We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belle Vue Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Belle Vue Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 16 Courtenay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

I made reservations and had several communications confirming our visit over a month in advance. Yet two days before our scheduled arrival, while already in the middle of our road trip and a thousand miles from home, we were cancelled due to "overbooking". It's a shame that such a small place can't keep their records straight. When confronted, the innkeeper confirmed that we would have been charged the full rate if we had cancelled. He also recommended a different B&B that had availability but frankly it wasn't our style of place. He offered to put us up for one night at no charge a week later but when traveling over 3000 miles on a well planned road trip who can change plans so quickly without getting penalized by someone??? Very sad. But on the bright side we stayed farther south in Nanaimo and found it to be a much better location (and less expensive) anyway. So don't assume your reservation is guaranteed.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 72GG_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morsemorse, Owner at Belle Vue Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear 72GG, from Sacramento, CA - thank you for giving us the opportunity to once again apologize, this time publicly, for our mistake. In 12 years of inn-keeping, this is a new one on us. Our guest’s holidays are extremely important to us, and it is our endeavor to add, not subtract, to the magic of travel (as we are sure you can discern from other reviews we have so graciously received).
We do hope you will accept our apology!
We did our very best to mitigate any damage and contacted Foskett House, who was willing to help out. They too are long time innkeepers who, like us, had a 41/2 star rating from Canada Select. They are certainly on equal standing with us.
It is very sad to find such a wrinkle in your travel plans, fortunately you found a wonderful and less expensive place to stay in Nanaimo, and so resumed your holiday with hopefully better spirits.
Once again – we are very sorry!
Sincerely, Haideh and Walter Jordan (owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
162
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We spent 5 nights at Gabi's Room. This place is everything you would want and more. The "more" comes from Walter and Haideh who operate this B&B. They were amazing. We felt right at home in their beautiful, restful surroundings. We also enjoyed their two "man's best friends," their sweet and well behaved dogs. Breakfast was 5 star, AAA and utterly superlatively healthy as well as delicious. I have never stayed in a better place for a better value. So peaceful and quiet. As well, he area around this B&B is LOADED with so many attractions of all sorts. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okotoks
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Every glowing report and review of this B&B is true. We stayed in Gabi's Room, which was spacious and tastefully decorated, with every amenity available.This is one of the most friendly, well laid out, and welcoming B&B's we have stayed at. It was a pleasure to converse with the helpful and friendly owners, who bent over backwards to make our stay an exceptional experience. They suggested great restaurants in the local area, and even phoned the restaurants to book our reservations. Helpful advice on the local sights were always ready. A peaceful setting overlooking the Straights, and quiet evenings enjoying a relaxing glass of wine are guaranteed. Overall, a wonderful experience staying here, and we thank the owners for the efforts they have put in to make this a great B&B.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Percy G in Okot... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We recently spent three restful nights at Belle Vue in Gabi's Suite. Walter & Haideh attended to us with the professionalism and consideration befitting the most experienced B&B owner/operators and those who have found their 'calling'.
Belle Vue is absolutely as advertised and represented. It is in a quiet neighbourhood, located on a lovely waterfront property with gorgeous sunrises.
The breakfasts are clearly prepared with great care and consideration to please all guests. Walter sings joyfully while drying dishes and even the resident flat-coated retrievers make you feel like you are part of the family.
We've stayed in B&Bs in many places, this is the first we've reviewed, and are glad to give our hearty endorsement. If you want a spotless, comfortable, spacious, and quiet oasis with delicious breakfasts, and the 'extra' amenities (stocked ensuite fridge, towel warmers and an outdoor spa), then you should find the Belle Vue B&B delightful. We hope we can return to be cared for by Haideh & Walter!

Room Tip: recommend Gabi's room - en-suite spa tub, fireplace, spacious, close to the outdoor spa, large b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, OR
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Having never been to the Courtenay/Comox area I relied on Tripadvisor and "about comox valley" reviews in selecting a B&B and we weren't disappointed. Belle Vue is off the beaten path for sure (still only 15 minutes from the center of Courtenay) but so worth the few miles to get there. The highlights: greeted by Walter and lively Pocos, a thoughtfully decorated room (including a wine opener and glasses), the delicious and bountiful breakfast prepared by Haideh (no lunch for us those two days), local knowledge and recommendations for dining, hikes, patient Tip putting up with Pocos antics and Haideh's beautiful dahlias. We didn't take advantage of the hot tub but did enjoy a glass of wine on the deck outside of our room and watching the sea otters play.
For restaurants, Walter recommended Locals at the Old House in Courtenay, Black Fin and Martine's Bistro in Comox. All well worth a visit, though Locals was our favorite, ate there twice.

Put this B&B on your "must visit" list.

Room Tip: All three rooms are excellent with the same view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bendbubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We've already stayed twice & are excitedly planning another stay. Walter & Haideh provide the sort of superlative service travellers are bound to appreciate. They combine fantastic rooms on a quiet, rural waterfront location, with a comfortable feel of "home" and the friendly, reassuring sense of being welcome at all times. We really appreciate the lengths they go to in order to offer guests a nutritious, tasty breakfast and extremely informative tips on where to go, as well as how to get there, and back. We've definitely learned a thing or two from Walter & Haideh about how best to ensure guests have a great experience, & feel looked after! Without a doubt, Belle Vue is our number one choice for accommodations when visiting the "super natural" Comox Valley & Courtenay.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms have great ocean views, & the waves can be heard if the weather permits one to leav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suitedeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
103 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We spent one night at this lovely bed and breakfast and wished we had planned for a longer stay. Our room, Gabriela's room, was beautiful with a stunning view of the water. The bed was a very comfortable king, the bathroom very well thought out with a great shower, a nice electric "fireplace" added a homey touch and the balcony was a great place to watch the birds, the water and the tides as they moved throughout the day and evening. Seals show up there as well, though we didn't see them.

Our hosts, Heideh and Walter, were so hospitable and helpful, yet not intrusive. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and, again, we wished we had stayed longer. We highly recommend this great bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: They all look over the water. The Gabriela room was large and on the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chicosmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Courtenay hotels
6.4 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
10.5 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Beach House Bed and Breakfast
4.6 mi away
The Villas at Crown Isle Resort
9.5 mi away
Lake Trail Guesthouse
Lake Trail Guesthouse
#5 of 16 in Courtenay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle Vue Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle Vue Bed and Breakfast

Property: Belle Vue Bed and Breakfast
Address: 5782 Coral Rd, Courtenay, British Columbia V9J 1W9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Courtenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Belle Vue Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belle Vue B&B features:**romantic get-a-way gazing at night time stars or lapping waves**time for relaxation and reflection by the fireplace in your room**beach walks and watching ocean critters**on site kayaks to visit our seal colony**scrumptious 4 course breakfasts**easy access to restaurants and shopping**many nature trails filled with wildlife**35 min drive to Mt. Washington to enjoy skiing alpine/cross country, snow shoeing**each room is ensuite with fireplace, fridge, coffee/tea, TV/VCR**beds are covered with featherbeds and duvets for extra cozyness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Belle Vue Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle Vue Bed And Breakfast Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing