We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Nearby Hotels
Best Western The Westerly Hotel(Courtenay)(Great Value!)
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old House Hotel & Spa(Courtenay)(Great Value!)
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Willow Guest House(Courtenay)(Great Value!)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comox Valley Inn(Courtenay)
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arbour Cottage B & B(Courtenay)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Trail Guesthouse(Courtenay)(Great Value!)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Anco Inn(Courtenay)(Great Value!)
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,332)
Filter reviews
1,332 results
Traveller rating
681
397
154
61
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
681
397
154
61
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshydro pathromance suitesteam roomocean viewbreakwater restaurantorca suitesteam cavehydropath experienceget awayoceanfront roommurphy bedhot tubmid weekbeautiful groundsrelaxing getawaycouples massagevancouver island
Filter
Updating list...
904 - 909 of 1,332 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed one night in a standard room while on a bicycling trip and were very happy with the hotel and restaurant service (outstanding), the rooms (large, with garden and ocean view, and terrace), and we were allowed to park our bikes in our room. We had dinner at the restaurant (high end and delicious), as well as breakfast (fantastic and served outside on the ocean-view terrace). The room was large (fit the bikes easily), the beds were comfortable and the night was peaceful and quiet, lovely. I can highly recommend staying at the Kingfisher.

Room Tip: We chose the most reasonable rooms ($99 in June) for the night and were not disappointed. Ground-floor rooms around the garden had a terrace with chairs and views of the ocean.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank apaetow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you apaetow for your amazing review!!! We were thrilled to know you had a relaxing time here and enjoyed your stay with us!! We agree we have a fantastic property with beautiful gardens overlooking the ocean, not a bad view anywhere! We thank you for taking the time sharing your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest Seaside Regards,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at the Kingfisher, one at the front end of our Island Joy Rides bike trip in a standard room and again on our final night in the beautiful Orca Suite. I knew ahead of time that the first night would not measure up to the last as far as the room. However, the beds were fine and our 2nd floor view, looking over the gardens onto the bay were glorious...even better than our still fabulous view from our ground floor, oceanfront suite later in the week. In the standard room, we had no problem overlooking the worn carpet on the outdoor steps up to the room.

They were very nice to allow us to use the spa to clean up after our final day of biking though we had checked out earlier. They also allowed us to leave our rental car in their large lot during our 5 days of biking.

We found dinner in the restaurant to be good, but not great after a few days of excellent cuisine.

There were a couple of missteps that I want to point out because they are easily corrected for future guests. The first had to do with check-in. I had not made our reservation myself, so I called in advance and spoke to Monica to confirm it. I was uncertain and asked if breakfast was included in my rate and she checked and said
that it was. In fact, that is why I asked her name. When we checked in, I said to the young man, "and we get breakfast, right?" He told us no. I told him about my conversation with Monica. He told me she must have been mistaken (I would have been fine with that) and added, "or you must have misheard her." I did not appreciate that at all. Whether breakfast is included is not complicated. If I took the time to make note of her name, and she, btw, was extremely friendly and warm, then you think I might have gotten the single detail to my straightforward question correct. It's not that big a deal, it just bugged me and seemed a sign of poor training. A simple, I'm so sorry you were misinformed, but it's not included in your rate, would have done very nicely.

The second issue had to do with baggage handling, or lack thereof. We were pointed in the general direction of our room. The room was on the second floor. If there was an elevator, we never found it (or were told about it). We got there and struggled with 3 large suitcases, one 60 lbs up the steps. We were never once offered the possibility of help with our bags. I found that aspect of service surprisingly lacking for a hotel of this level. It's standard at nice hotels to be asked if you need help with your luggage on check-in and check-out, and that's when there are elevators.

Finally, on our last day, our IJR package includes breakfast. However, we couldn't eat at the hotel as planned because the restaurant does not open until 8am! I don't ever think I've seen a hotel restaurant open that late. Hotels need to be ready to cater to their customers' travel, work, and activity schedules. The word that kept coming to my mind about 8am hotel breakfast was, "lazy."

If these service issues had not arisen, it would have been a 5 star experience, in spite of some areas showing their age. A little more training and polish would make the Kingfisher even more customer-friendly.


  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReviewerMaryland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear ReviewerMaryland1,

Thank you for your recent review of your recent stay with us. We would like to thank you for your detail account of your stay with us. We were troubled to hear about your check in experience and any confusion that occurred we would like to apologize. We agree that we should have offered assistance with your luggage, and clearer direction at your check in. We are happy to hear we were able to keep your car here for 5 days while you enjoyed your bike trip with IJR and enjoyed our Island hospitality. We were also happy to hear that you were able to clean up after your bike tour and enjoy our spa facilities before you departed.

We have heard you regarding our Restaurant opening times and we are sorry that you were not able to enjoy breakfast with us. We understand your concerns and we will be addressing them in our managers meeting. Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us, we are continually training our team and looking at area's to improve and none of that is possible without our guests sharing their stories with us.

Warmest Seaside Regards,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We could not have chosen a more rewarding late Mother's Day Spa celebration for grandma, daughter, granddaughter.
Our orca suite was clean, and nicely updated. The walkout patio offered a relaxing place for coffee, cocktails and ocean viewing.
The hydro path is an unique and wonderful experience. Grandma and I enjoyed our fabulous spa treatments. Unfortunately mom felt one of her treatments was rushed (last of the day, and the girl was looking forward to days off) and she didn't feel totally comfortable with her massage treatment. We all enjoyed our yoga class( a first for all of us).
Mom and I thought the restaurant was expensive , but absolutely phenomenal quality and creativity. Grandma however, found it hard to find something she would like, so we were glad to have the kitchen facilities in our room to prepare some simple meals on our own.
Over all, the staff all over the resort/spa were very friendly and accommodating and we felt truly pampered.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorreena_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Lorreena_11,

We are thrilled you enjoyed your visit to our Resort and thank you for taking the time to write a review. What a special treat having 3 generations celebrating Mother's Day! Memories were made here and we are touched you chose to spend it with us. Thank you Lorreena_11 for sharing this with us and we look forward to spending another family visit with you soon.

Warmest Seaside Regards,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights at the Kingfisher. It was very relaxing with beautiful views. Enjoyed the Hydropath and a pedicure at the spa. The location was great, very peaceful yet close enough to Courtenay for whatever you need. We enjoyed the food at the restaurant and the service was very good. It was beautiful to sit out on the patio for breakfast surrounded by beautiful flowers.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grahamandjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear grahamandjayne,

Thank you for your review of your visit to our Resort. It is wonderful news you had a relaxing time here. Our property has an amazing garden with endless flowers at every corner you turn. We are thrilled you spent two nights here with us and enjoyed our signature service the Pacific Mist Hydropath. It truly is a unique service only to us. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Resort!!

Warmest Seaside Regards,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The Kingfisher is a restaurant, spa, getaway experience deluxe. Located a ten minute drive south of Courtenay on the water it's a hideaway for any time of the year. In the winter when the fog rolls you can sit by the fireplace in the oceanfront suites or step onto a silent, white beach for a stroll. The Hydropath experience is wonderful, a cave like drift through mineral pools, steam room,and hot and cold showers guaranteed to relax. The restaurant looks out on the ocean and the food and service are excellent. The layout makes everything accessible and yoga classes are on offer daily.

Room Tip: Go for the waterfront, slioding doors opne right onto the beach.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you Scott L for your review! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of our amazing property. We enjoyed sharing your review with our team, it was beautifully written. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Resort for more "Oceanfront Relaxation" and our signature service the Pacific Mist Hydropath.

Warmest Seaside Regards,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews