We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel, great suites”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Courtenay
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“nice hotel, great suites”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

we bought a group on for this hotel and got an amazing deal. $165 for an hour long massage with a food plate and champagne plus a one bedroom suite EACH and breakfast. Suites are like mini condos and are fully equipped for cooking, laundry etc. I only have a couple of minor complaints, the temperature, despite it being cold and rainy outside, soared to 26 degrees in my room at night and the air conditioner was shut off. No instructions for it anywhere and the thermostat was really hard to figure out. Finally I got the machine on the wall turned on but it took ages to get working. The pillows were down, and packed down so hard my face and ears hurt all night and part of the morning from them being so hard, my friend didn't have those kind in her room though. Housekeeping didn't un-set the alarm from the person before me so after FINALLY getting the A/C working and falling asleep I got woken up at four. none of the buttons on the damn clock would shut it off so I had to pull the plug only to find it had batteries and kept going so I turned it down. Lightbulbs in the bedside tables not working, despite the switch on the wall being on. Minor annoyances in a nice hotel that were all just down to housekeeping not being thorough but otherwise great rooms and a nice, quiet hotel. Free continental breakfast too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natalie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    223
    60
    14
    10
See reviews for
164
315
31
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We love the location, just a few minutes away from shopping.


















we loved the location,



we went to the pool for a swim which was outside in the sun. Then went for a massage than that was just awesome. We were so relaxed after we went to our room and had a nap. We enjoyed the food at the restaurant very much and loved the quaint little corner where we were seared. Our room was excellent with all the amenaties to do your own cooking if you chose. There was even a washer and dryer in the suite.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We have stayed at the Old House many times and thoroughly enjoy each time .
Staff is friendly and always helpful . Our room was great and had everything we needed.
The spa is beautiful and services are excellent and very well priced.
We dined at the Locals which is on the property and had a fabulous meal .
Highly recommend for anyone considering a stay in the area .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandJ111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Went up to Courtenay to stay the weekend and have a tour of the Shelter Point Distillery. An excellent weekend with friends. The rooms were very spacious and clean and well apointed and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The restaurant had a mouth watering menu that lived up to expectations and also had very good service. A thouroughly enjoyable weekend.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MrMur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHMGR, Front Office Manager at Old House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
We thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We see that you got to enjoy Locals restaurant and our local Distillery as well as enjoyed your rooms. We strive to make everyone feel welcome and comfortable during their time with us.
We look forward to hosting you again on any future visits to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was my first time to this hotel and was pleasantly surprised! Beautiful curb appeal when I drove up. Our room was very spacious and overlooked the pool. Huge new bathroom. The spa is located within the hotel, which is so convenient for spa services. We dined at Locals and had a five star meal. Excellent service !!! The continental breakfast offered an extensive variety of items (no hot food), and many juices, beyond just orange juice!! The property inside and out was clean and very well maintained.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovetoTravel9308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had a fantastic stay! Our room was very spacious, spotlessly clean, and quiet. The staff were all quite cheerful and accommodating. The breakfast was basic, but good. We will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Third time staying at the Old House and it only gets better. The rooms are comfortable, well appointed and very clean (very important to me). Having a balcony was an added bonus.
Even tho my room was at the front, above the entrance and facing a main road, did not find noise an issue at all.Nice little Continental breakfast also available.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lamb51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHMGR, Front Office Manager at Old House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your review and we look forward to hosting you at our Hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel
59.4 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Port Augusta Inn and Suites
116.3 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old House Hotel & Spa

Property: Old House Hotel & Spa
Address: 1730 Riverside Lane, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 8C7, Canada (Formerly Old House Village Hotel & Spa)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Courtenay
#2 Family Hotel in Courtenay
#4 Business Hotel in Courtenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old House Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old House Hotel & Spa is a luxury boutique hotel property in the heart of the Comox Valley. We offer 79 rooms ranging from deluxe studios, one & two bedroom suites and one penthouse suite. We are located on the Courtenay River centrally located to all amenities such as down town shopping, dining, championship golf courses, Mount Washington Ski resort and the Comox International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old House Village Hotel Courtenay
Old House Village Hotel And Spa
Old Hotel Village
Old House Hotel & Spa Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing