We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a group setting...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fireside Inn & Conference Centre
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Castlegar
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I would not have stayed in this property, had it not have been prearranged for a motorcycle group event. I was under the impression that there was a pool and spa on the property, but soon discovered you had to cross the street to another hotel. The beds were comfortable and the room adequate, however we forgot to take down out "do not disturb" sign the second day so had no clean towels or fresh coffee. Granted that was our mistake, but we didn't receive service the second day either and had NO sign up. Each day, i had to go and get what we needed, which wasn't a problem, just a bit inconvenient especially since no one picked up the dirty wet towels.

The breakfast was nice with fresh food however the orange juice was very watered down. We were given tickets for a free breakfast, but the first morning, I was told if I wanted anything "hot" there was a $5 charge. I didn't understand this. If there was going to be a charge, why not simply collect upfront, instead of providing coupons for breakfast, then saying at breakfast there was an addition charge except for cold food...rolls, fruit, yogurt and cereal. Either give me all or nothing, but don't tell me after the fact there is an additional charge. I found this very confusing.

They easily handled a large group, that was a big plus, however I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank demenshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

Thank-you for your comments we will strive to improve our service, discussions have been had with housekeeping to check rooms that have perviosly had do not disturb signs out prior to leaving for the day.
Normally our continential breakfast is served in our lobby, but with a large group and in consultation with the group organizerer we tried offering a supplemental hot service and provided it in our ballroom. For future events we will look at other alternatives that may make for a better guest experience.
Sincerely,
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stayed here and found it more than adequate. The only drawback is that there is no restaurant on the premises but there are plenty in the surrounding area. The place is very clean, room was very clean, beds were excellent, The breakfast was lovely, nice little eating area and everything you might need from cereal to bagels, muffins etc and a place to make your own waffles. The staff is friendly and more than wiling to oblige whatever you might need. TV size in room is good. Towels nice and fluffy. Only drawback is that if you have a room at the front you are on a main road but we found that the traffic all but disappears after about 10-11 at night so it didn't bother us. If noise might be an issue ask for a room at the back. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phoebe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Stayed in one of the indoor access rooms, basic hotel but clean, firm beds. The staff were very friendly and attentive, breakfast was great, wide variety of great quality food. The pool and waterside were however across the street but well worth the visit. Only downside were howling wolves (dogs?) sporadically throughout the night

Room Tip: 2nd floor, not first, non highway facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blue-eyed-guppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firesidegm, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

Thank-you for your review we look forward to serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We went to book into the Super 8 across the road as the reviews were great for it...however it was booked except for the themed rooms which I am sure would excite the youngsters however this was a business trip and comfort had a lot to do with our choices and the themed rooms were dark and smallish. The "adult bedrooms" were cramped so we opted to try the place across the street. Nice clean rooms and nice staff. The price was much less than the Super 8 and they included breakfast (almost always a bonus). Free internet and comfy beds were a plus. I would recommend this hotel easily. Noise wasn't an issue with our stay but we are past the tourist season.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Suzi_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Pretty standard motel, well kept up. Floorboards a little noisy and traffic noise on the street all night long. A light sleeper might find it a problem but we didn't. Free breakfast with the room.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VancouverDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

We were sent here from the Super 8 because it was full. We were happy they were. We had a great room, a great breakfast and excellent service. Bonus that we could use the pool at the Super 8 while staying here.
Room was very roomy with a small kitchen area that served us well. internet was fast and reliable. Beds were comfortable and room at back of motel was quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WingNutt2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Great stay at the Fireside! The rooms were clean and well presented. The hotel offers free breakfast which included freshly made waffles, muffins and fruit. I appreciated the free high speed internet too.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlegar
0.2 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites- Castlegar
0.3 mi away
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
#6 of 8 in Castlegar
127 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chameleon Hotel
Chameleon Hotel
#4 of 8 in Castlegar
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Glenwood Inn & Suites
14.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Hotel
22.3 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#8 of 10 in Nelson
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Conference Centre

Address: 1810 8th Ave | Junction Hwy 3 and 22, Castlegar, British Columbia V1N 2Y2, Canada (Formerly Travelodge)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Castlegar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Castlegar
Price Range: £66 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fireside Inn & Conference Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests can enjoy a complimentary breakfast. Public areas are equipped with complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access. Event facilities include conference/meeting rooms . This friendly hotel also offers barbecue grill, laundry facilities, and a television in the lobby. Onsite parking is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fireside Inn & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing