We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular and oh so worth it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Courtenay
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Spectacular and oh so worth it!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Prepare to relax as soon as you get there. We had an ocean side room with the sweeping view of the ocean and nearby small city harbour. You could tan- oceanside or poolside- in a comfy lounge-style chair. The sunset was entrancing and luxurious from our suite's outside deck, aided by the fact that the weather was beautifully hot.
-you can get room service for any meal and they have basic kitchen facilities in the suites. I loved the dining room with an outdoor deck portion too. Good array of wines, including local ones.
-there was some funky dishes for the enlightened palate, but some basic pastas for the more basic appetite.
-bed was comfy and and the bathrooms had a spa-style tub for two. Nice seaside decor in the suites.
-try the Hydra Path spa and enjoy some pampering- well worth it.
-they could beef up their movie selection, which is DVD at the front desk. Nothing is very current.
Overall a lovely mini-vacation and we lucked in on the Travel Zoo coupon offer. Affordable luxury.
-bring some dress up clothes for the restaurant. It's romantic.

Room Tip: Go the extra mile and get the ocean front suites. Twenty paces to the shore if you get ground level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura154945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Laura154945,

Thank you for your "Spectacular" review of your recent stay with us. We were thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our Restaurant and our outdoor patio that feature great local wines. We have an amazing property right on the water which offer stunning ocean views and local wild life. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our little piece of paradise!

Warmest Seaside Regards,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    318
    125
    52
    34
See reviews for
157
469
30
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
214 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I don't know why reviewers consider to be a good location this place.Entrance from highway and the other side is the "beach "where you can not walk.No bike or bike road opportunity.Stayed Aug.10-11
Rooms:so outdated,small tv's,old furnitures
Restaurant:very expensive and no other choice to eat unless you drive away somewhere
Spa: nice but it should not be by order to move one shower or pool to other.You should be able to stay in the pool as long as you feel like.Still this was the best part.
Outside pool: the size of a single family home not the hotel.I WOULD EXPEND THE POOL if i would be the owner.
You stuck at this place if you don't have a car. Definitely doesn't worth the money at this place to stay.Maybe on overnight sleeping place with the spa.Maybe.My husband changed the room from ocean view regular to half suit and we had a Murphy bed, very uncomfortable.We woke up like beaten up so we left after one night not cared about the second night was a loss of money.
It was a disappointing place and I would consider to be only 2-3 star.Won't recommend it.

Room Tip: The suits are ocean fronts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaviana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Kaviana,

Thank you for your review of your visit with us. We were sorry to hear that you did not sleep well and did not enjoy your stay with us. Our property is located right on the beach and to access the beach walk you would have to wait for the tide to go out, however once the tide is out the beach walk to Gartley Point is a stunning beach walk. We do have bikes on site for our guests to rent for the day and as we are just outside of the city limits there are many bike trails just minutes away. Our signature service the Pacific Mist Hydropath is a guided service through 8 different stations, it is almost an hour long service that our guests book so unfortunately we do ask our guests to move to each station so that all guests can enjoy their time there. Again we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and we would love another chance to show you great island hospitality. If you do decided to come back, please contact our Front Office Manager so that we can ensure an amazing stay! Take care and thank you again Kaviana!

Kindest Regards,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My daughter and I stayed 08/10 to 08/12 for a spa get away. I had booked a TravelZoo room special and needed to upgrade our room to get the dates of choice when booking a full month in advance. The room was clean and spacious and right at the beach,but I was surprised there was no air conditioning. We did the included hydropath on Sunday, off to dinner (daughter totally enjoyed her tuna, my medium rare steak was somewhere between medium and medium well, but we enjoyed the setting), then set outside to observe the super moon and early stages of the meteor shower. Monday was spa day! We each had a massage (suggestion, please do not chatter to clients during relaxation massage) wrap and pedicure. Again, we did have to adjust our regime because of lack of availability of our first choice wrap the full month in advance we reserved, so book WAY in advance if possible. We were surprised to be told at check out that out spa gift certificates were not going to be accepted, but after contacting Michelle, the front desk manager when I returned home, they were honoured. Thank you Michelle, you added far more pleasure to the end of the trip. My suggestion for anyone contemplating a spa get away - if you know when and what you are looking for, book well in advance and if you are planning on using gift certificates, make sure there is no conflict between your room booking and the type of certificate.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceweyfoowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyla T, Manager at Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear ceweyfoowas,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us! We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that you took advantage of the Travel Zoo deal. Thank you for your comments regarding your massage, we have let our spa team know and we thank you for your feedback. We are always looking to improve our service and dedication to guest satisfaction so any feedback is always helpful. We were also pleased to hear that Michelle assisted you and cleared up the hiccups. Thank you again for sharing your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again to The Kingfisher Oceanside Resort & Spa!!

Warmest Seaside Regards,

The Kingfisher Leadership Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed in the Romance Suite (412) and it was very nice. Big jetted tub, kitchen with burners, microwave, coffee, fridge, utensils etc. so if you were staying a few nights it is great to be able to bring your own food. We did not eat at restaurant or do the spa or pool. The grounds were nice, on the rustic side. The beach is very rocky with a sand beach about 1km away if you are ok walking on the rocks to get there. Looked like there were a few sun chairs for guests to use on the yards by the beach. The top floor of the newer building had a great view and private balcony. Would recommend top floor room as the walls are paper thin and you can hear everything your neighbor is saying and hallway noise it quite loud too so I imagine the downstairs rooms may get quite a bit of sound too. If you want a quiet, restful place this is a good one. Close to Courtenay too if you need to run in for anything. Turn on the fan in the room early, it is quiet and will keep it nice and cool. Front desk staff was really friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Top floor, beach view, newer building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydney081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had two nights at Kingfisher, and ate in the restaurant one night. The rooms are lovely and the location is excellent. The gardens are beautiful and there are lots of nice spots to sit in the sun or the shade. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the food was excellent.
We were too busy to try the spa, so didn't quite get the full experience.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My spouse and I took an impromptu middle of the week trip to the King Fisher beginning of this summer and it was just fabulous. We booked an ocean view romantic suite and partook in the hydropath. The room was great. It was clean, with a beautiful view of the ocean. The tub and fire place made the room extra awesome and romantic. The hydropath was so cool, we both love it and felt relaxed and rejuvenated after. We ordered room service as well, I the duck and my spouse the tuna. The duck was over cooked so I would recommend requesting medium rare but the tuna was very tasty. The staff at the Kingfisher helped to make our stay even better. They were so helpful, polite and eager to make our stay the best it could be. I would highly recommend the Kingfisher for a relaxing romantic get away. We have already booked our next trip to the resort.

Room Tip: I would suggest upgrading to a ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeliDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My friends and I stayed in the Grand Pacific Suite for a long weekend: 5 people the first night and 3 people for the remaining nights. Even with 5 people it was comfortable due to there being 2 bathrooms in this suite and a balcony that runs the length of the suite. You are right on the shore line and you get magnificent 240 degree views looking south & east & a little bit north. I saw the sun rise two mornings and I never see that in the city! The stars & milky way were in full display at night. We heard loons calling a few times and there were 2 herons along the shore in the early morning hours.

We booked the spa package which included credits for spa services & dining in the restaurant. The staff at the spa are super & the services - super relaxing (book your services early if it is a long weekend though!). We also got to enjoy the hydropath which is excellent & must be experienced (also included over & above the spa credits!). The outdoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam cave are free to use by anyone, at any time the spa is open. The food at the Breakwater is excellent for any meal you choose and the wait staff are very attentive.

Even the grounds are beautiful - lovely gardens & a flower & vine covered gazebo. A patio outside the spa with driftwood sculptures, driftwood planted with flowers and succulents to relax in pre-or post-treatment or whatever time you choose - again with beautiful views of the ocean.

Last but not least the front counter staff are so warm, helpful & friendly. They know the area well and were able to recommend nearby walking paths, right down to which side of the road would have the best walk & views!

We were all sad to leave ... that was my only complaint 'you mean we have to go home now?'

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fairy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
4.8 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
56.6 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.0 mi away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
56.1 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
98.3 mi away
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Central Saanich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa

Property: Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Address: 4330 Island Hwy S, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 9R9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Courtenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort & Spa. Warm hospitality. Full service spa including the Pacific Mist Hydropath(R). Exceptional service. Be yourself. Be pampered. We'll take care of the rest... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingfisher Oceanside Hotel Courtenay
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort And Spa Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing