We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality and comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western The Westerly Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Courtenay
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Very good hotel with very good staff. Very comfortable beds and great rooms for the price. We used the pool and hot tub which were fine for a hotel of this size. Would definitely stay there again when in Courtenay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Angella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing O, Owner at Best Western The Westerly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Dear Angela
On behalf of our team at The Best Westerly we would like to thank you for your great review. It is always appreciated when people take time out from their busy schedule to write about us especially when it is as positive as your review.
We constantly are trying to improve our product and it is nice to see someone take notice.
Please come and stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (681)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

478 - 484 of 681 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

I've stayed in this hotel a lot (24 nights in the last 12 months). A full breakfast used to be included in the room price but no longer. Wednesday wing night used to be $0.35/wing. On my last trip I paid $9.50 for 13 small wings. The hotel has gone from good value to just average. I'll consider other options on my next visit to the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Wade W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing O, Owner at Best Western The Westerly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Dear Wade W

First of all let me thank you for taking time to express your opinions about our hotel. That must mean you do have an interest in our business!
We especially appreciate the positive ratings you gave us in the areas of location (which we think is the best) and the rooms and sleep quality. Sleep quality is after all first and foremost on most peoples priorities!
We have switched from the free breakfast to a higher quality breakfast that you now have to pay for but we have instituted a $5.00 free coupon towards it to compensate. We feel we can do a better quality product this way and many of our customers have preferred this method.
Please accept our apologies in saying we are sorry we didn't make the grade in all your expectations but we hope you will be back again soon and give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I have stay at this hotel many times. The last stay was in Feb of this year. The only reason that I choose this hotel over the holiday inn is the buffet breakfast.

They have now change the free breakfast to a $5 voucher. 2 adult and 2 kids so we have $10 total in voucher. Sine we are staying on a Sat night, there is a Sunday brunch breakfast for $21.95 each
Guess there is no breakfast in the morning. Lucky there is a Safeway across the street.

As for the room, I was lucky in stay in the new wing by the front of the hotel. All the others room in the other wings are old and tired. You have to pay for the mountain view upgrade but I got it for free because I am Diamond status with Best Western.

Next time I am in Courtenay, I will be staying at Holiday Inn Express. About 4 nights in the next 3 months. No need to Hotel Room lottery and there is breakfast!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuyIn6A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing O, Owner at Best Western The Westerly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Dear GuyIn6A
Thank you so much for your feedback.
We are sorry you misunderstood about breakfasts on Sundays! The Brunch menu at the higher price is from 11 to 2 but the regular breakfast menu still applies on Sundays from 6:30 until 11.
No Safeway needed.
We feel with the vouchers you are getting a great deal on the breakfast price.
Please consider coming again and thank you for the compliments on our new wing rooms.
They are an upgrade so I am glad you enjoyed!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed here numerous times before, but it is getting a little tired looking. The overall cleanliness is now very poor, my wife was head housekeeper at a Five Star resort, and although this place does not purport to be five star, basic cleanliness should be a must everywhere. The vending machine was out of order and the ice machine was leaking, the carpet on the stairs leading to the pool looks like it hadn't been cleaned for five years ! Our room was not very clean at all, although we have had worse. Staff all excellent and very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sentinel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing O, Owner at Best Western The Westerly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Dear Sentinel
Thank you for commenting on our wonderful staff. They are our best resource without a doubt!
I am sorry to hear our cleaning standards were not up to your level and I will definitely pass your comments on to housekeeping so that they can improve.
We hope you will consider staying again and giving us another chance. It may well have been
after a busy time and the cleaning was not up to snuff. However that is no excuse and your comments have been taken seriously.
Thanks again for taking the time to report to us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel because we were in town for a wedding. Rate was reasonable and the room was clean and beds were comfortable. They had an iron and board in the room which came in handy. There was also a microwave and mini fridge in the room. Staff were courteous and helpful.

The parking is mostly outside, other than the small covered parkade below the main building. If you stay in the building behind the main one, beware if you are on the river side. We got into the room to relax for a bit after the drive in from Parksville and we heard vroom.... vroom... vroom. It sounded like we were next to a speedway. So we googled it and the nearest speedway was a bit away. We couldn't think of any other reason and aren't ones to complain, so that is what we assumed it was and figured if it was the speedway it wouldn't effect us at night because it would be closed. It wasn't super loud but if it's a nice day (like it was) and had the sliding door to the balcony open it was loud enough it was noticeable even with the tv on in the room. We got ready and drove out to the wedding and drove over a bridge which we could see from our room. It was a metal grated bridge and the light went on! It was the traffic going over the metal grated bridge!!! We heard it all night when we got back.

Other than that it's a good hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's NOT next to the noisy bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nidine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing O, Owner at Best Western The Westerly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear Nidine

We are thrilled that you were satisfied with your stay. Regarding the bridge it is beyond our abilities to deal with. However we feel that the quality of our product along with the convenient
location, that you picked the best hotel in the area.
Please visit us again and thanks for taking time out to write such a wonderful review. We certainly appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I have stayed a few times at this hotel. Its centrally located, close to quite a few restaurants, coffee shops, grocery stores etc. The main building(s) are older refurbished from the old "Westerly" hotel along with a newer addition. If you do have a pet(s), they will accommodate for a fee, which fewer hotels seem to be doing. The room was clean and comfortable and although it was a busy weekend, the noise was not horrific. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating, happily answering questions I'm sure they have been asked a million times. There is a family dining restaurant, a lounge/pool table that serve light fair, and an attached pub which seems to get used by locals as much as guests (usually a good thing). It was a comfortable stay at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: If you are not in the newer addition or main building, (there is a lower back building), the third f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeftRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing O, Owner at Best Western The Westerly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear LeftRock
We loved everything you had to say about our hotel and all the services it has to offer. We are very proud of our staff and product so thanks for the reinforcement!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Very helpful staff!!!! Room service a little expensive but food is very good. Rooms are clean bathrooms are a little small but functional. Only complaint would be at times the front desk changes the internet code without warning and you have to call them and the choice of TV channels is limited, they could block out the unsubscribed ones and make it faster and easier to pick one that you can watch.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing O, Owner at Best Western The Westerly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Hi James
Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking time to write your thoughts on it.
We think our staff is tops and know it makes such a difference to the quality of your
stay.
Regarding the Internet code we do not randomly change it. It is set for the length of
your stay. If however it randomly changed on you we apologize for the inconvenience.
Some times people extend their stay and we have to reissue a new code.
Thank you for your compliments on the food. We have several outlets including room
service which we offer to those who chose to relax in their room after traveling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
0.1 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
1,006 reviews
2.4 mi away
Port Augusta Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Best Western Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
575 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Courtenay BC
Travelodge Courtenay BC
#6 of 9 in Courtenay
431 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Westerly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Westerly Hotel

Address: 1590 Cliffe Ave, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 2K4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Courtenay
#2 Green Hotel in Courtenay
#4 Family Hotel in Courtenay
Price Range: £71 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Westerly Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtenay's Only Full-Service Hotel Centrally Located in the Heart of the Comox Valley our location offers convenient access to all that Comox Valley has to offer. Our property features 67 guestrooms, inclusive of our 36 room Mountainside wing. We are pleased to provide high-speed wireless Internet, local phone calls and parking. We have three on-site food & beverage outlets including a restaurant, lounge and pub and Liquor Store. Additional hotel facilities include a heated in-door pool, hot tub, sauna, fitness facilities, business centre, guest coin laundry, and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western The Westerly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Westerly Hotel And Convention Centre
Best Western Courtenay
Courtenay Best Western
Best Western The Westerly Hotel Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing