We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western The Westerly Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Courtenay
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The lady at the checkout (Jody) was fantastic! She went out of her way to accommodate us and our 2 year old grandson. We found the rooms to be large enough and comfortable. The one thing we thought it needed was a small refrigerator. The pool was a great temperature for a swim and the hot tub area was very clean. Great breakfast too.! Thanks!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Bobbisoxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing O, Owner at Best Western The Westerly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Bobbisoxs

Thank you for your outstanding review of our property and the services we provide! We appreciate you taking the time to make your comments on Tripadvisor!
We have had other Grandparents say how nice the hotel is for entertaining their grandchildren in the pools.
We are in the process of putting fridges in all the rooms so when you return you will have that convenience.
All of our staff including Jody, who you mentioned, are the best in the Valley and are always ready to make a customers stay better than they expect! We constantly get complimented on our staff.
Thank you again and we look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Courtenay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (683)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 683 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

We booked a one-night ski package that included hotel room, 2 lift passes for Mt Washington ski resort and 2 $10 food vouchers. This was a great value - up at the ski resort the same cost gave us a 1 bedroom only and no ski passes worth $150! We upgraded for an extra $20 for the Premier room in the Mountainside new wing for convenient parking access and lovely king bed room! The food in the bar/lounge was very good. We have stayed here several times before and will again in the future!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Malle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing O, Owner at Best Western The Westerly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Malle B
Wow what a great review you gave us!! We are constantly trying to improve our product and make our customers happy and we succeeded with you.
You were pleased with everything from the price to the room to the food!! We can't do much better than that.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Thank you for taking time to write us up!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I have been here on business twice in the last month. Both stays were exceptional. Front desk was fast and efficient. The Waverly restaurant had a great 3 course meal for under 20 with coupon supplied by the hotel. Parking was easy and there is a cold beer store just ouside. Rooms were very clean and well appointed.

Room Tip: 3rd floor at the back along the river is a great room. Private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suretest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing O, Owner at Best Western The Westerly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Dear Suretest
We so appreciate you taking the time to write about our hotel and all the services we offer other than just rooms! It was so complimentary and we loved it. Thank you.
The Beer and Wine store is very convenient as I know I love to have that amenity when I am travelling.
Also you mentioned our restaurant which is called the "Westerly", actually, and how you enjoyed that combined with the coupon that is an added bonus.
We all work so hard as a team at the hotel and it's outlets. It is payback when we receive a review such as yours! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This hotel is split into at least three different buildings - beware which one you get put in! While my friends were in a lovely renovated room (at the front of the property). I was in the building (by the river) that looked like a bad 80s motel. I seriously almost walked out. But, it was clean and our group was tired, so we stayed. I think I could have handled it all in good humour, had I not found out that my friends PAID THE SAME RATE for their lovely, renovated room that I paid for a beat-up, ugly, OLD room with a heating system that was so loud it kept us up half the night. Oh, and did I mention the shower head that sprayed water everywhere? Seriously. I felt so ripped off to hear that they actually charged us the same rate for this terrible room. What gall they have! If you're going to sell these rooms, at least offer a discounted price. Buyers beware! This is the truth. I stayed at the Radisson in Richmond this very same week for CHEAPER in a nicer, renovated room. Very disappointed with this place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank RmServicePls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing O, Owner at Best Western The Westerly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear RmServicePls
I am so sorry to hear you were unhappy with your room at our hotel. I am not sure as to why the two rooms were the same price. It is perhaps because your friends were a Diamond BW member and they were given an upgrade? We are unable to look into the situation without names or details.
Our renovated rooms are at the premium rate, however it could be possible we were fully booked and had to put your friends in one of the renovated rooms.
Our older rooms are much larger and some of our guests actually prefer them. Please accept our apologies for not reaching your expectations.
Hopefully the service, location and amenities were satisfactory for your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 11 February 2014

we have used this hotel several times while on R&R in the Comox area - it is a convenient location with really helpful staff. and, if you book online, some reasonable deals on rates. the bar is great for beer but, for food, do yourself a favour and go to 'bisque' which is about 100yds away over the street and to the right; they are a brilliant restaurant (try the seafood paella).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing O, Owner at Best Western The Westerly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Member
Thank you so much for a wonderful review of our hotel.
The location is the best as you don't have to drive anywhere. Everything is within walking distance.
Restaurants, shops, and the river walk is right behind the hotel.
Thanks for the nod to our staff. They are the best in the valley and they always go out of their way to make your stay special.
Next time you stay with us try the Thursday night Prime Rib. It is out of this world. Also we have brought in a Sushi Chef on Wednesday through Sunday nights. You will not be disappointed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I have been staying at the Westerly for the last month on a weekly basis for work. All the staff have been really great and Jodi has gone above and beyond to be helpful and personable. She has made the Westerly really feel like my home away from home. Thanks Staff and Jodi!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing O, Owner at Best Western The Westerly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Lori C

I am very glad to hear that you have decided to choose our hotel as your home away from home.
We always hear how wonderful our staff is. It is rewarding to hear that it is consistently that way!
Thank you for taking the time to tell us and potential customers what a great experience it has been for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Went to Whiskey Fest (which included a dinner on the Friday evening and a seminar before the grand tasting on Saturday) and stayed over. We had a great time and appreciated the fine hospitality of the hotel. The staff were courteous, the room was comfortable, and the food and drink in the Flying Canoe was very satisfying. We enjoyed ourselves and look forward to Whiskey Fest 2015.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing O, Owner at Best Western The Westerly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Brian M
We LOVED having someone tell us how much they enjoyed the Whiskey Fest! Thank you so much.
Our team worked really hard on the event and we felt it was a great event for the community and the island.
Please spread the word so we can keep the Whiskey Fest going. It is always nice to have a Vancouver type event right on the island!
We very much appreciated your comments regarding the rest of our hotel and pub services as well. Thank you again and please come and stay and enjoy all the outdoor activities the area has to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
0.1 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Courtenay
1,008 reviews
2.4 mi away
Port Augusta Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Best Western Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
575 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Courtenay BC
Travelodge Courtenay BC
#6 of 10 in Courtenay
431 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Westerly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Westerly Hotel

Address: 1590 Cliffe Ave, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 2K4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Courtenay
#2 Green Hotel in Courtenay
#4 Family Hotel in Courtenay
Price Range: £71 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Westerly Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtenay's Only Full-Service Hotel Centrally Located in the Heart of the Comox Valley our location offers convenient access to all that Comox Valley has to offer. Our property features 67 guestrooms, inclusive of our 36 room Mountainside wing. We are pleased to provide high-speed wireless Internet, local phone calls and parking. We have three on-site food & beverage outlets including a restaurant, lounge and pub and Liquor Store. Additional hotel facilities include a heated in-door pool, hot tub, sauna, fitness facilities, business centre, guest coin laundry, and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western The Westerly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Westerly Hotel And Convention Centre
Best Western Courtenay
Courtenay Best Western
Best Western The Westerly Hotel Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing