We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view of herring boats and lots of birds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Courtenay
Sooke, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great view of herring boats and lots of birds”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Lovely spot, very unique decor for wooden items. Great spa and lovely view.
Floors were a bit cold and some of the electrical outlets were not working.
The staff were very friendly and helpful
The spa was wonderful and really enjoyed the time there.
The Herring boats were in and lots of birds were around.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gayesbouquets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    317
    125
    52
    34
See reviews for
157
468
30
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

From the moment we arrived, our stay at the Kingfisher was amazing! The room was clean, bright and well-appointed. Beds were very comfortable. Staff were happy and helpful in every way. The setting is beautiful. The Hydropath at the Spa is incredible, especially after a long day skiing! What a great few days away from home in a place that makes you feel like you are a thousand miles away. Its no wonder many people we met keep going back there year after year.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kecia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you for you lovely review Kecia L. We are so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we agree after a day of skiing our signature Pacific Mist Hydropath is the perfect way to end your day. We look forward to welcoming you back for many more!

Warmest regards,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My husband and I decided to stay at this resort based on a friends outstanding review when she stayed about 5 years ago. Our expectations were high going in; but, were quickly destroyed upon arrival. To keep it short the problems included the following 1) Rooms - horrible, tired, unclean we didn't even have a proper lock on the door 2) Spa - mediocre at best, the room the treatments took place in were disgusting, considering the fact the resort is on the ocean I couldn't even see the water through the window that was completely fogged up the entire visit. The pedicure I received left my toes bloody, despite me telling the esthetician she was hurting me. 3) The restaurant, rated highly on reviews fell short in that the food was lack lustre, large portions were the only positive. On the whole I would never stay at this resort again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitecourt, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The shoreline rooms are wonderful, with views that change constantly. From the spa service, to the restaurant food you are completely pampered in the most serene beautiful settings. They truly think of everything to make your stay as relaxing as possible .

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowgirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear snowgirl55,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are thrilled you felt relaxed and enjoyed our Kingfisher hospitality! We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Kindest regards,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Came to the resort for a relaxing start to a fun weekend with family. The rooms were cute and had all the amenities with a spectacular ocean view. Walked along the beach with a morning coffee - lovely. We had heard so much about the hydropath that my husband and I booked an appointment. It was truly an incredible experience and very private! They stagger the guests so that you really do not see anyone before or after you and so you feel like you are in your own private spa. Would certainly recommend it to anyone. We had lunch the next day in the restaurant. The view is spectacular and the food was amazing. Best seafood chowder I have ever had and the calamari was delicious. We even were allowed a bit later checkout so that we could watch all of the semi-final hockey game between Canada and USA. Staff at every encounter point are friendly and very accomodating. I would highly recommend this resort and can't wait for an opportunity to visit again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Kathy K,

What a weekend you had here! We truly enjoyed having your family here and all of our staff loved your Canadian spirit during the big hockey game!! We agree the food at the restaurant is amazing and our signature Pacific Mist Hydropath is incredible. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing and we look forward to welcoming you back again and again!

Best regards,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My wife and I came here to get away from it all for a week. It's our first trip outside of our province since we got married.

The hotel was kind enough to upgrade our room because of a mixup at our travel agent that caused them to not get the room we were promised.

The rooms are comfortable and very clean, and the room we had was overlooking the bay and the island across the strait. Beautiful sunrises and a nice beach were in front of us every morning, and in the evening we opened our balcony door to listen to the water lap up upon the shore, while we enjoyed the fireplace.

Overall, I would say that this is definitely a memorable and relaxing place to stay.

There are additional amenities here mentioned by other travellers such as a spa, hot pool, and the renowned Hydro Path where you can enjoy multiple water sensations along an indoor path.

Very highly recommended. We came in the off season, and the rates were quite reasonable.

Room Tip: Get a King room next to the beach. You won't be be obstructed by the rooftop of surrounding bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laserheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Laserheart,

Wonderful news that you enjoyed your recent stay with us!!! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are thrilled that you felt relaxed and were able to enjoy each other and the amazing views we offer. We look forward to welcoming you back again and don't wait so long to get out to beautiful Vancouver Island! We are the heart of British Columbia!

Warmest Seaside regards,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had a great time at this resort! The view of the ocean is so relaxing- we would bring our morning coffee to the beachfront- is such a great way to wake up! We adored the steam cave- an absolute must for all who come here. The yoga was a little too gentle/ beginner oriented for my tastes, and our dvd player had some problems so we got cheated out of one movie night, but otherwise, it was really nice. The hydropath experience was the highlight of this trip for us. So cool! The only downfall was the restaurant- we aet breakfast there and were quite disappointed with it- figured if they can't get breakfast right, we better not waste our money for lunch or supper. We had a great time there, was a definate memory maker.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaErin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear VictoriaErin,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Love the morning coffee on the beach, what a way to start your day here! Yes the Pacific Mist Hydropath is an amazing experience! We are sorry to hear that you had some issues with your DVD player, had we known we could have had that sorted immediately. As for the disappointment with your breakfast we are truly sorry that you did not have the best experience, please feel free to contact myself or our Restaurant Manager the next time you book as we would love to turn that experience around and have a second chance to WOW you!

We look forward to welcoming you back and make some more great memories!!

Warmest Regards,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
4.8 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
56.6 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.0 mi away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,950 reviews
56.1 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
98.3 mi away
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Central Saanich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa

Property: Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Address: 4330 Island Hwy S, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 9R9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Courtenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort & Spa. Warm hospitality. Full service spa including the Pacific Mist Hydropath(R). Exceptional service. Be yourself. Be pampered. We'll take care of the rest... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingfisher Oceanside Hotel Courtenay
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort And Spa Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing