We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very, very nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Courtenay
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Meares, Oregon
Level Contributor
129 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very, very nice!”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This is an extremely nice property and very well run. So nice, in fact, that we would have stayed another night had we not had other holiday engagements. The best hot tub I've been in. Period. And that being in a commercial venue, which says a lot. Heated swimming pool in the middle of winter - nice! Great rooms - so good in fact that I had to try to find something amiss. It took awhile, but finally came across a fault - the freezer compartment in the refrig had not been defrosted...! We waited for a third floor deluxe suite. These have vaulted ceilings and great furnishings, a fully equipped kitchen nook, sitting area, work area, well, you get the idea - there is a lot of space. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Third floor delux suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obankestrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    225
    60
    14
    10
See reviews for
167
317
32
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo,BC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2014

An excellent facility with lovely rooms and great customer service. The spa was first class and very accommodating
We upgraded to the two bedroom suite our second night and were not disappointed

The staff was helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend this hotel if you ever go to Courtenay

Room Tip: Choose the rooms overlooking the pool not as noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleNanaimo_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My husband and I were intending to stay here after a day of skiing on Mount Washington. Unfortunately the mountain didn't have enough snow to open, but this hotel made for an enjoyable trip nonetheless. We got a great deal through Island Daily Deals, and stayed in a “Deluxe Studio King Bed”. We found the room to be very spacious, clean, and comfortable. I was nervous about how much noise there would be considering the location, but it turned out to be one of the quietest and most peaceful stays we have ever had at a hotel. Old House Village comes highly recommended from us. We would definitely like to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baimoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The Old House has wonderfully comfortable rooms, helpful and courteous staff, great facilities, and a perfect location for exploring downtown Courtenay. This was my first overnight stay, and I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Main building has an outdoor hot tub, second building has an indoor hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LLSociable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell River, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Stayed because they had a great offer, on a per night basis, can't think we have ever got so much for so little. Rooms was very spacious, good finishings. A pet peace I have is "high end" hotels with matching rates, and cheap finishings, especially the linens. Old house is awesome for not cutting cost with cheap linens. Would be well worth longer stays, sadly we were just passing through. Location is excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHMGR, Manager at Old House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us at The Old House Village Hotel & Spa. I'm so glad to hear that you were impressed with the quality of our linens and that you enjoyed your experience, overall. We hope to welcome you back in the near future for a longer visit! Warm regards, The Team at The Old House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell River, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This was our first stay and found everything to be just fine. The staff were polite and helpful.
The room was clean, comfortable and very relaxing. In the future we plan to make this our base when we are in Courtenay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold River, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I booked the penthouse for my husband and I for the weekend. There were small things wrong with the room that I could of overlooked until I went to have a shower. The taps in the shower were backwards so you had to turn the tap to cold to get any hot water, also the jets in the shower did not work at all. This was one of the reasons that I had booked the penthouse and was not impressed. Also when our room was cleaned the next day, the maid had left cleaning rags in the bathroom. The floor was also filthy and we had to leave our shoes on. When we complained at the front desk on check out we were told that they have a someone on 24 hours a day and should have called the front desk. Great services when you are paying over $200.00 a night for a room. I feel that the cleaning staff should at the very least noticed that the shower was not working. I will not book a visit at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHMGR, Manager at Old House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback on your stay. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations and to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to welcome you, personally, during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 250 703-0980.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Westerly Hotel
59.4 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Port Augusta Inn and Suites
116.3 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old House Hotel & Spa

Property: Old House Hotel & Spa
Address: 1730 Riverside Lane, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 8C7, Canada (Formerly Old House Village Hotel & Spa)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Courtenay
#2 Family Hotel in Courtenay
#4 Business Hotel in Courtenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old House Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old House Hotel & Spa is a luxury boutique hotel property in the heart of the Comox Valley. We offer 79 rooms ranging from deluxe studios, one & two bedroom suites and one penthouse suite. We are located on the Courtenay River centrally located to all amenities such as down town shopping, dining, championship golf courses, Mount Washington Ski resort and the Comox International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Old House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old House Village Hotel Courtenay
Old House Village Hotel And Spa
Old Hotel Village
Old House Hotel & Spa Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing