We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deceptive”
Review of Anco Inn

Anco Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anco Inn
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Courtenay
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Deceptive”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Booked a room there last week for summer holidays, it was very hot and motel advertised air-conditioned rooms. We received a room with a fan and requested a room with the advertised air-conditioning. The person at the desk requested extra payment for the advertised room. She was very rude and unfriendly. I can not recommend this motel to any traveller. I have never received such poor service in North American travel. DO NOT STAY AT THIS MOTEL!

Room Tip: Make sure you receive what is advertised and promised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Xiaoying1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AncoManagement, Manager at Anco Inn, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
We are so sorry you had a bad experience staying with the Anco Inn as we do our best to ensure quality and comfort for every guest’s stay. It is unfortunate that you did not call or come down to the front desk (we are open 24 hours a day), to let us know how hot and uncomfortable you felt your room was for the first night of your stay as when we receive a complaint we do our best to fix the problem and make amends.

You made this booking through booking.com, an online booking site that we participate in. We have 3 room types available on this site; A Queen room without air conditioning, a Superior Queen room without air conditioning and a Deluxe Queen room with air conditioning. The room that you booked through this site was for two nights and was a Queen room without air conditioning. Under the description of this room type which is headed “room facilities” air conditioning is not listed.

We are saddened to hear that you felt our front desk clerk was rude and unfriendly, as we pride ourselves on great customer service. To try to accommodate and make amends to you we did upgrade you to a Deluxe Queen room with air conditioning, free of charge, for your second nights stay in the hope this would better suit your needs.

So again, we would like to extend our apologies that your stay was not satisfactory regardless of the complimentary upgrade.

Thank you,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    28
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
15
15
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

All around average hotel. A little older, but decent place to stay if you're on a bit of a budget or like to save money.
The sign says Air Conditioned rooms, but you have to pay extra for one of those rooms. There was a fan in the room but if it's hot outside it gets really warm in the room.
There is a window in the washroom that is good for fresh air but not the view, it's built a foot away from a wall. But I'm still glad it had a window.
The pool looked nice but it didn't open until 10am, not any good for a morning swim.

Room Tip: Units with A/C cost extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gearman666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We booked this Motel for 2 nights. Could we find fault? No. It was amazingly good value. Exceedingly clean and tidy. Our room had 2 double beds, a kitchenette and a bathroom. All were spotless!
There is a pool, that was very clean, as well. Parking is excellent, right outside your room. The ladies on Reception were very welcoming and helpful.
When booking, ask for a room with aircon, they cost a little more, but are well worth it!

Only slight niggle (not the Motels fault) is that this place is used by a some construction workers who get up early (5am), so there is a little noise from the car park, as they set off to work.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank doolally_w7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We were stranded on the island this past weekend (BCFerries issues!) and went to our stand-by choice for an overnight stay. The Anco is certainly nothing special in the sense that the rooms are basic - motel-style. No indoor pool or waterslides, no fancy creams or plush beddings. However, you get a CLEAN room at an exceptional price, with friendly personal touches. We paid $75 for our comfortable (looks to be recently updated, which was a plus) room. In-room coffee was appreciated, shampoos and soap and free wifi. The front desk attendant is super friendly and helpful, wake-up call was prompt. Some people have a negative attitude toward this place - it's been around a long time and is known for being "Low-budget", but personally, for a short stay,and given the value for your dollar, why would you choose to pay a lot more to stay across the street?

Room Tip: Most rooms look out onto the parking area, so you can keep an eye on your vehicle, if that's imp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berniece2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Kind staff, under brilliant management. Regular guests are made to feel ‘part of the family.’
Comfy beds and clean rooms with good wifi, coffee maker, fridge and cable TV in every room. Easy access to highway, close to supermarkets, shops, restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are worth the extra 10 dollars. Newer building, bigger rooms and further from the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We very much enjoyed staying at this well-located, clean and friendly motel during early October, 2013. On the Saturday morning, we inquired if a local fish shop selling smoked salmon was still in business -- two people in the front office assured us that it was, with obvious delight.
Later that afternoon, as we were resting in our motel room, the desk clerk knocked at our door and advised that if we wanted to buy smoked salmon, it would be best to go to "Portugese Joe's" asap, because they'd be closed on Sunday.
We raced to the store and bought the best smoked salmon on Vancouver Island. This wouldn't have been possible if the Anco Motel people hadn't cared enough to advise us of opening hours.
Just like being in a small town, where everyone helps each other out. Thanks!

Margaret S. in Victoria, BC

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Room was clean and had everything needed (bar fridge, coffee maker). We had a queen bed and single bed in a smoking room. Was great to be able to smoke in the room. Outdoor pool at the front, parking everywhere, laundry, etc. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snow666angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
0.3 mi away
Best Western The Westerly Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
0.2 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Port Augusta Inn and Suites
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Courtenay BC
Travelodge Courtenay BC
#6 of 9 in Courtenay
393 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comox Valley Inn
Comox Valley Inn
#8 of 9 in Courtenay
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anco Inn

Property: Anco Inn
Address: 1885 Cliffe Ave, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 2K9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Courtenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anco Inn offers clean, comfortable, affordable accommodation and is conveniently located in the centre of town. We are within walking distance of numerous restaurants and attractions. Come out and relax at our seasonal outdoor heated pool and as our guests enjoy free parking and upgraded WiFi. We also offer business services, storage facilities and an on site coin operated laundry. Exceptional customer service is our priority and our friendly and helpful staff are available 24 hours a day to assist you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Anco Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anco Hotel Courtenay
Anco Inn Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing