We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Away From Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Courtenay
GreenLeadersBronze level
Courtenay, Canada
1 review
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

I recently to a job here to move away from Alberta and wanted to stay in a hotel before I chose a home. I booked the hotel from Alberta and was offered a reasonable monthly rate. Upon my arrival I was greeted by Tyler at the front desk who was very professional and efficient. I have been here for a month now and my expectations have been exceeded in every category. The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating right from the girls who clean my room everyday all the way up to the owner who is always more than willing to come over for a chat and to see how my stay is going.The staff here don't just go the extra mile, they actually have made me feel at home in an unfamiliar city. The chef is always more than happy to sit and chat with me while I have dinner in the chalk or flying canoe. All in all I highly recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of coming to Courtenay for vacation or business. Not only will you be well looked after but you may make a few friends while you're at it. Thank you so much to all the wonderful people I've had the pleasure of meeting here. Although I've found a place to live here in Courtenay I will be back to visit over and over.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing O, Owner at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Todd A
Welcome to Courtenay! We are so glad you chose our hotel to ease your way into the community.
We were happy to try and work out a monthly rate with you so you could take your time to find where you wanted to live.
You managed to compliment us on all aspects of our operation and we appreciate it. It is always rewarding to know if you are doing a good job.
As you mentioned the staff is so friendly and helpful. We are so proud of all of them. We look forward to your continued patronage in the Flying Canoe and the Chalk Lounge!
Thank you for taking the time to write to TripAdvisor and letting us know how your experience went.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    206
    101
    35
    16
See reviews for
150
168
39
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
vitoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

comfortable hote,l friendly staff and very good location for the ski slopes and ski packages are availables. Indoor pool, sauna and hot tub available, kids loved it. Located close (walking distance) to local restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Leslie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing O, Owner at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Leslie R
We are so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us during your ski holiday.
As well as the pool room that you mentioned we also have a games room for the kids. I hope they checked it out.
Our location is second to none. No need for a car to get to the grocery stores, restaurants or shopping or just walking along the river!
Thanks for complimenting our wonderful staff in you review. They get so many compliments and are our best resource.
Thank you for taking the time to write about us on TripAdvisor and we look forward to seeing you and your family in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sooke, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stay here almost weekly for our trips to mt Washington. All the staff are very friendly from the front desk to chalk and the flying canoe and westerly restaurant! Whether we want a few games of pool, a pub night or a nice meal the hotel has it all. This was our 6th time staying there and only once have we felt the need to leave the complex which was during our first visit (we know better now). Great food and great people! We'll see you in a couple of weeks! - oh and for drinkers the 100 shot club is a must!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Howellsy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing O, Owner at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Howellsy48
Wow! Thank you for all the wonderful compliments you poured on our establishment and our staff!
We must be doing something right if you have been six times!
Our hotel is a complete package as you mentioned with everything on site. We are glad you are happy with the Flying Canoe pub and the Chalk Lounge where you can play billiards. We have been working hard over the past year to make our restaurants and pub the place to go in the valley.
Have you tried the sushi in the pub yet? The chef is one of the best. My husband and I can't get enough of his gourmet fresh made sushi.
We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltspring island, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Overall good experience, clean and comfortable.I would and do recommend this hotel to family and friends.Have stayed in this hotel several times and will be staying there again next time we go skiing because it has quick access to the mountain. Restaurant and lounge/bar are clean, convenient and worth checking out when you stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing O, Owner at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear John P
Thank you so much for taking the time to do a review of our hotel.
We like to cater to the skiers like yourself. We provide a ski locker for your convenience and a games room and pool area for the kids to amuse themselves after skiing. I hope you got to take advantage of these!
As you mentioned the location is ideal for skiing and walking to the stores and restaurants.
We appreciate your comments on our pub and restaurants in the hotel. We are always working on upgrading the menu. We now have a Sushi Chef to mix things up as well as Prime Rib night on Thursdays which is usually a sell out and a local favourite.
Please come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

The lady at the checkout (Jody) was fantastic! She went out of her way to accommodate us and our 2 year old grandson. We found the rooms to be large enough and comfortable. The one thing we thought it needed was a small refrigerator. The pool was a great temperature for a swim and the hot tub area was very clean. Great breakfast too.! Thanks!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bobbisoxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing O, Owner at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Bobbisoxs

Thank you for your outstanding review of our property and the services we provide! We appreciate you taking the time to make your comments on Tripadvisor!
We have had other Grandparents say how nice the hotel is for entertaining their grandchildren in the pools.
We are in the process of putting fridges in all the rooms so when you return you will have that convenience.
All of our staff including Jody, who you mentioned, are the best in the Valley and are always ready to make a customers stay better than they expect! We constantly get complimented on our staff.
Thank you again and we look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Courtenay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Van Anda, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We booked a one-night ski package that included hotel room, 2 lift passes for Mt Washington ski resort and 2 $10 food vouchers. This was a great value - up at the ski resort the same cost gave us a 1 bedroom only and no ski passes worth $150! We upgraded for an extra $20 for the Premier room in the Mountainside new wing for convenient parking access and lovely king bed room! The food in the bar/lounge was very good. We have stayed here several times before and will again in the future!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Malle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing O, Owner at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Malle B
Wow what a great review you gave us!! We are constantly trying to improve our product and make our customers happy and we succeeded with you.
You were pleased with everything from the price to the room to the food!! We can't do much better than that.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Thank you for taking time to write us up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

I have been here on business twice in the last month. Both stays were exceptional. Front desk was fast and efficient. The Waverly restaurant had a great 3 course meal for under 20 with coupon supplied by the hotel. Parking was easy and there is a cold beer store just ouside. Rooms were very clean and well appointed.

Room Tip: 3rd floor at the back along the river is a great room. Private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suretest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing O, Owner at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear Suretest
We so appreciate you taking the time to write about our hotel and all the services we offer other than just rooms! It was so complimentary and we loved it. Thank you.
The Beer and Wine store is very convenient as I know I love to have that amenity when I am travelling.
Also you mentioned our restaurant which is called the "Westerly", actually, and how you enjoyed that combined with the coupon that is an added bonus.
We all work so hard as a team at the hotel and it's outlets. It is payback when we receive a review such as yours! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
0.1 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
2.4 mi away
Port Augusta Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Courtenay BC
Travelodge Courtenay BC
#6 of 9 in Courtenay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel
Address: 1590 Cliffe Ave, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 2K4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Courtenay
#1 Business Hotel in Courtenay
#4 Family Hotel in Courtenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtenay's Only Full-Service Hotel Centrally Located in the Heart of the Comox Valley our location offers convenient access to all that Comox Valley has to offer. Our property features 139 guestrooms and suites, inclusive of our newer 36 room Mountainside wing. We are pleased to provide high-speed wireless Internet, local phone calls and parking. We have three on-site food & beverage outlets including a restaurant, lounge and pub and Specialty Liquor Store. Additional hotel facilities include a heated in-door pool, hot tub, sauna, fitness facilities, business centre, ski & bike storage, guest coin laundry, games room, sports team locker rooms and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Westerly Hotel And Convention Centre
Best Western Courtenay
Courtenay Best Western
BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing