We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A+ Hydropath, Everything else just ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Courtenay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed there a couple weeks ago in a beachfront suite. Here's what I'll say:
The view is great. The room was just ok, the food was just ok, and everything was generally underwhelming, especially for the price. Had I paid a lot less, I would have been thrilled, but for what our stay cost us, I don't think it's great value. For the money you'll spend, there are better places to sgtay.

The Hydropath is AMAZING. It's worth the trip.
Except for this...
We paid well over $800 for our weekend, and 50 each to go into the Hydropath. As we were entering, some people showed up and were told they were having a 2 for 1 special that day. They received the 2 for 1 special. We asked for the special, and were told that we could not have it.
.... So, you're telling me that people who show up at the last second get a 2 for 1 deal, but the people who booked in advance and paid nearly a grand to stay at your hotel on a weekend away have to pay full price? Heck no.

We complained on the way out and were told it's "kind of like a seat sale for airlines".
Actually it's not, and we won't be back. Not impressed.

Room Tip: Get a beachfront. The rest of it looks like a Motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Rob P,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your last visit was. I would like to talk to you personally about your experience. If you could contact me either by phone or email, our toll free number 1-800-663-7929 or by email kyla@kingfisherspa.com. I am concerned by all of this and would like the opportunity to rectify your displeasure.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Kindest Regards,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

822 - 828 of 1,234 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We took advantage of a low,off season rate. And couldn't have been happier with this choice. We love nature and spent a lot of time on the beach among the many niches with chairs to enjoy the Salish Sea view! It was so exciting to discover that it was a big Bald Eagle habitat because of the mud beds after high tide, that provided abundant sea treats for tens of bald eagles and their babies who had set up their homes on the tops of the massive firs on this coastline. We also experienced a pod of porpoises on our last morning. All rooms have an oceanview and ours was one of the older suites that had yet to be updated, as the resort was updating the suites. We found ours just fine! Wonderful beds were warm and just right firmness with great pillows! A mini kitchenette with a mini-fridge, stovetop,microwave, coffee maker and toaster was something we took advantage of. We shopped in nearby Courtney for groceries. We ate at the restaurant for dinner once, had the seared tuna and Caesar salad, which was excellent, but pricey. Overall a fabulous experience and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samlaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Samlaz,

What a great review of your recent stay with us! Thank you, thank you for taking the time to share your experience of our Resort. The eagles are such a treat and we all enjoy watching them teach their young ones to fish. How lucky were you to see a pod of porpoises! I still have not seen that in a few years. Thank you for your feedback of your room, we are currently upgrading a few things around our property so it is nice to hear about your stay and that you were comfortable. We are pleased to know that you had a fabulous time and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest Seaside Regards,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have stayed at Kingfisher more than once and have loved it every time. The spa is beautiful and the hydra path experience is A1. The food is absolutely delicious, from the eggs Benedict in the morning to the lamb with chimichurri sauce for dinner. The staff is very pleasant and helpful and the Orca suites (featuring a fireplace, sitting area, kitchenette and walk-out just steps from the ocean) are absolutely superb. Can't wait to go back again!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Rachel S,

Thank you for your review of your last stay with us! We are delighted that you had an amazing time. I agree the Eggs Benedict is the best and my personal favourite breakfast. The Orca suites are gorgeous and with the ocean just steps away it truly is a beachfront suite. We have shared your review with our team and we thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing, we really appreciate the feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Resort!

Kindest Regards,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had the most wonderful time at the Kingfisher. Their spa is incredible. The Hydotherapy Tx was unique and relaxing. I would do it again in a heartbeat. The room was comfortable with an ocean view. The resteraunt was marvelous. I can't say enough about the place. We only left the property once while we were there. Can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erika D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Erika D,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay with us. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and had a wonderful time, from your incredible Spa experience to a marvelous dinner as well!! Thank you for your kind review as we have shared it with our team and they can't wait until your next visit. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review of your visit with us!

Warmest Seaside Regards,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

A friend & I stayed at the Kingfisher in January, 2012 in an oceanview room & really enjoyed it. Fast forward two years, we returned, in spring this time & brought two friends & stayed in an upper Denman suite. Although fabulous in the winter, coming in the spring was so good for the soul, seeing (& smelling) all the flowers & trees in bloom & being able to sleep with the balcony door open & hear the seals barking in the early morning. (Especially coming from Calgary where nothing is blooming yet!).

Shuttle - We flew in to Comox & the shuttle was waiting for us. We had requested a stop at the liquor store & they noted that on our file & Norm, the driver, was aware of the request & took us to a store close to the resort. What an enjoyable drive, both when we arrived & departed! Norm shared history of the area & drove the scenic route. So nice having the shuttle & not having to worry about a cab or renting a car.

Accommodation - we stayed in the upper Denman suite, it had 2 beds, a Murphy bed & pull out couch, so we could each have our own beds. There were two bathrooms (nice with 4 females!). There were two connecting balconies, two fireplaces (didn't use them), two tv's (never turned on!) & a kitchenette. Although there was nothing wrong with the oceanview room we stayed in last time, it truly is worth the extra $$ to stay in a room right on the ocean's edge.

Breakwater Restaurant - every meal we had there was fabulous. There is lots of seafood on the menu, which I took full advantage of. Would highly recommend the seafood pasta, clam chowder & the crab Bennie (breakfast). Had an awesome server, Shelby, at lunch & dinner...hopefully we didn't drive her crazy! We were able to have a couple meals outside...what a treat!

Spa treatments - oh....where to begin? All four of us were so happy with everything we picked. Everyone working in the spa is so friendly & helpful. I had the Pacific Mermaid with Sherry....I had Sherry last time for this & requested her again....that was my favorite treatment. I also had a hot stone massage with Kate & a Grand Pacific pedicure with Chelsey...both of these were fantastic as well. The Hydropath was included in our package & we did that as well. We all left feeling very pampered & soft!!

Check in/check out - front desk staff are very friendly & efficient.

This has nothing to do with the resort, but we had an interesting thing happen while we were there. We were sitting outside having lunch on our first day & a man approached us & asked if we could be witnesses for him & his bride's wedding as it was just the two of them & the JP. We were honored to oblige & witnessed the wedding & then signed the registry for them (after giving them both big hugs!). We will be in their wedding photos...no makeup & yoga pants, just after a massage...attractive!!! For the rest of the weekend we referred to them as "our newlyweds"! :). If they are reading this review I wish them all the best in their new life together!

I would highly recommend Kingfisher & we're already talking about next time!

Room Tip: Would recommend one of the rooms right on the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flamesfan1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Flamesfan1959,

Wow what an amazing review! Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your experience during your last stay with us! We LOVE Norm, he is an amazing ambassador for our Resort and a great way to start your stay! We are thrilled you enjoyed every aspect of your visit, from the stunning Denman suite to the Restaurant and of course the Spa. Then to top it off with being asked to stand in for a surprise wedding, what a memory making experience!! We have shared your review with our team and we all remembered that impromptu wedding and the look on your faces. We would love a copy of that photo to send to you!! Thank you again for your review and we all look forward to welcoming you back here, hopefully Calgary is getting some summer weather. Enjoy your summer and remember we are here anytime you want to escape to Beautiful Vancouver Island!

Warmest Seaside Regards,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Have been to the Kingfisher a number of times and gets better every time - the staff are amazing and always friendly. The scenery is beautiful no matter what the weather and never fails to make myself and my family feel relaxed and like we are seeing the best of British Columbia. The Spa is top notch...actually better than many I have gone to in Downtown Vancouver! The restaurant is out of this world, the only problem is that the food is so good we always eat too much, not a bad problem to have!! The upgrades they have done are fantastic and glad to see they are keeping the character and charm alive! Highly recommend anyone to go and enjoy!

Room Tip: Oceanside rooms are nice for the view...but any of the rooms are great and always quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Executive_Assistant0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Executive_Assistant0,

We are overjoyed that you had an amazing experience during your last visit to our Resort!! We are pleased that you had an amazing time and that you took the time to review us. We agree that we have a Resort full of charm and character and that we try to exceed all of our guests expectations with every visit. Thank you again for such a lovely review which was shared with our team and brought smiles from every employee. We look forward to your next visit and to wowing you again with our friendly staff in every department!!

Warmest Seaside Regards,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I have stayed here before and returned because of the people. What they are doing to the resort and rooms was a very pleasant surprise. Our new room was beautiful and very comfortable, attention to detail second to none.The 50 inch TV and new fireplace didn't hurt either. The people still are the friendliest you will encounter and the food is to die for. It is so relaxing coming off two days here that you forget about the every day routines you left behind. Thank you Kingfisher and thanks for keeping all the charm while making the rooms all cozy and new! We will definitely be coming back again!

Room Tip: The upper new rooms offer amazing value considering what you get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeattleTravel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
4.8 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
961 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
111.5 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.1 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
1,242 reviews
34.6 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
37.0 mi away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
2,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa

Address: 4330 Island Hwy S, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 9R9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Courtenay
Price Range: £91 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort & Spa. Warm hospitality. Full service spa including the Pacific Mist Hydropath(R). Exceptional service. Be yourself. Be pampered. We'll take care of the rest... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingfisher Oceanside Hotel Courtenay
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort And Spa Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing