We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hospitality above and beyond.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salsbury House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Courtenay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Salsbury House B&B
Ranked #10 of 16 Courtenay B&B and Inns
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Hospitality above and beyond.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Lewis and James have got it down. They are a great team, as you will see from the moment you arrive at the front door of their lovely home. The attention to detail, to ensure a wonderful stay, is indeed above and beyond. Super food, very comfortable accommodations and great company. My wife and I both thoroughly enjoyed our two nights spent at Salsbury House.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KenJennings1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis B, Owner at Salsbury House B&B, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
It was our pleasure to host you in our home. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you both again on your next visit to the Comox Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Wonderful house, charming hosts fantastic breakfast!

This quiet and lovely home is a perfect place for a romantic or peaceful getaway. we particularly enjoyed their lovely gardens and the quaint town of Courtney with all the surrounding parks and beauty that it offers. James and Lew were very helpful in planning our trip and recommending outings. This was our first trip to the island and we can't wait to return.


Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Northbay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Angeles, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

My boyfriend & I stayed there for our 3 year anniversary trip. Lew and james were wonderful hosts. Lew gave us great advice on what to do and had a lot of great facts and stories to tell about the area. James cooking was amazing. The food was not your typical continental food you would get at a chain motel. Bfast consisted of eggs benedict, everything made from scratch. Just delicious! And their backyard was the perfect place to sit and unwind aftr a long day of sightseeing. We even took their dog for a walk! It was just a great place because we felt like we were locals living there for a few days! We would HIGHLY recommend staying there! You will leave feeling happier, refreshed, bellys full, and have new friends for life!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheablevins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

Stayed at Salsbury B&B a few times and plan to do so again. Wonderful, kind, warm and funny hosts. Truly enjoyed the garden, so peaceful and beautiful. Food is great... the owner is a master chef! Thanks James for the wonderful food, thanks Lew for the warm welcoming and great conversation... wow, so interesting.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

My friend and I visited Salsbury House around Easter. Lew and James were the most gracious of hosts, making sure that every minute of our stay was perfect.

Accommodation was top class - lovely and clean. The house was so quiet too, ensuring that we had a great night's sleep. This was helped by the fact its location was away from the main thoroughfare of the town.

The Canadian weather played its part too - we stayed over at Easter time. One of the days, we were sat in the garden enjoying the spring sunshine, the next we were eating with Lew and James as it snowed outside! It was the only Easter meal I've had where Christmas carols were playing!

Overall, a visit to Canada that will last a lifetime - and one that Lew and James made memorable. Thanks both!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonney Lake, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

We visited this B&B on a vacation around BC area for a night. Not only are the grounds of the home beautiful the house is so homey you feel like your visiting family. Lew and James are very welcoming and accommodating. They recommended local "must see" spots which was a great touch. I need to get back and visit for another get away!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jenni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

If you are looking for a romantic, relaxing getaway and a breakfast prepared by a professional chef, this is the place. Fresh ingredients from the garden, personable hosts and quiet, spotless, comfortable accommodations set The Salisbury House apart from any other run of the mill B & B. We didn't want to leave. I only wish I could give it a hundred stars.

Room Tip: No fitnes center or pool but TripAdvisor wouldn't let me deselect the options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Courtenay hotels
2.2 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Beach House Bed and Breakfast
6.3 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
2.7 mi away
Lake Trail Guesthouse
Lake Trail Guesthouse
#5 of 16 in Courtenay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salsbury House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salsbury House B&B

Property: Salsbury House B&B
Address: 65 Salsbury Rd, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 9L7, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Courtenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We feature off street parking in a rural family neighbourhood, a private entrance, a large library in the common room, Secured WIFI or high speed internet (Mac), private 3/4 bath, Queen size bed, free local calls, sight seeing trip planning, event venue and of course our gardens to simply relax in.Local ingredients are used in preparing our special Salsbury Breakfast when seasonally available. Special attention is given to specific dietary needs.Our involvement with the Comox Valley culinary community enables us to give you expert recommendations for your lunch or dinner at many great local restaurants and bistros. We are also strong believers in supporting local food producers.Free shuttle service to and from CFB Comox, VIA Rail Station, Greyhound bus terminal, Mt. Washington Ski Shuttle, St. Joseph’s Hospital and Comox Valley Airport.Please note: friendly family dog on premises. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Salsbury House B&B Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing