We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations for a small community”

Courtenay & District Museum & Paleontology Centre
Ranked #8 of 39 things to do in Courtenay
Attraction details
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations for a small community”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We visited the museum especially to see the paleontology display. The staff were friendly and the cost is by donation. The exhibits were well done and of great quality- including murals portraying prehistoric time. This exceeded our expectations of what to expect from a museum in a small community. Upstairs there was lots of great artifacts and information on the First Nations and on the history of the Comox Valley. Scrapbooks, videos, photos and memorabilia chronicle the history and would be interesting to visitors of all ages. We didn't follow up our visit with a fossil tour, but would like to do this in the future.

Visited July 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    18
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Packed with Fossils”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Really interesting fossil collections and displays but not enough fossil related items to buy in the gift shop. I was looking for an elasmosaur shirt for my grandson but none there. Thought that was odd. Will have to look around town for one I guess.

Visited July 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenton, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fossil Tour…Yes Please!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The museum is packed with cool specimens, and the fossil tour makes it all come to life. PAt took us out to the Trent River where he taught us the technique to find and physical remove the fossils. He was knowledgable, informative, and fun. We found ammonites, nautilus', clams, and lobster fossils that were 80,000 years old. I highly recommend this adventure!

Visited May 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Black Creek, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Newly renovated displays”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Lots of interesting dinosaur info and fossils found locally, and the displays are recently renovated.

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent History of the Comox Valley back to ice age fossils”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Amazing collection of ice age historical reptile bones and Native artifacts. Knowlegeable staff who are very helpful with information about their exhibits and records

Visited December 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Courtenay & District Museum & Paleontology Centre also viewed

Courtenay, Comox Valley
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing