviews for
148
454
28
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

We love the laid back west coast vibe of this spa ~ decorated with drift wood, beach stones and muted natural colors. Not pretentious , just relaxed and friendly !
Staff are very helpful and professional.
The steam cave with eucalyptus is so cleansing.... ,then floating in the outdoor pool watching the ocean and listening to the eagles calling each other as they soar overhead ....heaven !

LOVE the hydropath ~
We try to do it every Christmas week / during the holiday season ~ all the girls spend the day together , chatting , relaxing , steaming , swimming ,lunching, ~ moms,daughters,sisters .
The gift of time together is priceless.

Had an RMT massage ......always a good experience!
Need to ask for some scented oils and music next time ...i like ALL my senses engaged /helps me relax better.
Left clean , relaxed , and pampered .
Will be back soon !
Go & enjoy !

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serene-goddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

We have stayed at the Kingfisher twice in the past month and both times we were very impressed with the place. From other friends we had always heard positive things about the Kingfisher. Right from the lovely entryway to the friendliness of the staff, in particular Kyla. Our room was cozy with a great ocean and beach view. The bonus was hearing and seeing the eagles soaring overhead one morning. Our server for breakfast one morning was Deborah and really made our meal time special. The Spa experience from a massage to reflexology was out of this world. All the staff there are just as welcoming and professional. Each staff member we spoke or interacted with was always very friendly and professional. It is obvious they are all well trained indeed.

Room Tip: Book the second floor in either of the main sections as the views are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEASPREE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha R, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Thank you so much for your review SeaSpree! We are absolutely thrilled you had such a great experience with us recently. We are very proud of our staff, especially Kyla, who recently received our Guest Service of the Year Award at the resort and has been nominated for the Comox Valley Guest Service Award. I will be sure to pass your comments on to both Kyla and Deborah as they will be pleased to read your compliments. We have recently become a certified WorldHost property, which is a result of all 150 staff employed at the Kingfisher undergoing extensive guest service training specially geared towards the hospitality industry. Your comments, along with many others on TripAdvisor, has given us a great sense of accomplishment. Our guest service, combined with our stunning location and cozy rooms is exactly why our guests love the Kingfisher.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon!

All the best,
Natasha Richardson
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

Love staying at the Kingfisher. The views are are something out of a travel guide. The rooms are nice, have a rustic feel. Could use a bit of updating, but comfy, safe and have all the necessary amenities.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

As another reviewer explained, we used the "Living Social" coupon and are glad that we did. The staff at the hotel were all great, very helpful and courteous. We had a room in the lodge part of the hotel, and it was clean and tidy but hadn't been updated in over a decade. The bed was comfortable but the other amenities were really old. The door still used a traditional key as opposed to the "suites" which have the newer key card system. There is an old TV, old bathtub, old carpet. Our shower water pressure was severely lacking.

We used the spa and I had an amazing pedicure; the view simply can't be beat. The hottub was nice as was the "cave" steam room. We had dinner at the restaurant the first night and it was alright; we had a better dinner at the local pub the next night and it wasn't quite as expensive.

Overall it was a nice weekend, but I wouldn't have paid more than what we did to stay here.

Room Tip: If you want the true experience of this hotel, book the suites as opposed to lodge rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annemarie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha R, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Thank you for your review Annemarie U! We are thrilled to hear that you had such an amazing experience in our Spa during your visit with us and that our staff provided quality guest service. The rooms in our Resort, also known as our Oceanview Rooms, are in need up updating and we appreciate your feedback. Although they are clean, they are currently undergoing a refresh, which includes new carpeting, paint and flat-screen televisions. We will also look into addressing the water pressure concern you have mentioned. We look forward to posting images of our refreshed Oceanview Rooms on our website when they are complete and hope you will choose to join us again, perhaps on a future Living Social special or one of our other amazing package rates.

Thank you again for your feedback.

All the best,
Natasha Richardson,
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013 via mobile

We got a living social deal, and thank goodness we did. If he had paid regular prices for the room we had, I would've felt ripped off. The Ocean view room was a typical motel room that needed some serious upgrading.... A far cry from the rooms posted on the website... Very basic and outdated. The staff was nice, and the spa OK (a bit noisy and cramped), the food decent for the price. Amenities in the spa were kept at the front desk, and things were bolted down...made you feel like you were in a dodgy place. My husband was really taken aback that we couldn't even rent a movie off the TV (you have to go to the front desk and get a DVD). Overall, way overpriced for the accommodations. It would serve them a lot of good to put some money into the rooms. I would not go back.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Beanja9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha R, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Thank you for your review Beanja9. I am glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of the amazing Living Social deal we offered but we are very disappointed to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. There is a difference between our Ocean View Rooms and our luxury Beach Front Suites and although we offer an upgrade fee to our Living Social guests we understand that is not something that can always be taken advantage of. We are in the process of updating our Ocean View Rooms at this time and are looking forward to having a consistent standard in all the rooms at the resort. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our staff service and the Breakwater restaurant.

Thank you again for your feedback. We hope you will be able to visit us again and look forward to posting new images of our updated Ocean View Rooms on our website when they are complete.

All the best,
Natasha Richardson
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

We recently spent 4days at the Kingfisher and it included a New Year's Eve dinner buffet style. Can you imagine walking into a large room completely filled with food? There must have been at least 150 dishes. It was absolutely perfect!
The rest of the meals were also a-one. There is a hot pool, caves and hot tubs. The staff, right down to the Housekeeping staff treat one like family. The staff are genuine and down to earth in making you feel like you are the only guest.
Thank you for such a memorable visit. Special thanks to our superb waitress, Roxy.

Room Tip: None. They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aralee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha R, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Happy New Year Aralee B and thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us. We are very proud of our New Years Event and our Food and Beverage team takes great pride in offering an amazing buffet. I have passed your comments on to our team as well as Roxy, as she will take great pleasure in your compliments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kingfisher soon!

All the best,
Natasha Richardson
Resort Mananger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
4.8 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
56.6 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.0 mi away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
56.1 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
98.3 mi away
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Central Saanich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa

Property: Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Address: 4330 Island Hwy S, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 9R9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Courtenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort & Spa. Warm hospitality. Full service spa including the Pacific Mist Hydropath(R). Exceptional service. Be yourself. Be pampered. We'll take care of the rest... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingfisher Oceanside Hotel Courtenay
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort And Spa Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing