We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value available in the Comox Valley with personal touches”
Review of Anco Inn

Anco Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anco Inn
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Courtenay
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best value available in the Comox Valley with personal touches”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Kind staff, under brilliant management. Regular guests are made to feel ‘part of the family.’
Comfy beds and clean rooms with good wifi, coffee maker, fridge and cable TV in every room. Easy access to highway, close to supermarkets, shops, restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are worth the extra 10 dollars. Newer building, bigger rooms and further from the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    28
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
15
15
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We very much enjoyed staying at this well-located, clean and friendly motel during early October, 2013. On the Saturday morning, we inquired if a local fish shop selling smoked salmon was still in business -- two people in the front office assured us that it was, with obvious delight.
Later that afternoon, as we were resting in our motel room, the desk clerk knocked at our door and advised that if we wanted to buy smoked salmon, it would be best to go to "Portugese Joe's" asap, because they'd be closed on Sunday.
We raced to the store and bought the best smoked salmon on Vancouver Island. This wouldn't have been possible if the Anco Motel people hadn't cared enough to advise us of opening hours.
Just like being in a small town, where everyone helps each other out. Thanks!

Margaret S. in Victoria, BC

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Room was clean and had everything needed (bar fridge, coffee maker). We had a queen bed and single bed in a smoking room. Was great to be able to smoke in the room. Outdoor pool at the front, parking everywhere, laundry, etc. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snow666angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

An awesome motel! We stayed during the Vancouver Island Music Festival for the rate and value it can't be beat!

The rooms were clean, I stayed in a double with a friend, Came fully equipped with TV and Fridge. Their Wifi was down at the time but it was easy enough to find an ethernet cable from the front desk.

The owners are extremely nice people and the onsite staff are friendly too! The pool was quite usable and great for hot days on the island.

Don't hesitate to stay here it's truly a gem :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Room was standard so no air conditioning, only room left. At least it wasn't too hot of a day, but if it was at least there is a pool to cool off in. The room smelled faintly like old smoke. May have been a smoking room at one time, also there is ashtrays outside every room, so I'm sure smoke comes in the windows. Just plain & simple, also clean, but great bang for your buck.

Room Tip: Motel has standard & deluxe rooms so make sure to ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandbar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Nice clean rooms, comfortable beds, very friendly staff, good location good wifi. Only issue was a smoker next door. Rooms are non smoking but since all rooms have outside access they put a chair and a sand bucket outside the door for smokers. We had to change rooms because of the cigarette smoke drawn in through the air conditioner!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, away from Cliff Avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KnB_CDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

For a low cost motel you can't beat the Anco. Nice pool, friendly staff, clean room even the people I met were friendly and nice. Able to park my motorcycle right outside my door. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for one that has air conditioning if traveling in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyMarieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
0.3 mi away
Best Western The Westerly Hotel
0.2 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Port Augusta Inn and Suites
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Courtenay BC
Travelodge Courtenay BC
#6 of 9 in Courtenay
393 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comox Valley Inn
Comox Valley Inn
#8 of 9 in Courtenay
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anco Inn

Property: Anco Inn
Address: 1885 Cliffe Ave, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 2K9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Courtenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anco Inn offers clean, comfortable, affordable accommodation and is conveniently located in the centre of town. We are within walking distance of numerous restaurants and attractions. Come out and relax at our seasonal outdoor heated pool and as our guests enjoy free parking and upgraded WiFi. We also offer business services, storage facilities and an on site coin operated laundry. Exceptional customer service is our priority and our friendly and helpful staff are available 24 hours a day to assist you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Anco Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anco Hotel Courtenay
Anco Inn Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing