We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,366)
Filter reviews
1,366 results
Traveller rating
708
405
153
61
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
708
405
153
61
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshydro pathsteam roomocean viewromance suiteorca suitehydropath experiencesteam caveget awayoceanfront roommurphy bedhot tubcalamarimid weekrelaxing experiencebeautiful groundsrecommend this resortcouples massage
Filter
Updating list...
1,133 - 1,138 of 1,366 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We stayed at Kingfisher a few years ago as a romantic relaxing holiday just my husband and I. WE had a suite right on the water and loved it. The room was comfortable (and I love love loved the heated floors in the bathroom), the view amazing and amenities adequate. We enjoyed the spa, we used the hydropath and it was fun and relaxing. The meal we had in the restaurant was great and we enjoyed the view of the water. Great service, good Sunday buffet. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jbelle380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

The view from the road can not be taken into consideration when deciding to stay at the King Fisher, as you walk through the lobby to the courtyard the serenity and breathtaking views unfold. After a morning of enjoying Mt Washington Alpine Resort we settled in for an afternoon at the Kingfisher. Our stay was in the Eagle Oceanfront Suite, the clean spacious room has 180 degree ocean views, it was 5 star in every way. The Hydropath Spa treatment is a must do, it leaves you in such a relaxed and renewed state, I simply cannot wait to go back. The service just gets better as you interact with more staff, they are all very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the resort and the surrounding area. Dinner at the Breakwater was just the icing on the cake, excellent menu, service and value (try the albacore tuna if it is still on the menu 5 stars!).

We will be coming back soon and I hope this review helps you with your decision this is the only place we will be staying in the Comox Valley.

Room Tip: Make sure to book yourself an oceanfront room, the view is absolutely breathtaking to wake up to.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parkadiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha R, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Reading your review Parkadiers, was a highlight in my day. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and even more thrilled to read about your interactions with our wonderful staff. Our team at the Kingfisher, along with our stunning location, is truly what sets us apart.

We cannot wait to welcome you back!

All the best,
Natasha Richardson,
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We were fortunate to receive a gift certificate for the Kingfisher for our wedding, and planned a weekend getaway just after Valentine's Day. From the moment we arrived and checked in, to the moment we left (after an amazing Sunday brunch) we felt cared for, comfortable, and pampered. The restaurant with its bay views is bar none (the food was incredible!) and the spa was beautiful. The staff were all really friendly, happy, and excited to be working there. It is located in a beautiful area of the world and the rooms reflected the West Coast theme with their casual but elegant decor. The beds were very comfortable! All in all, the trip was lovely and we plan to go back to experience the signature "Hydropath" spa service which was all booked the weekend we went.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cb881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We've been going to the Kingfisher for several years. It's a great place for a spa; a place you can't help but relax. The problem is it is getting old, and the care a bit wanting.
The room are the same, even after the eight years we're been going to the Kingfisher. It's a bit like an old Holiday Inn, anymore. Sad. The service is okay, bug corners seem to get cut in cleaning, maid service, property keeping, and amenities.
The spa still does well, as great staff for the most part, but the Hydropath has seen better days and far better customer service. My wife and I left virtually alone the last time through. Awful feeling having to wait for the help..
I still have a warm place in my heart for the Kingfisher, but it feels a bit sad. It's a bit like going to see an old friend who has come on poor times. You want it to be so much as it was, but it just can't be.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank navswo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha R, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Thank you so much for your comments navswo. We are very appreciative of our long-term returning guests like yourselves and are disappointed to hear you were let down by your recent visit with us. We are in the process of doing updates to the property, which address many of the concerns you mentioned in your review, including updating our Ocean View Rooms, our Spa and Restaurant. The lack of service you received during your Hydropath appointment is the most discouraging comment in your review as we have been working very hard with our team to ensure our guest service goes well beyond our guests expectations.

I truly hope you will keep the Kingfisher in your heart and join us again soon. We look forward to sharing our upgrades and guest service with you. Thank you again for your feedback.

All the best,

Natasha Richardson,
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We booked a Romance Suite through a BC Ferries Vacation package, and everything about our trip was wonderful. Yes, I agree with other reviewers that the building itself needs some updating, but the service was definitely 5-star and the spa was amazing! I would also highly recommend the restaurant. Again, the decor could use updating, but the food was delicious! We will definitely be going back!!

Room Tip: Definitely choose an oceanside suite! The view is amazing and the amenities wonderful... we had a soaker tub and a double shower in our Romance Suite.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelmo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews