We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ask for river view room”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Twin Rivers Motel & RV Park
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Castlegar
camrose
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“ask for river view room”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Too tired to travel further, disappointed in the viewing of the front rooms. Even my husband was willing to keep driving. We were offered the back room with a river view and available picnic table. It was worth the money, for sure. Tim Hortons next door, walking distance to a laundry-mat, it was great for us. Wi-fi would be classified in our opinion as poor; started a message conversation with kids and got bumped off, gave up trying.

Room Tip: river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    5
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
4
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Does not look much from the outside but we were lucky to get room 16. Fantastic view through the trees to the Columbia river. The room was very bright and clean. Had a microwave and fridge (just lacking some dishes) Difficulty with the wireless internet but it was OK outside. VERY friendly staff. Oh, did I mention how comfortable and HUGE the bed was??? For your protection it had a fluid resistant sheet underneath the decent bedding, which I found to be a bit hot. Old loud air-conditioner and the windows did not open, so it was a bit stuffy.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of course are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

If you are looking for a Kitchen unit, Twin Rivers Motel is your only viable choice in Castlegar. Highlights: (1) The kitchens in this motel are fantastic: new General Electric gas stoves, full size fridges, new vinyl or laminate flooring (it varies by unit), new cupboards, big sinks with new plumbing, tons of water pressure and plentiful hot water. The supply of utensils, plates, pots and pans was a bit spotty by unit but whatever we found lacking the helpful staff quickly produced a new from their stock room. (2) Clean with Daily Housekeeping: The units are well kept, and staff clean daily as well as bringing in new linens. They really clean too … bathroom and kitchen cleaned daily, floors vacuumed. This is a cut above most motels where they just make the bed and or change the linen. The Twin Rivers staff actually clean your suite as if new guests are arriving, a real treat, and in my experience unprecedented at this budget price. (3) The location for this motel is quite good along the main Columbia Avenue yet away from the intersections and highway connectors. While there is traffic out front, it’s local, not heavy trucks and not the volume found along the highway. (4) Nice bachelor suites. One wing of the motel runs East-West and is comprised of bachelor units with uniform furnishings and updated flooring. Most of these units face the courtyard on the riverside of the property, away from the road. Short-term stay travellers will likely enjoy this location and the value of these units more than any of the chain motels in town. The river area provides a very welcome reprieve from the summer heat, and these units have a classic flat roof and beam awning that covers the walks and door ways, ideal for coming and going in snow and rain. (5) Spacious one-bedroom suites. The front, road-facing units are all spacious one-bedroom suites with full size picture windows out front. The bathrooms and bedroom are on the riverside at the back, the living room (with another queen bed), and kitchen at the front, roadside. Both the living room and bedroom have closets. It’s drive up parking here to your front door. (6) Gas, individual heaters in each unit – very warm if you like. (7) Air conditioning too. (8) Pet friendly. If you are able bodied, you will find a switch back trail off the back that takes you down to the river where there is a stream, a flat meandering path in the woods, a beach, and a trail that you can take all the way to a more significant creek towards the South. A great morning outing for you and your Pet without getting into your car. What is idiosyncratic: (1) No doors on the suite bedrooms and the bathroom is as an ensuite; This is fine when all parties staying usually live in close quarters with each other but might be awkward if you were expecting more privacy between sleeping areas. (2) Every one-bedroom suite has an entirely different set of flooring and differing furniture, with a great deal of variance in age and condition between units. The manager’s were super helpful in letting us see all available suites, so we selected one with brand new carpet in the living room and bedroom, and brand new, well installed laminate flooring in the kitchen, vinyl in the entry and in the bathroom, with a full tub in the bathroom. Our suite also had a sofa in the living room, which made for a nicer, more livable space. Other suites had shower stalls, some had all laminate flooring, others had older carpet that still retained the cigarette smell from the era when indoor smoking was all the rage, chairs were missing or mismatched, only the suite we took had a sofa, TVs were flat screen or the giant models before LD, mattresses were good but head boards spanned every era from the 1960 to the present. You get the picture, this is not a chain and it is updated on an as-needed basis so be sure to ask and take your pick! Some wishes: (1) The kitchens could use a set of hooks so that dish towels can hang up, and a towel bar in the bathroom near the tub would be nice. (2) The bathroom lacks a fan. We kept the window open when showering but it really needs a fan for better ventilation and to minimize humidity. (3) Reupholster the furnishings and get new bed spreads. When you are keeping a place nice and clean and have friendly, sincere staff and a good location, it is a shame to have it look run down with such minor niceties.

Our hounds loved the low, wide picture window so they could sit in the living room and keep tabs on the town.

Room Tip: Ask to see every available room (don't be shy) then make your pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna BC
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

It's not the Hilton (or the Flamingo Hilton for that matter) but for the price we couldn't ask for anything better. Rooms in the back are secluded and quiet with BBQ and picnic table overlooking the Columbia River. Our non-smoking room was clean and comfy with full kitchen and complementary wireless Internet. (Smoking rooms available) Located right beside Tim's with grocery across the street. Majority of patrons seemed to be returning customers which speaks for itself. Motel run by a John and Patti, a fun, friendly couple. Highly recommended for couples and singles. Families with children might prefer a place with pool and children type amenities.

Room Tip: Ask for room in the back by the river. They also have a couple of trailers to rent for longer (1 we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We were travelling with a dog and this motel was what we needed. They had a room that had no carpet and that was at the back of the motel where it's very quiet. We had a good sleep there and we enjoyed the amenities normally expected for a motel of that category. There is a river at the back that make the back rooms more interesting.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

The room was excellent, with a great view of the River. The people went out of their way to make my stay as enjoyable as possible. They answered all my questions about interesting things to see in the surrounding area.

Room Tip: On a hot summer day ask for a room that is not in direct sun-light if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlegar
1.4 mi away
Chameleon Hotel
Chameleon Hotel
#6 of 8 in Castlegar
25 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fireside Inn & Conference Centre
0.7 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites- Castlegar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
#4 of 8 in Castlegar
124 reviews
20.6 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flamingo Motel
Flamingo Motel
#2 of 8 in Castlegar
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Twin Rivers Motel & RV Park

Property: Twin Rivers Motel & RV Park
Address: 1485 Columbia Ave, Castlegar, British Columbia V1N 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Castlegar
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Castlegar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Twin Rivers Motel & RV Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Twin Rivers Motel & RV Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing