We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views, overall relaxing feel to the Kingfisher Inn!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Courtenay
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, overall relaxing feel to the Kingfisher Inn!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My friends and I stayed in the Grand Pacific Suite for a long weekend: 5 people the first night and 3 people for the remaining nights. Even with 5 people it was comfortable due to there being 2 bathrooms in this suite and a balcony that runs the length of the suite. You are right on the shore line and you get magnificent 240 degree views looking south & east & a little bit north. I saw the sun rise two mornings and I never see that in the city! The stars & milky way were in full display at night. We heard loons calling a few times and there were 2 herons along the shore in the early morning hours.

We booked the spa package which included credits for spa services & dining in the restaurant. The staff at the spa are super & the services - super relaxing (book your services early if it is a long weekend though!). We also got to enjoy the hydropath which is excellent & must be experienced (also included over & above the spa credits!). The outdoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam cave are free to use by anyone, at any time the spa is open. The food at the Breakwater is excellent for any meal you choose and the wait staff are very attentive.

Even the grounds are beautiful - lovely gardens & a flower & vine covered gazebo. A patio outside the spa with driftwood sculptures, driftwood planted with flowers and succulents to relax in pre-or post-treatment or whatever time you choose - again with beautiful views of the ocean.

Last but not least the front counter staff are so warm, helpful & friendly. They know the area well and were able to recommend nearby walking paths, right down to which side of the road would have the best walk & views!

We were all sad to leave ... that was my only complaint 'you mean we have to go home now?'

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fairy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    527
    335
    129
    52
    34
See reviews for
168
497
34
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedminster, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stopped for a night at the Kingfisher Resort on our way to Telegraph Cove. Our oceanview room was nothing special and needed some TLC. The grounds were well-landscaped and the view was beautiful. The best part, by far, was the hydropath. It was not expensive and lots of fun. There was a jacuzzi, a mineral bath, rainforest shower, steam room. If you decide to stay, take an hour to give it a try.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLF923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriola Island, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

For a quick and easy get away, I would highly recommend this resort. I stayed in one of the suites along the water. I felt very comfortable sleeping with the sliding glass doors open during the night. Listening to the waves lap onto the beach was so soothing and listening to the birds in the morning was fantastic. The spa I highly recommend if you are so inclined. The pedi is one of the best that I have ever had. And the Caesar Salad....by far the best hands down. I cannot speak more highly of the staff. From the restaurant staff, spa staff and the front desk. They were so polite and helpful and efficient. Min would definitely go back again!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My husband and I return each year to the Kingfisher when we need some time by the ocean to unwind. The restaurant serves local, fresh ingredients with excellent service. The Hydropath is wonderful - though I would recommend asking about times that are less busy so that it feels totally private. The oceanview hotel rooms are comfortable with nice amenities, though the walls are a bit thin so I would recommend an upper story room. The walk along the beach in front is gorgeous, especially at low tide for beachcombing. Only comment is that the pool area is definitely in need of some cleaning and TLC. It is a short drive in Courtenay and the Comox valley where there are incredible restaurants and fresh food to try. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The setting for this resort was wonderful and at first viewing of room and amenities it was lovely. The settings and grounds were done with the natural setting in mind and the staff was very friendly. The restaurant was great, food wonderful and staff again helpful and friendly.
Was on the 1st floor with the ocean right outside (beautiful) and had one floor above. The first night the guests upstairs were making an early excursion and it sounded like a herd of elephants were upstairs, also when they were taking their shower the noise was really loud.
The rooms were nice, however my bed felt like it was too firm and almost felt like you could feel the springs, second day finally slept on the sofa for a couple of hours... Had free wifi, however was not a strong signal, barely getting it most times and even with rebooting the modem
It was a great weekend and those were my only issues with the place, made it to the hydro mist path which was a great experience and would highly recommend it and the restaurant to any one.

Room Tip: If your ok with being in full view of other guests the courtyard rooms are cheaper.. we choose beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deedums_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Meant to write this sooner. Took a lady here on a second date beginning of June. Still going strong. Love it here, love the hydropath. I had the fresh halibut with caviar, incredible, I'm still thinking about that meal. The staff was great and I quite enjoy the grounds, we had a picnic and wine on the grass for an hour before our appointments.

Geoff.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We have stayed at the Kingfisher a few times and were never disappointed. Paying more for one of the waterfront rooms in the newer building is worth it if you will be staying for more than a night or two OR if you are lucky enough to spend lots of time in your room and at the hotel. Last time was a one night stay and we were busy for most of it exploring other parts of the beautiful Comox Valley and although our room in the older part of the hotel was comfortable, it was showing some signs of wear - but aren't we all!
The spa is a real draw for us - the Hydropath is great for couples - very relaxing and well worth the cost.

Room Tip: Make sure you make your way to the beach! It is rocky but beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldfrisbeeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
4.8 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
834 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
102.8 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.1 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
1,061 reviews
34.6 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
56.1 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa

Property: Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Address: 4330 Island Hwy S, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 9R9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Courtenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort & Spa. Warm hospitality. Full service spa including the Pacific Mist Hydropath(R). Exceptional service. Be yourself. Be pampered. We'll take care of the rest... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingfisher Oceanside Hotel Courtenay
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort And Spa Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing