We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely brilliant value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Courtenay
Certificate of Excellence
warwickshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant value for money!”
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed here in September for 1 night only. When we saw our suit, we wished were staying longer! Fantastic value for money. Great kitchen facility and lounge-dining area. The bathroom and bedroom were not large but the space in the living area more than made up for that. I have no criticism for this place, the staff were great and we really appreciated it.

Only note of warning - probably best to provide your own breakfast after all there is a great kitchen. A self-service breakfast was provided in the lobby - orange juice, muffins and granola. But there was really nowhere to sit. This was more of a breakfast for business people using to eating on the go. But this is not a criticism at all merely advice for those people on holiday.

Would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone staying in the Courtenay-Comox area!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillybeans88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    237
    65
    14
    10
See reviews for
180
333
33
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I've been caring for my terminally ill partner for 2 1/2 years. I was totally "bagged", and needed to find my self again. After four days at this beautiful spot I felt calm and relaxed. The suite (#2302) was perfect. A view of The Old House and Gardens and the river; sunlight throughout the day. The suite was perfect. Simple, elegant and well equipped. Bed was heaven. Pool and hot tub were perfect temperatures. THE SPA !!! Gracious and gentle treatments, respectful and attentive therapists. Especially Emma and Stacey.

My only disappointment was that the restaurant in The Old House was closed four months ago. I love history and heritage homes, and was anticipating a lovely meal there. Peeking in the windows and walking through the derelict gardens made me feel very sad. I hope someone will resurrect this amazing site.

My only caution: ask for a suite as far away from the Bridge as possible. The noise from the ever-present traffic is oppressive.

Room Tip: As far away as possible from the Bridge. Room 2302 is magnificent. The rooms in the new building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

At first I was concerned at how close the highway and bridge was to the hotel, but it really was not a worry at all. Hotel settnig is beautiful and stayed in the building for larger suites. Loved the ability to take the walk along the river to downtown Courtenay. The room was beautifully appointed, faced the pretty garden and pond. We stayed 8 nights and enjoyed it all. Nice touch to have coffee, tea, muffins available.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oceanics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nanaimo
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Just stayed for a night on a whim and had a great experience. My room was great with a beautiful view of the river. The pool and hot tub were perfect temperatures and the location of the hotel is very convenient. The staff though were the standout part of the experience, everyone there made me feel welcome but Jill and Ashley especially. Best customer service that I have ever experienced. I will definitely be back!!!

Room Tip: ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHMGR, General Manager at Old House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
On behalf of the staff and management team I wish to express how happy we are to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always appreciated when one of our guests takes the time to let us, and their fellow Trip Advisor reviewers, know when we have gone above and beyond to ensure your experience with the Old House Village Hotel & Spa was a positive one. We hope to see you again soon.

K Pearce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Beautiful accommodations, great spa and incredible service. Recommend the hydrotherapy. Truly relaxing and unique. Stayed in a suite overlooking the river. Private and peaceful. Thank you Kerry and Susie for making our stay so memorable. We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam_Iam96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, B.C.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Large suite, with a balcony, a kitchen and a view of the river, the pool, and green space beyond. Very well appointed with everything you would need in a kitchen, a very comfortable bed, and a spacious sitting area. Even though the hotel was full, it was very quiet. We hosted a family dinner for 5 and found it easy. It felt like a condo - could easily be a second home! The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Loved the plush terry robes for use in the pool and spa! A great place if you need a little pampering.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topcat49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ucluelet, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Highly Recommended as a comfortable and convenient place to stay in Courtenay. I stayed in suite which featured a full kitchen, including a dishwasher, washer and dryer, kingsize bed, a fantastically deep and long tub (I'm 6'5" and fit without issue) great patio and view, a BBQ for guest use, sauna and hot tub and a pool. There is a great walkway along the river and a fitness area too. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Repairmanjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Westerly Hotel
59.4 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Port Augusta Inn and Suites
4.8 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
2.4 mi away
The Villas at Crown Isle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old House Hotel & Spa

Property: Old House Hotel & Spa
Address: 1730 Riverside Lane, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 8C7, Canada (Formerly Old House Village Hotel & Spa)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Courtenay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Courtenay
#4 Business Hotel in Courtenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old House Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old House Hotel & Spa is a luxury boutique hotel property in the heart of the Comox Valley. We offer 79 rooms ranging from deluxe studios, one & two bedroom suites and one penthouse suite. We are located on the Courtenay River centrally located to all amenities such as down town shopping, dining, championship golf courses, Mount Washington Ski resort and the Comox International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Old House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old House Village Hotel Courtenay
Old House Village Hotel And Spa
Old Hotel Village
Old House Hotel & Spa Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing