We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Belle Vue Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 15 Courtenay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Gorgeous view, lovely home, friendly hospitality and spectacular breakfasts.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2011

If you need a timeout and want to be reconnected to your inner self you go and stay at Haideh`s and Walter`s who are caring for their guests with so much friendliness and love in everything. A tasty and wonderfully arranged breakfast on their terrace facing the lovely decorated garden and the marvellous beach vieuw with all those mountains in the background is a special event you will never forget. Seaeagles live in their garden and they surely recognize good and powerful places. Also the rooms show with a lot of special details that the hosts want their guests to feel at home. Moreover you can book a massage or enjoy a hot whirlpool.

Room Tip: The rooms are all high quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sybilleBremen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

This B & B is nice. The rooms are spacious and clean. There's everything you need here for a comfortable night's sleep in a peaceful ocean-side setting (note: this is the calm side of the island! No big waves here, unless it's very windy). We stayed in Gabi's room, which is the largest room at this B & B.

Pro's
-very nice three-course breakfast provided with unusual ingredients that makes it interesting (eg the fruit salad had a ginger flavor)
-quiet, out-of-the-way setting, ten minute drive north of the town center for Courtenay
-on the water
-great view of the water from the sitting area of the large suite
-use of garden & hot tub included
-nice super-sized jetted bath tub
-mid-sized fridge to store your groceries
-friendly hosts

Cons
-had to walk through the house to get to the rooms (i know this is not unusual for B & B's but I prefer a private entrance)
-hard to find.... online directions not clear enough
-internet kept cutting in and out (had to restart computer alot)
-no real cream for the coffee in your room (bring your own!)

Tips & Hints -
-if you're driving from Tofino, stop at Little Qualicum Falls park (near Parksville) for a hike by the waterfalls there. It's about half way, so it's a good 'break' from driving, and the views of the falls are fantastic.
-there are no cooking facilities available (not even a microwave), so if you plan to bring your own dinner to eat on site, then make sure it's "cold stuff". All you get in the room to assist with food preparation is a fridge and a kettle, two coffee cups with instant coffee/sugar/CoffeeMate, two wine glasses & a wine bottle opener!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morsemorse, Owner at Belle Vue Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2011

Management Response

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and encourage guests to let us know if anything needs attention. We do all cleaning and room preparation ourselves and know that we may miss something. By way of explanation, we’d like to say:
Re: “walk through house”--- there are outside stairs available. As “Lucky” says, inside access to bedrooms is not unusual in a B&B since it is a home, not a hotel, but all our rooms are accessible from the balcony seaside, but the doors are not lockable from the outside
“directions”--- since we don’t always know where the guests are coming from we do have a toll free # for everyone to use and we are more than happy to guide you. Our website does have directions for the major routes, but we understand that unfamiliar places can be challenging
“WiFi”--- we very much appreciate this comment, and we will follow up and rectify any issues. We would find it upsetting if our connections failed and we had to start over.
“Cream”--- ‘real’ cream is always available from our kitchen, this way we can ensure freshness, please feel free to ask
“Microwave”--- we may be a bit nuts about that, we don’t own one at all
“no cooking”--- our rooms are not designed for cooking and eating “in”. The kettle is there to accommodate our tea and coffee drinking guests. Tea drinkers deserve clear boiling water, unpolluted by the former coffee filter residue and coffee drinkers deserve the best too, which we found to be VIA, Starbuck’s newest product.
“bed photo”--- it is hard to resist a wrinkle-free feather bed. Most of our guests hop on and try them out! Each of our rooms features a queen sized bed with feather bed and eiderdown!
Thank you, Tripadvisor, for giving a forum to guests and owners to inter-act.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Belle Vue B&B is located in a very quiet, serene and calming oceanfront location. The views are breathtaking, the breakfasts delightful and the hosts, Haideh & Walter are the most gracious and interesting people that made us feel so welcome and pampered! They had many tips on where to go in the area. The room was lovely and comfortable and this is an extremely clean and well-kept B&B. Definitely a place we will gladly return to. In fact, we cut out stay short elsewhere to return and have one more night!
Pocos and Tip(dogs) were a bonus!

Room Tip: Gabi's room has a large ensuite and the room is large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WandaBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Beautiful room with stylish en suite and a balcony overlooking the beach. All furnished and fitted to a very high standard. We were made most welcome by friendly and caring hosts.
Good position for beach but is still a 'getaway' spot - in peaceful country.
No downsides - maybe a little difficult to find - tho directions made it fairly straightforward.

Room Tip: Ask the hosts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alturbo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed in "The Gabi" room....very large room with sitting area on the second floor with a beautiful view of the ocean. The bathroom is large with a jacuzzi tub. An extra shelf to place toiletries to the right of the mirror would be nice. The breakfasts were wonderful, fresh fruit from the garden, very flavorful meals and nicely presented. Haideh and Walter are very helpful giving information about the area. When one of their guests were stranded, due to a car accident, Walter went to pick them up....that's beyond great service!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leisurelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We were stranded miles away after hitting a deer on the north island. We called the host/ess at Belle Vue BB to explain and they went beyond hospitality - they came and got us. They are the best people, attention to every detail, fabulous breakfast, great view of ocean from your balcony, lovely room.

Room Tip: They are all nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skiitanyway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Courtenay hotels
6.4 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
1,007 reviews
11 mi away
Willow Guest House
Willow Guest House
#1 of 15 in Courtenay
162 reviews
8.3 mi away
Beach House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
8.7 mi away
Lake Trail Guesthouse
Lake Trail Guesthouse
#9 of 15 in Courtenay
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle Vue Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle Vue Bed and Breakfast

Address: 5782 Coral Rd, Courtenay, British Columbia V9J 1W9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Courtenay
Price Range: £106 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Belle Vue Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belle Vue B&B features:**romantic get-a-way gazing at night time stars or lapping waves**time for relaxation and reflection by the fireplace in your room**beach walks and watching ocean critters**on site kayaks to visit our seal colony**scrumptious 4 course breakfasts**easy access to restaurants and shopping**many nature trails filled with wildlife**35 min drive to Mt. Washington to enjoy skiing alpine/cross country, snow shoeing**each room is ensuite with fireplace, fridge, coffee/tea, TV/VCR**beds are covered with featherbeds and duvets for extra cozyness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Belle Vue Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle Vue Bed And Breakfast Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing