We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sport and elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Villas at Crown Isle Resort
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Courtenay
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sport and elegance”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We was in a villa with our child and it was very confortable with a small cooking facility and two large beds. We had a ground floor room with direct access to playground outside. Very good for golfers.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Furbacchietto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    49
    22
    6
    2
See reviews for
32
74
6
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Freeland, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I highly recommend Crown Isle Resort for any type of getaway. Ours was the romantic variety, but the villas would be great for families or business and the good course looked great too. Apparently Trip Advisor would like me to use a minimum of 200 characters, though what I had to say was done. Hopefully this is now at least 200 characters.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickAndTammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penticton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I stay here on business regularly over the last couple of years, and am always impressed by how nice and clean the rooms are. They are so much better than what any chain can offer, and for about the same price. Nice sized rooms, and you can get full suites as well that are very well appointed. However, there is some room for small improvements, and updating done in a couple of areas. I can't believe they offer such beautiful rooms, and you're stuck with a 20" tube TV? Flat screens are cheaper than ever these days, and standard in many lower quality hotels. Bathrooms (shower) could also use a bit of an upgrade, but minor issue, really. Bar/restaurant is pretty good, service and food, however, there are no other options on that side of town within walking distance. Front desk service is always great, friendly staff, check out is quick and easy. I always look forward to coming back. Haven't had a chance to try the golf yet, but hope to soon, looks like a great course.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownResort, Manager at The Villas at Crown Isle Resort, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Thank you for the feedback on your stay at Crown Isle. We are currently in the process of changing out the TV’s you referenced, with new flat screens. To date almost half of the TV units have been upgraded, with the rest being completed in the not too distant future. As part of our ongoing efforts to maintain the high quality level of our villa units, our regular unit inspections aim to identify those items that we might target for attention. Your comment about the bathroom shower has been reviewed by our team with the view to ensuring this component is covered in our inspections.
I appreciate your comments, as this type of input allows us to better understand the preferences of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I stayed 7 nights in the villas. The room was spacious and bright with lots of windows and nice views of the golf course. The bed was very comfortable and I slept well, although the A/C unit was quite loud. Still, it was really hot that week so it was certainly better than no A/C at all! My only concern was the cleaning routine, or lack thereof. I found it quite inconsistent: despite always leaving my towels on the rack, some days they were replaced, others they were not. Every day but the first one my hand soap was removed and a new one was (usually) left. Why do I need new soap every day? Aside from a few dead bugs on window sills I found the room to be clean. Others in my group were less impressed with the cleanliness, finding dead bugs on the bathroom counter and the mirror not washed for multiple days. The front desk was friendly and overall I didn't mind staying there, but I certainly wish there was a pool!

Room Tip: Take a top floor room. The people in my group with occupied rooms above them said they could hear ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelownafan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownResort, Manager at The Villas at Crown Isle Resort, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Thank you for your feedback on the cleaning routine during your stay at Crown Isle resort. We do try to ensure consistency with our room cleaning process. As indicated on the conservation notice in the bathroom amenities basket, towels hung on the rack are to be left for reuse. Many hotels today follow such a practice in order to conserve water. On longer term stays, such as 7 nights, our housekeeping team does attempt to freshen up the towels after a few days. A fresh bar of soap is placed in the amenities basket simply for convenience and does not need to be opened if the guest is satisfied with the used bar.
Many of our Villas are located either on the golf course or in a wooded area, with this locale a few bugs do get into the units when front doors and balcony doors are used and invariably expire trying to get out. Our housekeeping team make every effort to keep the rooms pristine during our guests stay.
Your review has been discussed at our top management level and from it we are re-evaluating the message and placement of our "towel message" as well as how many times per day our housekeepers check on the guest rooms.
I appreciate your comments. Reviews help us assess how we conduct our business and in some cases improve our product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

For the price of a hotel room you get a lavishly furnished condo apartment with fireplace(s), Full Kitchen, Honeymoon Hot Tub in the bedroom, and a multihead shower. Overlooks the golf course, and rooms are a short walk to a great pub with patio on sunny days - Terrific value - only regret was that I was travelling on business alone!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedRoadRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I've stayed at Crown Isle on work and personal trips over the past 7-8 years. Fortunately, the place hasn't really changed much. Great rooms, awesome views of the golf course, and friendly staff. Unfortunately, the place hasn't really changed much - starting to show its age. Needs some new linens, new TV's, and new paint. The good news is on my last stay I noticed that they FINALLY added A/C units to the villas (used to be hot in the summer).

The food at the Silverado and Timber Room restaurants remains overpriced and under quality based on my expectations - you're best off to go into Courtenay or Comox for better dinner/lunch options. There are plenty to choose from.

Be sure to try the golf course if you have time... It's one of the better ones in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for the top/2nd floor of any of the villas - you don't want to be on the bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Villas at Crown Isle Resort, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Thank you very much for your loyalty in staying with us for the past 8 years. All customer comments are discussed with our management team with the goal for us to continually improve and exceed our guests expectations.
I am pleased when we receive reviews - particularly on our staff service and product we offer. I am also pleased to mention that we are in the process of updating our Guest Villas with new TVs, guest robes and a newer style of bedding. New carpet has been ordered for our Clubhouse, as have new chairs for our restaurants. 2012 is indeed a big year for us...and we are excited for all of these updates. Hopefully on your next stay you will see our progress.
The Comox Valley has many great places to dine. I believe we offer two great options with our family-friendly Timber Room and our dining room, Silverado. We continually work on our menus, utilizing the Comox Valley's local farms, freshest meats and seafood. We too, have high expectations of ourselves and appreciate your comments here as well. I am glad to have many great options for eating here in the Valley.
Best Regards, Gregor Mowatt - Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We treated our daughter and son-in-law to an anniversary dinner at the main dining room, the Silverado, at Crown Isle. The food was absolutely outstanding. We all started with the "award winning bisque" which will continue winning awards it was so outstanding. Then 3 of us had the sirloin which was cooked to perfection and delicious. My wife had the pork which she also thoroughly enjoyed. We all had different desserts so we could all taste and again enjoy. Add to this the lovely setting and the outstanding service to make this a truly memorable meal.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeEgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
2.4 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
817 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
2.3 mi away
Best Western The Westerly Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Port Augusta Inn and Suites
108.4 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
5.8 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villas at Crown Isle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Crown Isle Resort

Property: The Villas at Crown Isle Resort
Address: 399 Clubhouse Dr, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 9G3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Courtenay
#3 Family Hotel in Courtenay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Courtenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villas at Crown Isle Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let Crown Isle be your ultimate home base in the Comox Valley. Our hotel villas are nestled in the trees along the 1st fairway of our championship golf course, a tranquil nature escape with easy access to recreation, shopping & all amenities. Perfect for a golf getaway, corporate retreat, or a family vacation. The stunning 48,000 square foot resort centre features: the family-friendly Timber Room Bar and Grill; conference facilities; golf shop; and fitness centre. Accommodation ranges from hotel-style fairway rooms, to Villas with jetted tubs for two and full living room and kitchen. Two-bedroom and loft units also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Villas at Crown Isle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At Crown Isle
Resort At Crown Isle
The Villas At Crown Isle Resort Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing