We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western The Westerly Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Courtenay
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
“A pleasant stay”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This was a nice hotel to stay at. The room was good and they also have a pub, lounge and liquor store. The Sunday brunch was excellent. the hotel is located near the river trail and it make for a very pleasant walk on a Sunday morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing O, Owner at Best Western The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear JohnG

We thank you for your complimentary review of our property and services.
I love the river walk and the convienience to it from our hotel. It is lovely. Because of the central location of our hotel you can walk to so many amenities as well.
Glad to hear you enjoyed the Sunday brunch and the rooms. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    217
    103
    36
    16
See reviews for
155
178
41
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Port Alice, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The hotel is in a great location making it easy to check in. Lobby nicely decorated and neat layout. The rooms are comfortable, depending on which building they put you in depends on style of room. Building in back the rooms over look river is nice and quiet. Good breakfast with a choice of credit in Restaurant, bar or lounge.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank mmf69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing O, Owner at Best Western The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear mmf69
Thank you for such a generous review! You covered all the bases. Location, room comfort,decor and food services!
Can't get a much better review than that! We truly appreciate you taking the time to voice your opinion on our hotel and services.
We hope to see you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I stay at this hotel every month when I travel through for work. Well kept and modern. Great dining options on site and central to other dining establishments around town. Wonderful staff. It's definitely the best of the ones I stay at.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing O, Owner at Best Western The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Craig B
Thanks again for staying with us! We love seeing familiar faces.
It was very kind of you to take the time to write about us in such a positive light.
We try hard to continue to win customer loyalty and to provide them with a complete
package stay.
As you mentioned the location is great as well. You can leave your car behind and walk to everything.
We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I have been staying at this location for business for 3 years. I hadn't been in almost a year due to territory changes. It sure was nice to be back at this location. The rooms are great, comfortable mattresses and clean. I've always had a pleasant stay here. In March my mom went there with my daughter for some grandma, grand daughter time and both loved the hotel and raved about the pool. I will keep sending people there due to their customer service and facilities.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing O, Owner at Best Western The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Sean J
Wow thank you so much for your great review and your loyalty.
We are so glad you love our product and that your Mom and Daughter enjoyed the pool area.
I'm not sure if you are aware that there is a games area as well.
It was nice of you to take time out to write about us.
Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Check in at the BW Westerly was great. Quite a large hotel with three different restaurant/bars. It is within walking distance of the main drag and across the street from the local Safeway, which is handy. The room was nice, on the back of the hotel overlooking the river. Overall it was a good stay, except we could hear the people above us walking back and forth. At 7:30am I had to phone the front desk about an incessantly barking dog which interrupted our sleep. Within 15 minutes it was remedied, the front desk called to follow up and upon check out they apologized and knocked $10 off the bill. I was not pleased about the dog, but was very impressed with how they dealt with it. Very professional.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Tanis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing O, Owner at Best Western The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Tanis1976
Thank you for all the compliments you said about our hotel and services in your review.
I am sorry about the dog but happy the staff was able to solve the problem once it was known to them.
We have excellent staff and any time they get a call in a situation they do the very best to solve it.
We are glad you liked the room and appreciated our location. It is so handy to everything and it is nice after travelling to be able to walk to everything you need.
Our beer and wine store along with the pub and restaurants including room service make it a complete destination.
Thanks for taking time out to do this review and we hope to see you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mission bc, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

the hotel was nice but the helpful staff. we had a problem with our room and Judy move us right away and up graded us. also at this hotel you received a $7.00 voucher to use in the hotel per person per day. that was nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing O, Owner at Best Western The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Joan M
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about our hotel!
We appreciate your positive comments about our staff, in particular, Jody who helped with your room.
So glad you felt our voucher was a thoughtful and useful add on.
Please come and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, british columbia canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed for one night for first time and had a real good time in this area. The hotel is well situated to Mount Washington and to Comox air force base. Shopping is right across the street and lots of restaurants near by. The staff at this property is the best we've encountered in awhile. The hotel is a bit dated but spotlessly clean. We would recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank food53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing O, Owner at Best Western The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear food53

Thank you so much for staying with us and then taking the time to write your thoughts down for others.
You are right. Our staff is the best! We hear it all the time. The fact that you mentioned "it is the best you have encountered", pleases us no end.
Our location is the best as once you arrive you don't need your car. You can shop, eat and sightsee all within walking distance.
Next time you come, ask for a room in the new wing. It is a slight bit more but if you are looking for new, it may be worth it for your stay.
Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
0.1 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
778 reviews
2.4 mi away
Port Augusta Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Best Western Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
504 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Courtenay BC
Travelodge Courtenay BC
#6 of 9 in Courtenay
387 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Westerly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Westerly Hotel

Property: Best Western The Westerly Hotel
Address: 1590 Cliffe Ave, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 2K4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Courtenay
#1 Business Hotel in Courtenay
#4 Family Hotel in Courtenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Westerly Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtenay's Only Full-Service Hotel Centrally Located in the Heart of the Comox Valley our location offers convenient access to all that Comox Valley has to offer. Our property features 139 guestrooms and suites, inclusive of our newer 36 room Mountainside wing. We are pleased to provide high-speed wireless Internet, local phone calls and parking. We have three on-site food & beverage outlets including a restaurant, lounge and pub and Specialty Liquor Store. Additional hotel facilities include a heated in-door pool, hot tub, sauna, fitness facilities, business centre, ski & bike storage, guest coin laundry, games room, sports team locker rooms and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western The Westerly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Westerly Hotel And Convention Centre
Best Western Courtenay
Courtenay Best Western
Best Western The Westerly Hotel Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing