We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A regular visit”

Manvirros Indian Grill
Ranked #7 of 144 Restaurants in Courtenay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Campbell River, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A regular visit”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Have been using this restaurant since it opened. I had given up on getting a hot curry in Canada (45 years of living in the U.K.) so was delighted to finally find somewhere that could do a hot Vindaloo curry. Curry is a very good effort and the heat is very good for a vindaloo. All curry dishes are offered at different heat/spice levels but cant see the point of having a mild vindaloo or spoiling a Korma by making it hot. think this practice should be dropped and get educated on the different curry types. Will visit again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    53
    9
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
BC
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Finally Indian Food in the Comox Valley!”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I am so happy that we have an Indian Food restaurant in Courtenay now!

The food is decent, large portions. The Naan is very good, we always get the garlic naan. Lentil Dahl is very good, and of course butter chicken.

Pretty good prices too for what you get.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ILoveSummerSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Butter chicken”
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

Hands down the worst butter chicken I have ever had. It was yellow in colour (should always be red) and it was sweet! Service was fairly slow but friendly and the lamb vindaloo was decent. Will definitely not be back!

Helpful?
4 Thank danifinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Busy, good food, "interesting" service”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I dined with two friends and we had a discount coupon that I had purchased. They got there before me and had waited - when I showed up, we asked if we could order right away. Well no, first we were offered drinks. OK...we ordered drinks. Well no...then there is a period of time when one possibly should be eating an appetizer (but we didn't order one). Much time went by before we could order. More time went by before the food came. It was good, spiced wonderfully. We ate and talked our way through the meal happily.

Time to pay. We produced the coupon. The person who served us (but also seemed to be in charge) announced that our coupon had already been used. "Well no - I bought it and I've never been here before." There was a LONG MOMENT before he said, "Well I guess I have to take your word for it." He didn't have to take my word for it. I had a coupon! They were scratching the numbers off a sheet as they came in. I presume that someone crossed off the wrong line. I didn't like that moment at all. Hence, a less that stellar review.

The good news, you can order your food to the hotness that you wish. And it comes exactly that way. Very very yummy curries and dishes!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Easygoing-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Delicious Lunch, Friendly Welcome”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

3 friends & I had lunch at Manvirro's a couple of days ago-return visit for me, new for my friends. We were warmly welcomed. Service was attentive but not intrusive. Relaxed atmosphere. We ordered 4 dishes to share plus naan & rice: chicken korma, lamb coconut, spinach paneer & an eggplant dish. All were delicious; we would have them again - if we aren't checking out other dishes on the menu. We all agreed that we would come again. Our only wish was that there was a lunch buffet.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ravenjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Manvirros Indian Grill also viewed

 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 

Been to Manvirros Indian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing