We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“renovated rooms are good.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western The Westerly Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Courtenay
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“renovated rooms are good.”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Had a somewhat nasty experience finding two dirty socks between the mattress and box spring. They did resolve the issue to my satisfaction. The older non renovated rooms are okay, but the new rooms are great. The pub has good food and the site has everything you need. I would stay here again but only in the new rooms

Room Tip: Get a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keadyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing O, Managing O at Best Western The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Keadyn
Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments, most of which were positive.
To be honest I am horrified about the socks. Some one's idea of a prank maybe!
We are happy to hear you like our new rooms. Some people like the older rooms as they are larger and quieter. Everyone has their preference.
I am glad you felt our site had everything you needed and you enjoyed the pub. It has great food!!
Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    222
    109
    37
    18
See reviews for
157
189
42
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We decided to have dinner in the restaurant of this hotel on Saturday, June 7th. We were seated and then virtually ignored for a good 10-15 minutes. There were only about 3 other tables that needed to be served. Apparently, we were told, there was only a new server on duty and a person who usually did front desk work.

We went to the onsite pub and had excellent service by a waitress named Danielle. She even went so far as to determine why my Manhattan was served improperly.

Otherwise the stay at this hotel was very pleasant.

Lynda Cockshutt

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jescojolyn185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing O, Managing O at Best Western The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hi Lynda
I am so sorry that you landed in the restaurant on the training night. That must have been frustrating!
It is good to hear however that when you went to our pub your experience was of a different nature and Danielle was able to change things around for you.
Thank you for your comments. They are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Me and the hubby came over on the bike for a two day ride...stopped here for the night....got lucky and got the Forbidden room...awesome. ..kudos out to Tyler for hooking us up...loved it will be back

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jenna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing O, Owner at Best Western The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Jenna H
Thanks for your comments! We appreciate it.
I am glad we made your bike trip special with the room Tyler set you up in.
I hope you also got to do some riding around the hotel area. It is some of the best road biking I have done.
Cheers and hope you and your biking friends return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This was a nice hotel to stay at. The room was good and they also have a pub, lounge and liquor store. The Sunday brunch was excellent. the hotel is located near the river trail and it make for a very pleasant walk on a Sunday morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing O, Owner at Best Western The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear JohnG

We thank you for your complimentary review of our property and services.
I love the river walk and the convienience to it from our hotel. It is lovely. Because of the central location of our hotel you can walk to so many amenities as well.
Glad to hear you enjoyed the Sunday brunch and the rooms. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Alice, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The hotel is in a great location making it easy to check in. Lobby nicely decorated and neat layout. The rooms are comfortable, depending on which building they put you in depends on style of room. Building in back the rooms over look river is nice and quiet. Good breakfast with a choice of credit in Restaurant, bar or lounge.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank mmf69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing O, Owner at Best Western The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear mmf69
Thank you for such a generous review! You covered all the bases. Location, room comfort,decor and food services!
Can't get a much better review than that! We truly appreciate you taking the time to voice your opinion on our hotel and services.
We hope to see you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I stay at this hotel every month when I travel through for work. Well kept and modern. Great dining options on site and central to other dining establishments around town. Wonderful staff. It's definitely the best of the ones I stay at.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing O, Owner at Best Western The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Craig B
Thanks again for staying with us! We love seeing familiar faces.
It was very kind of you to take the time to write about us in such a positive light.
We try hard to continue to win customer loyalty and to provide them with a complete
package stay.
As you mentioned the location is great as well. You can leave your car behind and walk to everything.
We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I have been staying at this location for business for 3 years. I hadn't been in almost a year due to territory changes. It sure was nice to be back at this location. The rooms are great, comfortable mattresses and clean. I've always had a pleasant stay here. In March my mom went there with my daughter for some grandma, grand daughter time and both loved the hotel and raved about the pool. I will keep sending people there due to their customer service and facilities.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managing O, Owner at Best Western The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Sean J
Wow thank you so much for your great review and your loyalty.
We are so glad you love our product and that your Mom and Daughter enjoyed the pool area.
I'm not sure if you are aware that there is a games area as well.
It was nice of you to take time out to write about us.
Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
0.1 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
834 reviews
2.4 mi away
Port Augusta Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Best Western Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
518 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Courtenay BC
Travelodge Courtenay BC
#6 of 9 in Courtenay
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Westerly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Westerly Hotel

Property: Best Western The Westerly Hotel
Address: 1590 Cliffe Ave, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 2K4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Courtenay
#1 Business Hotel in Courtenay
#4 Family Hotel in Courtenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Westerly Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtenay's Only Full-Service Hotel Centrally Located in the Heart of the Comox Valley our location offers convenient access to all that Comox Valley has to offer. Our property features 139 guestrooms and suites, inclusive of our newer 36 room Mountainside wing. We are pleased to provide high-speed wireless Internet, local phone calls and parking. We have three on-site food & beverage outlets including a restaurant, lounge and pub and Specialty Liquor Store. Additional hotel facilities include a heated in-door pool, hot tub, sauna, fitness facilities, business centre, ski & bike storage, guest coin laundry, games room, sports team locker rooms and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western The Westerly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Westerly Hotel And Convention Centre
Best Western Courtenay
Courtenay Best Western
Best Western The Westerly Hotel Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing