We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Courtenay
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
169 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Good Place to Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2008

The Westerly is one of only a few hotels in this Comox Valley city. Very central and easy to find. It is undergoing renovations which should make it bigger and better in the future. As it is, it is a very nice hotel with clean accommodations and great amenities. The staff is helpful in every aspect. They are a good source of information and can help you arrange your activities from golfing, to skiing, to fishing and more.
They have a swimming pool and a well equipped workout room. Gullivers Pub is a good place to have a beer and a snack and the lounge is a very nice atmosphere to have a nightcap. The restaurant is good for breakfast and average for dinner.
My only compliant was that the room we had (and many other rooms) were a bit overcrowded with furniture. Two queen size beds, chairs, TV cabinet and a desk leave little room for luggage etc. I would certainly recommend this hotel as a central staging area for the Comox Valley and all it's outdoor activities.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete_Coach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    206
    101
    35
    16
See reviews for
150
168
39
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2008

My wife and I are local to Vancouver Island (Victoria), and love exploring parts North for skiing, climbing, hiking and other adventures, but don't look forward to a 3h+ drive for a day of fun. Enter the Westerly ...

This gem is central to the lovely town of Courtenay, close to shopping and local attractions (skiing, golf, hiking) and a perfect staging point for access to points beyond (Northern Strathcona Park, Mt Cain, Cape Scott).

There is something for everyone: locals are all over the pub; we often grab a quiet pint in the lounge. Usually after a swim and a soak in the hot tub.

Breakfast in the restaurant is fast, and you can go as healthy or as bacony as you want :P

We've always had great service from the front desk staff and food services staff.

  • Liked — Convenient access to many ammenities.
  • Disliked — Slight wait calling down to front desk for internet access.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sam_and_jaime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VANCOUVER
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2007

Was there in November, rain was terrible. But was there for golf and it was 10 minutes away, great course, Crown Isle. All the ammenities of a GREAT golf trip right there at the hotel, did not have to go anywhere. Liquor store, good bar and lounge and restaurant all on the premises.
The Hotel staff was excellent. Beds were very comfortable.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank SCREAM11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2007

Stayed for 2 nights in November. The weather was terrible so we ended up stuck in the hotel more than expected, but had a great time. Staff were very friendly, and the restaurant and pub had great atmosphere. Rooms were large and very comfortable and clean.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Crash222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2007

Having never visited Courtenay, I was pleasantly surprised by the beauty of this city. Our first contact was with a very cheerful and professional check-in person at the Best Western Courtenay Hotel.
The purpose of our trip was to golf, but when we were not golfing, we spent all of our time in the hotel. After our golf games, we loosened up in the hot tub and sauna. Then we went o the Snookers Lounge for a cocktail and to play a game or two of pool. we decided to have dinner in the Lounge and watch some of the hockey game.
Our waitress was great and she told us, we had to go over to the Pub to see a local band that had a karaoke component. Nothing short of pure entertainment.
The rooms were a fair size, very clean and they have 'heavenly beds'.
Overall, we had a great stay at this property.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Screamer14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2007

We had our wedding at the Westerly and the wedding party stayed at the hotel. It was the worst hotel experience we've ever had. Thankfully we were able to not let the experience with the hotel and it's staff ruin our wedding however we feel the need to warn other engaged couples or travellers alike.
Our experience included:

When moving from our one bedroom suite to the Honeymoon Suite on my wedding day the staff offered no help.
A staff member being so rude (could be considered bullying, I'm not kidding) my 6 year old boy.
Banquets manager being incredibly patronizing and condescending.
Wedding Dinner Buffet being cleared while guests were still
eating.
Dessert being removed before we even announced it was there.
Staff removing unfinished wine glasses while guests were
dancing
Staff not manning the cash bar (I had to go into the back and
ask them to come out)
No tea or coffee served as per contract

We weren't the only unhappy people. Every single one of our guests that stayed at the hotel has their own complaints.

So far the hotel is unwilling to seriously address our situation and so far Best Western Head office hasn't been any better yet.

Don't think that because this hotel has the Best Western brand that you'll get the quality and service that you've received at other Best Western hotels.

  • Liked — close to other extended family
  • Disliked — staff/service
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank SeanDVancouverBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment regarding your wedding at the Westerly Hotel.

As the new General Manager, I wanted to assure you that feedback is extremely valuable to us as it is through this input directly from our guests that we are able to continuously strive to deliver a positive and memorable experience for every guest.

Please accept our apologies for the fact that we obviously did not leave you with our minimum expectation of a positive experience. This is not the normal course of business at the Westerly, and this feedback has allowed us to improve both our service delivery and product.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in some way in the future. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your wedding.

If I can provide any assistance, please feel free to contact me directly.

David Rooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2007

Consider the following if you intend to stay here:

1. Rooms on the South-East side of the hotel receive a lot of noise from the 17th street bridge -- the bridge has a grated surface and when cars drive over it they make a loud grumbling sound that can be heard quite loudly in rooms on this side, and the17th street is very busy. You probably won't get to sleep until well after 11:00 PM. If you are getting a Military or DND rate you most likely will be put into one of these less acceptable rooms. If you want to get a better room you won't get the DND rate -- something to consider if you are on your house hunting trip!

2. The hotel is of wood-frame construction which transmits noise from other rooms -- slamming doors, pounding feet on the floor etc. I recommend you get a room on the top floor to minimize noise disruption.

3. I found this hotel to have a foul odor in the halls and stairwells, probably due to mould.

Rooms are dated in their decor. A complete shock considering how awesome the lobby is!!!

Location is good, as you can walk to downtown.

Overall this place is survivable. If you are deaf and have a bad sense of smell this place only gets better.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank 5a25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
0.1 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
2.4 mi away
Port Augusta Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Courtenay BC
Travelodge Courtenay BC
#6 of 9 in Courtenay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel
Address: 1590 Cliffe Ave, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 2K4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Courtenay
#1 Green Hotel in Courtenay
#4 Family Hotel in Courtenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtenay's Only Full-Service Hotel Centrally Located in the Heart of the Comox Valley our location offers convenient access to all that Comox Valley has to offer. Our property features 139 guestrooms and suites, inclusive of our newer 36 room Mountainside wing. We are pleased to provide high-speed wireless Internet, local phone calls and parking. We have three on-site food & beverage outlets including a restaurant, lounge and pub and Specialty Liquor Store. Additional hotel facilities include a heated in-door pool, hot tub, sauna, fitness facilities, business centre, ski & bike storage, guest coin laundry, games room, sports team locker rooms and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Westerly Hotel And Convention Centre
Best Western Courtenay
Courtenay Best Western
BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing