We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food, pleasant service and good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chad's West Coast Grill and Bar - CLOSED

Chad's West Coast Grill and Bar
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian, Pub
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
CAMPBELL RIVER
Level Contributor
168 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“good food, pleasant service and good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We visited for dinner. The place was not busy but it was a Monday and early (5:00). The food was well prepared, tasty, hot and served promptly. The servers were very pleasant and, to me, seemed to care about our impressions and our meal. The cost was reasonable. This is an old Appleby's so the building is very nice. The great thing about Chad's is that it is NOT an Appleby's in that the food and the service are far better than any Appleby's I've been in. We will certainly be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ROBERT N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Powell River, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“what a find!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

My husband and I stumbled upon Chad's this afternoon as we headed home from a short holiday. we had trouble picking from the menu there were so many dishes that we wanted to try. I settled on the butter chicken curry and was not disappointed. It was the best and hottest I have ever had! My husband had the prime rib beef dip and it was exceptionally good. The servers were very friendly and efficient. I would have loved trying the fish tacos.... pad tai .... buttermilk chicken burger... it was an amazing menu...

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GrannySharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stopped by Chad's yesterday for lunch and can say they have greatly improved. Hubby had the Original Burger .. said it was one of the best he had ever eaten .. and fully loaded. Me... the salad and sandwich combo.. fabulous... Prawn & Spinach salad and a 1/2 cranberry avocado club. What can I say.. cleaned my plate. Highly recommend Chad's... and yes the service was excellent also.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ladysfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ucluelet, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Best Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

My 7 year old grandson chose Chads for his birthday supper. The special was "All you can eat" mini ribs for $12.99. I can honestly say I have never eaten better BBQ'd ribs anywhere.
The service was excellent and the owner even checked at each table to check that everyone was satisfied.
The good was top notch as was the whole experience. Kids meals wonderful at $2.99 each.
Don't miss this place if in Courtenay.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DEastUcluelet_B_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We were visiting Courtenay for a hockey tournament, and decided to give Chad's a try. Great menu, large potion sizes, and our meals were excellent. Very good service as well.

Helpful?
Thank Fleuve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chad's West Coast Grill and Bar also viewed

 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 
Courtenay, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing