We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Courtenay
Certificate of Excellence
Whitecourt, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Relaxing weekend getaway”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The shoreline rooms are wonderful, with views that change constantly. From the spa service, to the restaurant food you are completely pampered in the most serene beautiful settings. They truly think of everything to make your stay as relaxing as possible .

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowgirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear snowgirl55,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are thrilled you felt relaxed and enjoyed our Kingfisher hospitality! We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Kindest regards,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    333
    128
    52
    34
See reviews for
168
493
34
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Came to the resort for a relaxing start to a fun weekend with family. The rooms were cute and had all the amenities with a spectacular ocean view. Walked along the beach with a morning coffee - lovely. We had heard so much about the hydropath that my husband and I booked an appointment. It was truly an incredible experience and very private! They stagger the guests so that you really do not see anyone before or after you and so you feel like you are in your own private spa. Would certainly recommend it to anyone. We had lunch the next day in the restaurant. The view is spectacular and the food was amazing. Best seafood chowder I have ever had and the calamari was delicious. We even were allowed a bit later checkout so that we could watch all of the semi-final hockey game between Canada and USA. Staff at every encounter point are friendly and very accomodating. I would highly recommend this resort and can't wait for an opportunity to visit again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Kathy K,

What a weekend you had here! We truly enjoyed having your family here and all of our staff loved your Canadian spirit during the big hockey game!! We agree the food at the restaurant is amazing and our signature Pacific Mist Hydropath is incredible. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing and we look forward to welcoming you back again and again!

Best regards,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My wife and I came here to get away from it all for a week. It's our first trip outside of our province since we got married.

The hotel was kind enough to upgrade our room because of a mixup at our travel agent that caused them to not get the room we were promised.

The rooms are comfortable and very clean, and the room we had was overlooking the bay and the island across the strait. Beautiful sunrises and a nice beach were in front of us every morning, and in the evening we opened our balcony door to listen to the water lap up upon the shore, while we enjoyed the fireplace.

Overall, I would say that this is definitely a memorable and relaxing place to stay.

There are additional amenities here mentioned by other travellers such as a spa, hot pool, and the renowned Hydro Path where you can enjoy multiple water sensations along an indoor path.

Very highly recommended. We came in the off season, and the rates were quite reasonable.

Room Tip: Get a King room next to the beach. You won't be be obstructed by the rooftop of surrounding bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laserheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Laserheart,

Wonderful news that you enjoyed your recent stay with us!!! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are thrilled that you felt relaxed and were able to enjoy each other and the amazing views we offer. We look forward to welcoming you back again and don't wait so long to get out to beautiful Vancouver Island! We are the heart of British Columbia!

Warmest Seaside regards,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had a great time at this resort! The view of the ocean is so relaxing- we would bring our morning coffee to the beachfront- is such a great way to wake up! We adored the steam cave- an absolute must for all who come here. The yoga was a little too gentle/ beginner oriented for my tastes, and our dvd player had some problems so we got cheated out of one movie night, but otherwise, it was really nice. The hydropath experience was the highlight of this trip for us. So cool! The only downfall was the restaurant- we aet breakfast there and were quite disappointed with it- figured if they can't get breakfast right, we better not waste our money for lunch or supper. We had a great time there, was a definate memory maker.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaErin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear VictoriaErin,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Love the morning coffee on the beach, what a way to start your day here! Yes the Pacific Mist Hydropath is an amazing experience! We are sorry to hear that you had some issues with your DVD player, had we known we could have had that sorted immediately. As for the disappointment with your breakfast we are truly sorry that you did not have the best experience, please feel free to contact myself or our Restaurant Manager the next time you book as we would love to turn that experience around and have a second chance to WOW you!

We look forward to welcoming you back and make some more great memories!!

Warmest Regards,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Spent the weekend here for a stagette and had an amazing time!!! Steam cave was great!! The staff and the rooms were excellent. Would not hesitate to visit again!!! They accomadated me in a last minute booking in the spa. Amazing experience.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenkehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Jenkehl,

Thank you for review of your last stay with us. We enjoyed your "amazing" group here at the resort and we are thrilled you had a great stay!!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest Regards,
The Kingfisher Leadership Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I went in a group of 17 and I can't even begin to say how amazing the service was....they defined accommodating. The resort is stunning, the spa immaculate, and the restaurant serves the best food I've had. 17 women for 3 days in complete bliss.
The hydropath is a MUST!
Highly recommended resort for anyone, can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Oceanfront was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Jen B,

Thank you for your "Amazing" review!! We all really enjoyed having you here and we look forward to your next visit!!

Warmest Seaside Regards,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comox, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Our adult children gave us a gift certificate as a Christmas Gift and what a gift it was! So relaxing. The day we arrived was gloriously sunny and the beach and ocean view were incredible. The Hydropath is always wonderful and Mandy was awesome making sure we had everything we needed without intruding on our privacy. Both the food and service at dinner were fabulous. All the staff are so friendly and helpful! A true bonus was waking to a Winter Wonderland and having time to spend in the outdoor pool and hottub! Such a treat! We live about a 15 minute drive from The Kingfisher but felt like we were a million miles away! :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Lynne J,

Thank you so much for your "wonderful" review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your getaway and experienced our Pacific Mist Hydropath, we agree Mandie is awesome. We strive to exceed every guest expectation and to make every guests stay with us memorable and it sounds like we did that!! Thank you for taking the time to review our property and we look forward to welcoming you back again and again!

Warmest Regards,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
4.8 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
815 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
102.8 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.1 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
1,053 reviews
34.6 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
56.1 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa

Property: Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Address: 4330 Island Hwy S, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 9R9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Courtenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort & Spa. Warm hospitality. Full service spa including the Pacific Mist Hydropath(R). Exceptional service. Be yourself. Be pampered. We'll take care of the rest... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingfisher Oceanside Hotel Courtenay
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort And Spa Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing