We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying Hard But Dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Courtenay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Very disappointed in the package we bought via an Online Auction through the Victoria Times Colonist. Travel Zoo offers a better opportunity at far less. I called to voice my concern but Crystal never returned our call. The room adjacent and behind the entrance was in a good location, second floor, but the hotel is showing need of repairs, no screens on balcony door, balconies all joined together which is inviting to strangers. Parking jammed in to wall. Waterfront units are time share or ownership units. Spa is beautiful and the restaurant does serve expensive but good meals. Breakfast for two over $30 while dinner with two glasses of wine is about $150 so beware. The beach is rock covered but from the restaurant you can see over a sand and log covered roof so it feels like an ocean front.
We had heard so much about the resort but we think it is past it's best date and needs room renovations and new stairs.
Perhaps we missed something in the experience as the staff all seemed very accommodating.

Room Tip: Be sure to see your room before accepting it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gpstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear gpstevens,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us. I would like to speak to you personally about this and invite you to either email me kyla@kingfisherspa.com or toll free 1 800 663 7929.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Warmest Seaside Regards,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

807 - 813 of 1,222 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

My girlfriend and I have been going to kingfisher once a year, we just returned from our 13th visit.
We stay in an orca suit on the water front, the view has always been amazing with eagles, dolphins and this year we even had a dear by our patio.It has never disappointed us, the spa is amazing the staff friendly and service providers are very professional. The restaurant is quite good however I would like to see a bit more variety as with staying for 4 nights you don't always want a gourmet meal.
kyla the Manager I believe is absolutely wonderful, she is friendly and goes over and beyond her title I am sure, she will try and accommodate any request. Everyone should try this place just once and you wont be disappointed. It can be pricey you just have to look for a special.

Room Tip: orca suites on the beachfront are the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mams82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Greetings from the Island!

Thank you mams82 for your amazing review of your 13th visit with us!! We are delighted you had another wonderful retreat this year. I have shared your review with our Chef and we hope we can WOW you again next year. Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how we are doing and we all look forward to next year! Crab cakes and your favourite beach chairs await you:)

Warmest Seaside Regards,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here due to a great discount we got through on online booking website. We had no real interest in the Spa side of things so I can only really speak to the room itself.

We stayed in the rooms closest to the entrance, I'm not sure how the resort refers to them. The room was very clean and we were told that it was recently renovated. There was wifi available in the room and it appeared each room had it's out router which may be good to know for the traveller who demands a good signal. We had a decent view even from our room and the setting was peacefull. The main drawback to the room was the lack of screens on windows and/or the sliding door. There did not appear to be nay air conditioning so in order to cool down you had to risk the bugs. There were some minor annoyances such as no plugs near the bedside table; however, nothing major.

The staff was nice and super friendly. Overall it is a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask if your room has screens on the windows or doors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Artchur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Artchur,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. I have shared your review with our team and we are looking at implementing some of your suggestions so thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We are thrilled that you thought all of our staff were super friendly and overall you had an enjoyable stay with us. We hope that you will come back and enjoy another stay at our Resort.

Warmest Seaside Regards,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed there a couple weeks ago in a beachfront suite. Here's what I'll say:
The view is great. The room was just ok, the food was just ok, and everything was generally underwhelming, especially for the price. Had I paid a lot less, I would have been thrilled, but for what our stay cost us, I don't think it's great value. For the money you'll spend, there are better places to sgtay.

The Hydropath is AMAZING. It's worth the trip.
Except for this...
We paid well over $800 for our weekend, and 50 each to go into the Hydropath. As we were entering, some people showed up and were told they were having a 2 for 1 special that day. They received the 2 for 1 special. We asked for the special, and were told that we could not have it.
.... So, you're telling me that people who show up at the last second get a 2 for 1 deal, but the people who booked in advance and paid nearly a grand to stay at your hotel on a weekend away have to pay full price? Heck no.

We complained on the way out and were told it's "kind of like a seat sale for airlines".
Actually it's not, and we won't be back. Not impressed.

Room Tip: Get a beachfront. The rest of it looks like a Motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Rob P,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your last visit was. I would like to talk to you personally about your experience. If you could contact me either by phone or email, our toll free number 1-800-663-7929 or by email kyla@kingfisherspa.com. I am concerned by all of this and would like the opportunity to rectify your displeasure.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Kindest Regards,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We took advantage of a low,off season rate. And couldn't have been happier with this choice. We love nature and spent a lot of time on the beach among the many niches with chairs to enjoy the Salish Sea view! It was so exciting to discover that it was a big Bald Eagle habitat because of the mud beds after high tide, that provided abundant sea treats for tens of bald eagles and their babies who had set up their homes on the tops of the massive firs on this coastline. We also experienced a pod of porpoises on our last morning. All rooms have an oceanview and ours was one of the older suites that had yet to be updated, as the resort was updating the suites. We found ours just fine! Wonderful beds were warm and just right firmness with great pillows! A mini kitchenette with a mini-fridge, stovetop,microwave, coffee maker and toaster was something we took advantage of. We shopped in nearby Courtney for groceries. We ate at the restaurant for dinner once, had the seared tuna and Caesar salad, which was excellent, but pricey. Overall a fabulous experience and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samlaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Samlaz,

What a great review of your recent stay with us! Thank you, thank you for taking the time to share your experience of our Resort. The eagles are such a treat and we all enjoy watching them teach their young ones to fish. How lucky were you to see a pod of porpoises! I still have not seen that in a few years. Thank you for your feedback of your room, we are currently upgrading a few things around our property so it is nice to hear about your stay and that you were comfortable. We are pleased to know that you had a fabulous time and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest Seaside Regards,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have stayed at Kingfisher more than once and have loved it every time. The spa is beautiful and the hydra path experience is A1. The food is absolutely delicious, from the eggs Benedict in the morning to the lamb with chimichurri sauce for dinner. The staff is very pleasant and helpful and the Orca suites (featuring a fireplace, sitting area, kitchenette and walk-out just steps from the ocean) are absolutely superb. Can't wait to go back again!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Rachel S,

Thank you for your review of your last stay with us! We are delighted that you had an amazing time. I agree the Eggs Benedict is the best and my personal favourite breakfast. The Orca suites are gorgeous and with the ocean just steps away it truly is a beachfront suite. We have shared your review with our team and we thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing, we really appreciate the feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Resort!

Kindest Regards,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had the most wonderful time at the Kingfisher. Their spa is incredible. The Hydotherapy Tx was unique and relaxing. I would do it again in a heartbeat. The room was comfortable with an ocean view. The resteraunt was marvelous. I can't say enough about the place. We only left the property once while we were there. Can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erika D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Erika D,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay with us. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and had a wonderful time, from your incredible Spa experience to a marvelous dinner as well!! Thank you for your kind review as we have shared it with our team and they can't wait until your next visit. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review of your visit with us!

Warmest Seaside Regards,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
4.8 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
954 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
111.5 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.1 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
1,239 reviews
34.6 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
37.0 mi away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa

Address: 4330 Island Hwy S, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 9R9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Courtenay
Price Range: £90 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort & Spa. Warm hospitality. Full service spa including the Pacific Mist Hydropath(R). Exceptional service. Be yourself. Be pampered. We'll take care of the rest... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingfisher Oceanside Hotel Courtenay
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort And Spa Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing